We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for people watching” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong

The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #26 of 7,794 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: There is nothing more quintessentially iconic of Hong Kong than experiencing the acclaimed Peninsula Classic Afternoon Tea. Served daily in The Lobby, which has long been recognised as one of the most elegant meeting places in Hong Kong, this revered tradition is accompanied by The Lobby Strings, playing live daily. An a la carte menu showcasing authentic Continental and Southeast Asian delights is served throughout the day.
Toronto
Level Contributor
267 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“good for people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a busy lobby with both sides dedicated to serving food. We had a quick dinner here and the food is so-so.
but the service was friendly and fun, once you could get them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    349
    134
    56
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“One of the best afternoon tea experiences, possibly for anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Good
- Beautiful lobby with lots of high-end shops to browse through while you wait while the rest of your party wait in the line, unless you're by yourself.
- Good value for what you get. It's not cheap but it's also not expensive for the tea service, the live band, and the whole experience, comparing to what you get for the same price in other parts of the world (e.g. I'm comparing to New York, London, Bermuda, and some other less-expensive spots)

The Excellent
- The tea/coffee selection and the option to order 2 afternoon tea services although there were 3 of us; we weren't sure if this would be ok, but the person who took our order even mentioned that was a good idea and had no issues with it (also an option for those who want to save a little bit)
- The 4- or 5-piece string band who were all wearing white gloves the afternoon we visited, and who are perched on a balcony above you so you can glance at them whenever you like
- The service - refilling your beverage at just the right time, not rushing you through or taking too long...absolute perfection

The Not-so-good
- The wait, which was over an hour to get a table (for 3); I've seen other reviews of reserving a table so would look into this next time. With our schedule, we couldn't quite plan it and went to Hong Kong planning to go there for tea but just not sure of the day/time. Still, the view and shopping did well to take the time away
- Very large seating area so it's possible there could have been 1 or 2 tables at the end where noise from people waiting or shoppers might have been a factor, but not sure, as our table was in a gret spot

Reading about what to do in Hong Kong, this seemed like a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the busy city and its other attractions. Yes, it also had a slight air of being touristy but after experiencing it, you could tell it wasn't meant that way. I think if I lived there, I would honestly probably do it maybe once every two months or so.

- You are provided with a pot of hot water to keep your tea from getting too strong or bitter
- You are offered different types of coffee as well as tea if that's what you fancy
- The sandwiches are decadent and made with fresh soft bread
- The desserts are sweet, sticky, colourful, and delicious!
- Service staff are helpful, friendly, courteous, patient, and responsive -- so whatever they are doing to train their staff on customer service is right!
- No real reason in my opinion for not giving this experience the full 5/5

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol8131111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High Tea at Peninsula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Don't miss this once-in-a-lifetime experience taking High Tea at the Peninsula Hotel. You will have to skip dinner because the finger sandwiches, scones (with clotted cream and jam!), and petite fours will fill you up! I recommend their Peninsula afternoon tea as well, it was smooth and perfect.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leilani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fight for a table.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Make sure you book a table before. This place it's extremly hard to get a table for their famous famous famous famous afternoon tea. No joking or kidding. It's one of the MUST place you need to go in Hong Kong. Once in a life time. Pick up your phone and call now

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hyattdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very opulent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went in for a look.. attracted by a big band playing 1930's classics. The decor is opulent and reminiscent of British traditions. While elegant afternoon tea was served, a team of professional ball room dancers circled the floor to classic music. We had to order to soak up the atmosphere. A special treat!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Lobby at the Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing