We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall experience”

Gaylord Indian Restaurant
Ranked #306 of 9,957 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I travel to HK annually and typically prefer to stay in Kowloon. I always try to make it to Gaylord at least one time each trip, as I love the food and the atmosphere is great. It is quite difficult to find on Ashley road if you don't know where to look. I suggest asking the concierge at your hotel for directions, as well as making reservations. Seating is limited and they tend to get busy at times.

Other posts referred to "outdated" furnishings and overall appearance. To me, that is part of the charm. The service is good, the atmosphere and the food are great.

If you like Indian food, I highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay_W1212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BharatDevgan, Manager at Gaylord Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Gaylord and your continuous support is a huge encouragement to us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and love the atmosphere. We will strive to keep the quality of our food and service at its best always. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to serving you at our restaurant soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 268 of 442 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Kebabs were really good (Lamb Boti) and everything else was excellent.

However, the service seemed distracted and the drinks were expensive.

The buffet lunch is excellent value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luck1234Madrid_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BharatDevgan, Manager at Gaylord Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Gaylord. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food especially our Lamb Boti and lunch buffet. We appreciate your feedback regarding our service and have taken note of your concerns as these will truly help us in keeping the quality of our food and service at its best.

We hope to see you at our restaurant again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bharat Devgan
Restaurant Manager
Gaylord Indian Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nice Sub-Continental fare, the lunch buffet is good value for money. From the naans to the barbecue all was up to the mark.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaadSeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BharatDevgan, Manager at Gaylord Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Gaylord. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food. We will strive to keep the quality of our food and service at its best always. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to serving you at our restaurant soon.

Sincerely,

Bharat Devgan
Restaurant Manager
Gaylord Indian Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Gaylord is an old, revered Indian Restaurant in the Kowloon area of Hong Kong. Recommended by our hotel, we visited last night.

The location is very good, amongst shopping and nightlife in the immediate area. The building itself is almost hard to find amongst the many storefronts. This is a seedy old building and you have to take an elevator to the restaurant - it's not a storefront or at the ground level.

The ceiling is quite low and the furnishing are old - it's badly in need of a remodel. It made the place feel a bit dirty, even though there was no evidence that was true.

Sparkling water came out as still water. A gin martini came out as a gin & tonic (both were on the menu), a drink order was missed and had to be reminded of 25 minutes later.

The food however, was quite good. Both naan's we ordered were great. The Chicken Tiki Masala was excellent - we almost ordered more as our family fought over the last piece. The rice was fresh and fragrant.

Overall, the food was good but the facility and service need some upgrades.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BharatDevgan, Manager at Gaylord Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Gaylord. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our food. We are sorry about the misarrangement on your drink order. We will definitely look for ways to improve our service and decor in order to provide the best dining experience to all our customers.

We hope to see you at our restaurant again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bharat Devgan
Restaurant Manager
Gaylord Indian Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Gaylord lunch buffet is excellent, the vegetable samosa is well flavored, seekh kebab and chicken tandoori super and the curries very good; at 130HKD+10%, it is a great deal. The yogurt drink and great garlic naan are included. No disappointment here! Not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lem0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BharatDevgan, Manager at Gaylord Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Gaylord. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our lunch buffet. We appreciate your feedback and will strive to keep the quality of our food and service at its best always.

We look forward to serving you at our restaurant again soon.

Sincerely,

Bharat Devgan
Restaurant Manager
Gaylord Indian Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing