We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of PJ Murphy's - CLOSED

PJ Murphy's
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

this is my local when i go to HK the staff are friendly and english sports on the TV the tip game is always fun

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joe-plimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Oe of the few bars I go back to whenever I'm in Hong Kong. During the day it's a great place to get away from the crowds and in the evening a lively place to meet new friends. Staff always very friendly, good honest food. Recommended.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
455 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“OK for a quick beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've come here each time I've popped into Hong Kong and over the years it's just got a little more tired, a little more dirtier, a little more slower and the food a little more blander. It seems to be winding down, lost it's sparkle. But having said that it still has a certain comfort, come during the day and it will super quiet, a retreat to enjoy a beer from home. No hassle, no uppity staff, no strange lighting and wacko paint jobs. The staff can be absent from the bar during the day as they do their choirs. I still come back so I guess it can't be too bad. Prices seem fair, 2 pints of Boddington for $154 (no service charge yeah!).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but could be cleaner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I first came here about seven years ago and loved it. It was a great place to meet fellow travellers and listen to impromtu music. But over the years, the place has lost something. The atmosphere is still friendly, but i's a lot quieter.The food is still tasty, but the cleanliness - especially the toilets - how leaves a lot to be desired. It's a shame because the place has always had a lot going for it, but it just seems to be a little neglected of late.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon.Edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Boys Reunion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ate here at lunchtime and sometimes drank here late in the evening. Good for keeping up to date with the football and other sports.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GerryScotland49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ Murphy's also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing