We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go over and over and over again...”
Review of Istanbul Express

Istanbul Express
Ranked #1,433 of 8,564 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“We go over and over and over again...”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We randomly found this place but so grateful. Now its a must for us anytime we are near it, and even take to go when heading back into Shenzhen. The service is outstanding and very helpful. We had a small child that was extremely tired-they offered him a variety of fruit to help calm him.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanjing, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

generous portions, delicious kofta kebabs, friendly service. I tried both locations and didn't feel the food was as good at the Hart Ave shop.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank amiliyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“Hearty and Tasty”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

After being noodled out in Hong Kong, I chanced upon this restaurant at Hart Road in TST. It's a bit cramped with a seating capacity of only about 10. The meal combos were great value. I had the Chicken Doner combo that came with a drink. It was a welcome change as the food was tasty and cooked just right. I left full and satisfied.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank bryantpark88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fast, clean and tasty in Wan Chai”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Had the pleasure to eat here twice on recent family trip to Hong Kong. Service was very friendly, food was very good but nothing to rave about. Good quality and a good price. It is very small and pretty much in the heart of the night club district in Wan Chai which in itself makes for an interesting early night out and walk around the streets to and from your hotel if close by. Makes for a change from the local food if your stay is a little longer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JUSTLOOKINMATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Should change back to their former chef”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Used to go to their Wan Chai branch the past three years. Before that I used to go to the Ebeneezer's but after their Kebabs had more and more muscle meat a friend brought me to the Istanbul Express which used to have big portions and really good tasty quality Kebab on a plate.
Well, the the portions were getting smaller, which is not unusual because their reputation spread, drawing customers from the nearby Ebeneezer's.
I went there again a few weeks back with the finish family of my girlfriends sister.
I usually have the lamb kebab on a plate, but on that visit it looked and tasted more like spam meat. The garnish was still ok, but who visits a restaurant for the garnish?
At the moment I can't recommend the Istanbul Express, but I really hope they get their former chef back. I'm starving for his delicious lahmacun and kebabs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Express also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing