We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Lunch during Christmas Season”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caprice (Central)

Caprice (Central)
Ranked #12 of 7,925 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Michelin starred restaurant Caprice offers contemporary French cuisine accompanied by an extensive selection of wines from the Bordeaux and Burgundy regions, and cellar full of artisanal French cheeses.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Lunch during Christmas Season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Usually I am skeptical of high-end restaurants with good views - often there is an unfair trade off between either exquisite food or exquisite views, Caprice is an exception. Food, service, views, everything was wonderful. An unforgettable culinary experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stephaniecheung258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    119
    54
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Here are our Favorites of the Month!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love our monthly brunch here. Here are our favorites of this month: King crab & white asparagus (the white asparagus was the best I ever had), buffalo cheese, bresaola & rocket salad, and the veal (cut of the day); and for the cheeses, comte aged 4 years and epoisses from Abbaye de Citeaux. See y'all next month!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hong Kong's best cheese room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Caprice has Hong Kong's best cheese room, so skip the cart and ask to go through the kitchen and into the cheese room with its amazing selection of predominantly French cheese. The best place to enjoy the cheese platter is in the cosy, dimly lit and classically designed wine bar with its juxtaposed expansive views of the modern and glittery Hong Kong harbour.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
283 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Well executed classic french cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Caprice last Sunday evening for the birthday of my wife

We arrived a bit early and started with a drink at the Blue Bar:
I had a cucumber Mojito which took a bit of time to be prepared but it was perfect: refreshing, balanced, rightly flavored.

As we were a bit hungry I ask the bar tender if we could go to the restaurant a bit earlier than planned: She dilligently took care of it and we were ready to move soon with our bar bill transferred to the restaurant. She took us up to the door of Caprice.

The door of the restaurant is a piece of very fine metal work with a hint of orientalism

The interior is covered with light beige marble and offers sea view

The space is organized around an open kitchen

We choosed a special French May menu with wine pairing

I will not describe each and every item as the list was long but just mention points of interests

First of all it is a classic modern french menu: modern as things sre light and beatifully set but the tastes remain classic and elegant

There are iden gems beyond the classicism like very small edible plants exquisitely arrange in the shape of a small bonzai garden

The sardine millefeuille amuse geule was stellar very light not fishy at all

The wine pairing was very well done

There were a bit too many desserts with the addition of a very nice birthday cake but it is a question of taste

Overall it is a classic elegant french food faultlessly executed

It deserved the 2 michelin stars

And they had a very critical customer this evening as Pierre Gragnaire was sitting at the next table!




Helpful?
Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like a Rolls Royce. Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about Caprice? Well, funnily enough a lot. I'm no food blogger (I hate people who take photos of their food, and this by the way is a 5 star Resturant! Damn it people, eat!)

Anyway. Rant over. Caprice is like a Rolls Royce car. It looks special, getting in is luxury, and everything in the place is to expensive to touch for fear of breaking something.

The food is good. I mean good, good good. The service is impeccable as you would of course expect. And yet they don't seem fake in the way some hotel staff are. These people all genuinely seem to believe in the Four a Seasons and making your meal as good as they can.

Overall, it will break your wallet, your heart from all the crime but ultimately you can't help but feel you lived life pretty well.

Helpful?
Thank alibullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice (Central) also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Caprice (Central)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing