We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel on the south side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
Ranked #53 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good hotel on the south side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a smaller hotel on the south side of Hong Kong Island, it is not one of the big 'super hotels' of north side Hong Kong or Kowloon. I just stayed for a week at one of the ocean-view suites. It was a very good room with views of Aberdeen harbour, surrounding hills, Ap Lei Chau across the water and all the activity, seven days a week, of the Aberdeen fish market 20+ floors below. The room was light and bright with a good fit-out, comfortable bed, separate sitting area and well-appointed bathroom.
Downstairs on the ground floor; The buffet breakfast, on-tap Gaggia espresso coffee maker and the early evening happy hours were all greatly appreciated.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.
As you are on the southside you need to either take the shuttle bus (infrequent, free), the local buses (frequent, cheap, busy at peak hours) or taxi (convenient and still pretty cheap) to get to the north side.
There are a range of local eateries from all manner of cheap and cheerful right up to the over-the-top Jumbo Floating Palace nearby.
There is heaps to do locally; Aberdeen promenade for a harbour-side stroll, take the local ferry 5 minutes over to Ap Lei Chau, hike up to the Hong Kong trail and Aberdeen Country Park, or take the 40 minute ferry ride to Lamma island for a day off from shopping in the tourist ghettos.

I would happily recommend this hotel to those wanting a slightly different experience of Hong Kong, and I mean that in a good way!

Room Tip: The ocean view suites, as the name suggests, have the best views. Also the higher the floor the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karoly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear karoly5

Your review paints an alluring picture of the Southside and its neighborhood. Often missed by the flash-type tourist but for those who discovered us will find the area a most welcome respite from the cramped, crowded streets of the city proper, which is not to say a destination in itself but at least you get to come back and wind down, sipping Gaggia espresso at our lounge, as the day goes by. Thank you for pointing out the various inclusions that we liberally provide to all our guest which now also includes the complimentary shuttle to the city.

Karoly5, it looks like you had fun and managed to see Hong Kong’s many facets. The Hong Kong trail and Aberdeen Country Park, due to its popularity, is considered Hong Kong Island’s back garden and one can pick up the trail just a few minutes from the hotel.

So glad you get to enjoy “a slightly different experience of Hong Kong” in our care!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    162
    32
    16
    8
See reviews for
117
247
57
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this Hotel and found that it was a very good place to stay. Our stay was mainly on Business but staff was very helpful and friendly. Attended to all our needs and went out of the way to assist us in many ways. The rooms were comfortable and clean. No noise from the air conditioners. Staff is doing a tremendous service to look after their guest. Kitchen staff and front desk staff are very professional and polite. Mini bar is free with bear, water, coke and fruit juices and Happy hour from 6 to 8.00 pm was even better.

Room Tip: Rooms with a good view is better. Upper levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanath P d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hello there Sanath P d

We are very pleased to hear that our facilities and services had provided you a comfortable stay during your 6 nights with us. What is even gratifying is the fact that you made a point to describe that our staff is “doing a tremendous service to look after their guest”. I and the rest of the Happy-Shiny team here at Ovolo can’t thank you enough for that. We truly enjoyed looking after you and the missus and we look forward to your next Hong Kong visit!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed here with two of my friends.It's a great place to stay.Super helpful staff.Gizelle at the front office was very patient in explaining how to go about Hong Kong.The rooms are quiet and comfortable and have a great view.There are numerous freebies in the room.You can hang out the lounge where you have access to free fruits, coke, water etc.They have a great happy hour between 6 to 8pm where the bar is free no matter what you drink.

TIP: The hotel is awesome.Aberdeen is a little far off from the MTR and it's not easy to get directions while you are in the city.It's best to use the free hotel shuttle which
leaves every one to two hours for the Hong Kong station.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indronil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear indronil9

Hong Kong is a tourist friendly city but it can be deceptively complicated at first glance. So it is always nice to have someone with local knowledge who will point you to the right direction and offer a step by step guide to the various places the city has to offer. I’m very pleased to hear that our “super helpful staff” Giselle had managed to provide just that. While our 6 to 8pm Happy Hour is great, our O Lounge is practically Happy Hour 24/7 with our gourmet coffee, selection of organic teas and other non-alcoholic beverages for free. This is our Ovolo-way to say thank you for choosing to stay with us! Until next time!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I had high expectations after reading great reviews so I booked a sea view room for a birthday trip but it turned out to be really disappointing. In our first room, the aircon above the bed started dripping during our sleep which gave us quite a rude shock. We requested for someone to look into it or a room change when we left for the day but when we returned at night, the staff had no record of our request and even told us that we should have made our request earlier. Our second room wasn't much better. The curtains and the bathroom door could not close fully so we had bright sunlight streaming in at 7am, making it impossible to sleep. A really bad experience overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank de-caffeinatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear de-caffeinatic

I am very disheartened to hear of what occurred during your stay. It is unacceptable that we failed to follow through with your concern. And I’m very sorry that we were not able to provide a comfortable stay. We have a process in place that when a guest expresses a concern, several key personnel are notified for a thorough follow through. However, in this particular occasion, although actions were carried out to rectify the problem we failed to let you know what had been done to address your concern and also failing to notify the next manager on duty of the occurrence. On the matter of the curtains and bathroom door, modification work are now being carried out.

de-caffeinatic, I hope you will indulge us on this occasion. Should you decide to stay with us again and allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves, I hope you will write to me directly so I can personally look after your stay. If you wish to share with us further details of your experience for our improvement, we would be most grateful to hear again from you.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights & I love this hotel. I booked through agoda, called the hotel a day before and requested to book us on 27th Floor and they did it at no extra charge. Comfortable rooms and very very friendly staff. Mini bar has - Water, Coke, Beer and is all free! The rooms are clean, comfy beds and well maintained. Breakfast is small but sufficient spread. There are unlimted brownies & cookies served through the day (brownies are super yummy)

Its a bit far out from central. Costs about HK$80 & 20 mins one way and there are enough buses (30-40 mins). As first time travelers, overall Ovolo, Aberdeen but just a bit far out, which was a pain.

Room Tip: Always choose the higher floors. Since the rooms are smaller specifically ask for Twin or Double, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsaacVivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Good day IsaacVivek!

We love that you loved our hotel! Thank you for the “very, very friendly staff” seal of approval and I’m glad we were able to accommodate your request. The brownies is one of our secret weapon, providing a touch of sweetness to an already flavorful experience :-). We just started running our city-shuttle services, another addition to our long list of complimentary amenities, and with the planned opening of a subway station nearby, transport will be even easier.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed in the Ovolo for 3 nights in June 2014 and it was a very pleasant experience. We stayed in an ocean view room and the view was fantastic with a classic Hong Kong feel looking over the river and the Aberdeen Docks. The room was clean, modern and well air conditioned. Fresh drinks added to the fridge each day. The breakfast had a good range with enough food to get you started for the day ahead. Location is not ideal to the main Hong Kong area but the front desk staff are more than happy to help you with buses and directions to wherever you need to go. Overall a great experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMSmith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear GMSmith82

Like you, many reviewers have been quick to point out the many inclusions that we provide to our guests. From the mini-bar that are refillable daily, the two happy-hours with spirits, wines and nibbles to our continental breakfast spread. It is an encouraging affirmation that what we do here strikes a chord among the modern travelers and their needs. I also enjoy your description of the Aberdeen Harbour and “classic” does defines it.

Hong Kong is fortunate to have an efficient, most frequent and safest public transport system. And our Front Desk team will happily give you a lowdown of what you need to know navigating the compelling streets of Hong Kong.

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avesta, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in july 2014 together with my boyfriend. This hotel is VERY good, we would definitely stay there again. The staff is helpful, the rooms are clean, breakfast is tasty with a good variety and the happy hour is fun. There are laundry machines free of charge. The bus ride to the central takes about 30 minutes and the bus stop is just outside. The only disappointment was the gym, which is very very small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalinEOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chum R, Manager at Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear MalinEOlsson

Your “Awesome hotel, highly recommended” review is much appreciated. Sorry about the gym but I’m happy to know that our helpful staff, our cleaning team, our breakfast and happy hour just made up for it. I’m glad you found a home in Hong Kong with us and we can’t wait to welcome you and your boyfriend back. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Chum Roa
Hotel Manager
chumroa@ovologroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Southside
#52 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#61 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#38 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
Ovolo West Kowloon
Ovolo West Kowloon
#62 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
The T Hotel
#9 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#46 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour

Property: Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
Address: 100 Shek Pai Wan Road | Aberdeen, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour is a unique lifestyle hotel that combines ultra-modern interiors with all-inclusive signature services (Free Breakfast, Free superspeed Wi-Fi, Free Minibar, Free Happy Hour) and the latest tech including 3D smart TVs for every guest. With multiple bedding configurations on offer, each styled in futuristic tribute to the surrounding area and featuring an entertainment console, elegant walk-in shower and large windows with sweeping views of the sea, Ovolo is perfect for business, couple, family and group travellers. Guests looking to indulge or unwind can also head to Lo Lounge, where complimentary breakfast is served daily and a complimentary happy hour nightly.Positioned in the city’s definitive harbour front location that puts you steps from outlet stores and under 5km from major attractions like Ocean Park and Cyberport, Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour keeps you 15 minutes from Central district through convenient public transport links, but far enough away from the chaos to enjoy a unique laid back slice of tranquility in authentic Aberdeen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovolo Hotels And Serviced Apartments 100 Shek Pai Wan Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing