We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Sole Mio

Sole Mio
Ranked #311 of 8,042 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Located in the heart of Soho, Sole Mio charms you with its tradition, serving classic Italian cuisine for over 15 years. Sole Mio brings you a memorable dining experience with recipes that have stood the test of time. Indulge in an enticing 3-course meal whilst enjoying a boutique selection of well-chosen wines brought to your table from around the world.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Pretty standard Italian fare. Nothing extraordinary, but decent quality & good, reliable taste. Friendly service & not too expensive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solemiohk, Owner at Sole Mio, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Charlie,

Thanks for your review from March. I'll be sure the staff reads your note about the friendly service. While we certainly are aiming to be extraordinary, I'm glad you find the food satisfying and consistent. We'd love to have you back anytime!

Sincerely,
In Gurung
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good value Italian food with GREAT Pizzas”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This place serves up good Italian food at reasonable prices. The service is fine as is the ambience. Personally, I think the pizzas here are great - thin crust, real Italian pizzas.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thePaulhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solemiohk, Owner at Sole Mio, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
thePaulhongkong,

It's been awhile, but I wanted to thank you for your lovely review! We love serving up great Italian pizzas, and we're very happy you enjoy them. I'll make sure the staff reads this, as well. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
In Gurung
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Good food, affordable prices. The only point is that there is no pasta with meat, just with seafood or vegetables. It is really very-very nice. If you like Italian food please note that there are a lot of Italian restaurants on that street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russiantouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

a bistro type of restaurant rather than a fine dining one. The price is right and the food is good. The restaurant itself is a bit small though so my partner (6'1) could not sit quite comfortably when people is passing through

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank onelightyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food - but don't expect much for service...”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Sole Mio is a well known restaurant by people who've spent a lot of time in Hong Kong. And the general concesus is: food is great, service is not. So only go here if you want great Italian food - and are willing to allow the staff some leeway on the service. Do not come here if you are in a hurry or short on patience.

Pizzas are beautiful on thin crusts, pasta is nicely done and good portions, the eggplant parmigiana is heavenly. Lots to choose from for the vegetarian. Not a single complaint regarding the food, which is also excellent value. And when we asked for the whole assortment of chili oil, chili flakes and chili sauce (there were 8 of us with varied pizza / chili preferences) the staff happy to provide all...

Last note on service: making a booking was a task, the person who answered the phone did not immediately understand what we needed (increase the booking from 6 to 8 people) and for a while we though they had cancelled our booking. When we arrived the table was ready, but the maitre'd made more of a fuss of welcoming us in (he's a bit of a showman) than just settling us down to order. One person asked for two appetizers to be combined onto one plate as a main course - this did not happen. Coffee orders had to be asked for twice. The bill had to be requested four times (not kidding) and when it arrived they had lifted the coffee orders twice so the bill had to be redone. Thankfully we were a relaxed crowd that evening, and in no rush... but otherwise, deep breaths!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Mio also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Sole Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing