We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“#1 Hong Kong style where local eats.”

Tsui Wah Restaurant
Ranked #373 of 7,950 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“#1 Hong Kong style where local eats.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

If a tourist friend wants a causal authentic Hong Kong cuisine, that's where I will take him/her. That's real Hong Kong style where local eats. & It's tasty at very affordable price. The ambience is the "real HK" (like Chinatown, it's noisy). You will be amazed many investment bankers of HK go there regularly. (It's the Denny's of HK, as quoted by another review.)

Set lunch (soup+main+tea/coffee) comes at @US$9-10.

But if u r tourist & time is limited, go for the chef recommendations. Order the a-la-carte items c/o the picture menu on your own. The waiters may speak little english but they are very smart to understand yr sign languages.

FOOD:
All top 10 items are great. @US$ 5-15

DRINK: @US$ 2-3
Try out the coffee (hot or cold) & tea (both w/ milk). It's quite a change if u r a Starbucks regulars. The unique taste come from a mixture of various teas/ coffee beans + extra herbs. This is a colonial product evolving for a century. Initially, the Brits bring in the English tea & coffee. But Chinese found them too weak. So instead, they increase the intensity + add extra herbs to bring out the flavor stronger & better.

BILLING:
There's a piece of paper card the waiter will slide under yr table. That's yr bill. Just take the paper card out & pay at cashier on the way out. Tips left at cashier tips box is fine. Tips is purely discretionary in HK (many restaurants in HK charge 10% service charge on top).

Some shops are 24hr & one can go after midnight. Avoid Hong Kong lunch break times (for tourist) which is 1230-1400 (Mon-Fri).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambambamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    239
    138
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
189 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reliable simple food with a wide and diverse menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great all hours food with you want Chinese or a Hong Kong version of western food is something that everyone. Even better if you can find one that is open 24 hours for a quick bite on the way home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
256 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“good value, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

won't get wrong to go to this place for a quick bite, umm, not a place to take your first date but a place for a good value meal and taste good too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Open late but no alcohol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went here because most of the restaurants on wellington street were closed post 11pm.
They don't serve alcohol but they have quite an extensive menu. A lot of people were having noodles. We had some too as well as Malaysian curries- chicken and beef.
All the menu items are in English and most of them have a little picture too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Tsui Wah at HKIA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having only one night stopover in HK and staying at Marriott, we decided to try the renown Tsui Wah Restaurant at the Hong Kong Airport believing that it offers authentic hong kong food. We arrived at around 7pm. The receptionist asked us to wait while she confirms whether there's a table of 2 available. after 10 mins she apologetically asked us if we mind having the table near the door, she didn't wait for our answer and just took us there. well... i was just about to say we prefer not to be sitting next to all those luggages .... but i guess my opinion doesn't matter really...

So we sat down next to all those trolleys, there wasn't a menu in sight, after waving unsuccessfully for 10 mins, the receptionist suddenly remembered we have no menus and gave us ONE to share. great! Ok we get it, everything we need to wait, so we waited another 10 mns before we caught the same receptionist's attention to order, she asked us to wait... okay we're getting used to it..... so we ordered and she promptly tells us that the "soup" i've ordered will be a 20 mins wait. A soup needs 20 mins??? dont' you just spoon them from an already made soup pot. ???? No, I guess not, they must been making it from scratch for me. I feel like almost royal now NOT.

We ordered a set meal, soup and a combination of bbq pork and chicken. They decided they will give us the main meals first then work backwards. The soups (my extra soup and the soup with the set meal) call came right at the end. This is probably the first time we had soup for dessert and our hot drinks came first. Well there's always a first with everything.

The food is honestly quite nice. But the carelessness and the lack of hospitality really isn't worth it. I don't think we'll be in a hurry to go back. I'm sure there are much better quality and hospitality restaurants in Hong Kong and in particular at the airport.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AraleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsui Wah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tsui Wah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing