We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”
Review of Islam Food

Islam Food
Ranked #374 of 8,725 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Kowloon City
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I did not expect much going to this tiny restaurant in Kowloon. The decor is nothing to write about but the food was very very tasty. Their juicy beef patties are worth the trip from the island.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    54
    22
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome and cheap local food”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stumbled upon Islam food after work one evening. It was packed full of patrons and the smells that were wafting from the kitchen were divine! So I decided to eat here. The interior was nothing special; it's like your typical local restaurants, dated fixtures and furnishings, cramped and loud, but it's just the way I like it. I was seated at a large round table with five other customers who were disinterested in me, not that I could blame them judging by the food that was coming out of the kitchen.

I tried the beef gulash dumplings and the mongolian lamb (I normally wouldn't order mongolian lamb but I was craving the sticky sweet dish that you find all over Australia at your local Chinese restaurant). The mongolian lamb was not the sticky sweet dish you would find in Australia but a lot better (not that it's hard!). The gulash dumpings were as good as they looked and it seemed like a popular choice as many patrons were ordering them. They were very morish though, so be sure to share them if you want to try anything else!

It was about 60-100 per person, which is very cheap for the quality and taste of the food. I would definitely return based on my experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As the name suggest, its a halal food restaurant. It offers very authentic chinese cuisine and its the yummiest that we have ever had. Its a non-pretentious place with no frills attached, most of the staff is female and efficient and all the food very fresh. We discovered this gem of the place on trip advisor and as was advised by the trip advisor community that not withstanding the decor and ambience of the place there is always a long waiting queue outside sometimes including patrons in Ferraris and Bentleys. Ordering by pointing at other's dishes is normal and seating is communal (if there is space at your table, others are welcome to join).
They have two branches within walking distance, so if one is too full, head to the other branch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaadSeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the goulash”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The veal goulash. Its juicy and beefy inside. Had the ox tongue..simply marvellous for a price like that. Lots of dishes available like it was back at home.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank scudshot08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bus 107 reached exactly at tak ku ling road”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Went on my second day in hk...the people are nice...took bus no. 107(from ocean park exit walk to the other side after aberdeen tunnel and stop at regal oriental hotel). Once alight,u can see tak ku ling road and the restaurant are just few steps away from the bus stop...for those who are adventurous can try taking bus.there's few bus goin there...don't hesitate to approach the local..they will definitely help u...

Helpful?
3 Thank Hanafie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Islam Food also viewed

 

Been to Islam Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing