We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Northern Spanish & Asador-inspired restaurant”
Review of The Optimist

The Optimist
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #122 of 13,474 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Had another great meal at The Optimist (Pirata Group) on Hennessy Road last week. This is easily one of the very best western restaurants in the Wan Chai area and a place that is worth making reservations in advance. Opening hours are 12-2.30pm (lunch) and 6-10.30pm (dinner).

During our most recent meal, we much enjoyed the Chorizo Chriollo, a dish that we order regularly here. The sausage was succulent and flavourful. Topped with chimichurri sauce and complemented very well by the sweet potato and roasted garlic, this is just a great small plate for sharing.

Another small plate that we like to order regularly is the the Galician octopus served with garlic potatoes. This is a more subtle but equally flavourful dish, balancing well against the richer flavours of the chorizo above. We like having these two small plates together.

For those who like raw fish orders, give the Tuna Tataki a go. We didn't order this small plate this time around but have much enjoyed it very much during past meals.

We next like the rocket and spinach salad. It is nice to have some greens with the main courses at Optmist. The salad is fresh, tossed with a balsalmic dressing and topped with pine nuts, bit of tomato and parmesan. It's a generous serving size as well.

For our main, we shared the lamb shank this time around. The lamb was tender, fell right off the bone. Meat was flavoured just as you'd expect of good lamb. Served with mash, this was a good main.

We like to end our meals at Optmist with their signature dessert 'La Pina' a charcoal grilled pineapple topped with a small amount of kaffir lime caramel and served wit coconut ice-cream. This is a really nice dessert, a bit tangy, a bit sweet and a whole lot of yummy.

This time around we also had their Chocolate Brownie with hot chocolate fudge, walnuts and vanilla ice-cream. The brownie was warm, moist and decadent. It tasted just perfect with the ice-cream. This is an easy dessert choice for those who love their chocolate cakes and brownies.

Another thing that impresses us about Optimist are the cocktails. Gin and Tonics are served correctly here. Gin in the glass, tonic on the side. We've also find the Negroni to be very good. Further, the restaurant wine list is suitable for the dishes being served. Don't hesitate to ask for recommendations if you are not familiar with Spanish wines.

We left with full tummies and big smiles. This was another great meal at the Optimist. This has been a great restaurant again this year.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 411 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

My friend and I went there for his birthday dinner, service was absolutely five stars, food was great. We very much enjoyed our dinner. Definitely will go back again!!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank bri-yolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Relaxed brunch with plenty of food to choose. Mainly spanish themed, the quality of ingredients was very good. Staff were very good too. Try the cocktails prepared by Anna.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Went there with my wife and daughter looking for something similiar to a spanish gastronomic dinner. The place was easy to find. Looks there is some sort of a Happy Hour bar at the ground floor wich looks cool and "happy". We had a table on the first floor. Staff was very polite and helpful. Service was quite fast. As too the food the small dishes "Tapas" were good (we appreciate the ham croquettes except for the fact that they come over some sort of a "thousand islands" sauce that didin't make any sense for us! Main dish the seafood rice was nice and tasteful (not a "paella"... but we were advised by staff before order... which was good!) And we order the pork ribs.... and that was very very disapointing!!!! Cooked american style including the dress sauce.... looks and taste exactly as the ribs that one can eat at any Hard Rock Cafe.... not spanish at all!!! Good desert however with a mix of grilled pineaple and coconut ice cream. Will we come back to this place? I found it hard to do so... considering so many good offers in Hong Kong!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vasco l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celinepiratagroup, Guest Relations Manager at The Optimist, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear Vasco L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comment from your recent experience with us at The Optimist. It's always good to hear from our guests to ensure that we are improving what we do. We will make sure to pass your feedback to our Chef.

I look forward to hearing from you

Warm regards,

Celine
Guest Relations Manager / Pirata Group
celine@piratagroup.hk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

The title says it all. There’s virtually nothing good about our meal.

Our group of 8 ordered many small and big dishes to share. The food was mediocre at best. Portions were generally small for the price we paid. The broken eggs with ham, which was described as a signature dish in the menu, was close to a disaster. It’s way too greasy to begin with. Instead of eggs, I could only find one egg in the dish. The egg yolk was supposed to be runny and when broken would mix with the other ingredients but they sadly overcooked the egg. The potatoes were basically very thin fried chips which looked and tasted like industrial chips available in supermarkets. Other dishes were simply forgettable. I didn’t even bother to take any picture of the food.

The restaurant was very noisy and I literally needed to shout to get heard by my friends. There wasn’t enough air conditioning and it’s hot and stuffy. The situation only started to get a little better towards the end of our meal after the majority of the customers on the first floor where we’re seated had left.

The staff were friendly but the place was definitely understaffed. It often took quite a long time for them to for example bring us bread and the bill.

I certainly won’t go there again.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Egon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Optimist also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Optimist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing