We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat customer for xiao long bao”

Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao (Gateway Arcade)
Ranked #91 of 7,950 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Repeat customer for xiao long bao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Crystal Jade is our favourite restaurant for xiao long bao in the Central/Admiralty area. It's a top value for quality food.

Service is quick and efficient. Just be prepared to wait for a table; they don't take reservations. The wait at lunchtime can be especially long: 1/2 hour or more. At IFC mall, queue up for lunch before 11:50. For dinner, we usually go to the Queensway branch, where the wait is shorter.

As for the food, we love the xiao long bao and consistently order several baskets of them. We also like the tan tan mian, although I wish it were spicier, and the green beans with minced pork.

The restaurant is casual, busy, and noisy. Not a place for a romantic dinner, but it's clean and not shabby looking. To me, the busy atmosphere adds to the excitement of eating there and there's no requirement to change.

To sum up, what we like best is the xiao long bao and what we like least is the wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    286
    107
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
371 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is one of my favorite dinning places and there are 2 reasons for that. First, the quality of food is consistently well done; Second, the price is reasonable. My family and I like the drunken pig knuckle and drunken chicken very much, the la mian (noodles) is always so fresh, the fish soup is always so yummy. The only fault is that there is always a long queue for the wait which I find well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micahglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
Level Contributor
241 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OK la”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Certainly not the worst of the places specializing in Shanghai-style dishes. The noodle wrappers are thin if not the thinnest so may be a bit gummy from time to time. The stuffing of the xiao long bao is tasty and superior to the wrapper. But xiao long bao is a package and when the wrapping is less than perfect then the whole dish suffers. Other menu items were OK, nothing terrible, nothing memorable. I suggest you go when you can just walk in, otherwise nothing worth standing in a long line for.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moniker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
239 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice XLB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Situated by the lifts to our hotel , this quaint dimsum spot is the place to visit at the Popcorn mall. The XLB was just right in size and taste , what I like about the place is that it doesn't get too crowded. Must try the other items on their menu in my next visit !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DauphinJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

There is always a wait at this restaurant, but it is worth it. This time, we had to wait about 30 minutes. It wasn't too bad since we shopped around for most of it.
We ordered the xiao long bao and chicken noodle soup. Both were delcious! The dumplings were fresh and so was the chicken noodle soup. We would definitely go back and hope for a shorter wait next time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvDebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao (Gateway Arcade) also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao (Gateway Arcade)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing