We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hrs all day breakfast”
Review of The Flying Pan

The Flying Pan
Ranked #453 of 15,704 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tai Fat Hau
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

I was looking for food quite late in the evening and find this place just 2-3 mins walking distance from Kew Garden Hotel/Empire Hotel Wanchai. Food was so so. The place is cozy enough for doing some reading or writing, especially if you order the bottomless coffee or tea.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Mama U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 361 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2019 via mobile

Not easy finding the front door it is around the corner from Lockart St. Not an obvious sign either.

you can take the stairs or the elevator to the 2nd floor.

Omelette was fine, coffee just ok. Staff was efficient but kinda sullen. 5 am may be why

English toast was very good.

Always open..that is its biggest asset

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank JT_Skyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

This place is on the first floor so entrance is via what looks like an entrance to some flats. Follow the “this way to bacon” signs.

Not a bad place. I went between 12 and 1 so it was busy but not overcrowded. Lots of Chinese people as well as tourists. Food is breakfast style but is open 24 hours.

Food isn’t bad but was a little bland although I probably chose the blandest option in the hope of it being vaguely healthy! 2 poached eggs, two slices of brown toast (this comes already buttered), a side of beans and grilled tomatoes with some grapefruit juice. Also ordered a pot of tea which fills three mugs.

The two eggs option comes with two eggs, funnily enough, that you can have cooked a multitude of ways, you get a choice of bread (some options are extra), a choice of two sides and a juice for $53. The tea was $39 but you can have it instead of juice for an extra $20.

10% service is added as standard. Service is efficient. I didn’t need to ask for the bill but wasn’t made to feel like I had to pay immediately.

Oh and there’s free WiFi.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank dlbriffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

First timer to this place, don't know how I could have missed it after so many years. Extensive menu - eggs everywhere - and plenty of it. Open 24/7, so a decent option for the much-needed breakfast after the night-before. Reasonable prices too. Will be back for more soon.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank JohnHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

We booked the place for 9pax anticipating to be a great one . The server was too pushy, had come three times to ask what drink we wanted the fact that some of the other friends had just seated. We all felt the same that she just wanted us to order quickly, eat quickly and leave quickly

A little finesse, a little kindness, a little empathy will be great -

The last word she said to us - “would you like to have some water before you leave”
In which most of us had not finished eating yet - moreover the restaurant is not full. Can’t she not allow us to enjoy our meal?

Ain’t worth a dime and definitely not good to return at all -

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank charitod198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Pan also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.