We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your usual Michelin 1-star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loaf On Cuisine Company Limited

Loaf On Cuisine Company Limited
Ranked #713 of 7,794 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not your usual Michelin 1-star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

There's nothing pretentious about Loaf On (in Mandarin, Liufu caiguan 六福菜館), located up a narrow set of stairs in a narrow street off the main drag in scenic Sai Kung. Only the cognoscenti know to come here, rather than eat in one of the joints right on the water with the big fish tanks. Your view will be of the laundry on the balcony opposite, not of the boats in the harbor, but you've come for the food, not the view, so that's not a problem, right? You'll also have to forget about high-class service. But the cuisine is totally fresh in terms both of ingredients and concept - you'll get dishes you will not have seen in any other place. Try the deep-fried tofu (silky and crunchy) or the seared peppers for some surprising tastes and textures. Be sure to book in advance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MCE1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

It's Chinese style and you know they have several ways to make each crustacean. The seafood is fresh and price is soooo reasonable for a Michelin rated restaurant. The restaurant definitely requires booking (don't bother strolling in, more often than not, you'll be disappointed as many people book it in advance).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Applecrumbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An odd experience; will need to return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

You will need to book if wanting a table at regular meal times - or you may have a long wait (up to an hour). I went early 5.30 so was seated right away. Had to wait until the table next to me had finished with their menu. Menu had English translations of each item. Perhaps with a bit of effort, someone might have climbed the stairs to bring down a 2nd menu. Ordered garlic and chilli prawn(s). After taking my order, the maitre d' immediately made a quick phone call, and soon after a lady in wellingtons arrived with a plastic bag with the fish that, while I can't be sure, seemed to be the one that eventuated on my plate. Now to the odd part.. I received one medium sized prawn, sliced lettuce and a flower (fake I think - didn't investigate) on the plate. The maitre d' had asked how many prawns I would like and I said I would take his recommendation. There was a little sauce on the shell which was more garlic than chilli, and quite mild and smooth. There was no sauce on the plate to combine with the meat of the prawn so this while well cooked, was quite bland unless one scraped together some of the sauce off the top of the shell. After the 'meal' I received 2 pieces of watermelon which was lovely surprise to clear the palate. By the time I left there were some mouth watering looking dishes emanating from the kitchen and it certainly seems like a return visit is in order. Advice - clarify what you are ordering and ask what if anything accompanies it. Seafood items were unpriced so you might want to check the prices also. There were other dishes that had prices and were very reasonable. English is well understood. Cost for the 1 prawn and tea was HK$108. I would gladly have paid more for a full meal and better advice/service and left very disappointed at missing an opportunity to enjoy Michelin quality food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jr9145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Fresh flavourful seafood arrived at our table one dish after another. It started with silky fried tofu lightly battered, salt & pepper abalone and juicy fried oysters which was nicely interrupted by a richly clear fish soup soon joined by a lobster noodle medley and last but certainly not least "pissing shrimp" aka Mantis shrimp that resembles lobster tails but has a sweet and very tender texture. I do recall fresh fried greens but the spotlight was definitely in the savoury seafood orchestra! Loaf On while a small and quaint restaurant delivers an incredible punch of flavour with just enough seasoning to accent the fresh ingredients. Amazing!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank miyuki27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, uk
Level Contributor
386 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“god knows how it got its michelin star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

my cousin wanted to try this restaurant out
and booked a table for 10 for a friday
she bought some seafood to take in for them to cook
table was ready for us
staff was busy, not exactly excellent service as such
besides the seafood we brought in, we ordered chicken, their speciality tofu veg and beef ribs
the seafood was excellent, but not because of the way they cooked it, but purely because it was so fresh
the chicken was greasy, and not a nice taste as it was oily
veg was veg, with garlic
the ribs was fine average
and the biggest star was a huge disappointment
no flavour at all, yes it was crispy and silk soft, but they was no flavour
for the price you pay you can get better food somehwere else

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babyangel2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loaf On Cuisine Company Limited also viewed

 

Been to Loaf On Cuisine Company Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing