We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly efficient!”
Review of Kau Kee Restaurant

Kau Kee Restaurant
Ranked #516 of 13,215 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

It took 25mins to line up, sit, order, eat and then pay. Kau Kee is an extremely well run operation delivering some of the best food we’ve had in Hong Kong! My beef brisket with noodles and broth was perfection in a bowl. My wife, had beef with rice noodles and a curry broth unfortunately got a lot of the fattier cuts in her bowl. While still delicious, when more than half of your ‘meat’ is fat, it’s not going to be the best. Shame as everything was perfect!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank MFC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 898 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

Came here for dinner to try its famous beef brisket noodles. The soup base is flavorful. The dining experience isn’t. In the small space, the waiters cramp everyone in. I was alone, and asked to share a round table measuring ~1.2m in diameter with 6 other strangers. I can’t even sit properly, let alone enjoy my meal!
At the table to my left, 2 ladies were repeatedly asked to order and not wait for their friend to arrive.
At the table to my right, a young couple with 2 toddlers ordered 2 bowls of noodles, and were asked to order more, presumably for taking up 4 seats.
I won’t return here. Food may be tasty, but with this kind of dining experience, why bother?

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank C3461PMsamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Being Cantonese Chinese I do know what a good bowl of beef brisket is. And Kau Kee definitely has a good bowl of beef brisket. That being said, the reason I rated it average is because a great restaurant is a sum of all its parts. While the food was excellent everything else was average or sub par. First is the obvious which is the long line that stretches down the block for most of the day. It wasn’t too bad for me, just a forty minute wait. Second, when you finally get your seat you’re tightly packed into a small table where you’re literally rubbing elbows with the person next to you and you’re forced to eat in an uncomfortable position. Third, service is lacking but then again you’re in Hong Kong and unless you’re in a fancy restaurant most local restaurants are the same when it comes to service or the lack thereof. Lastly the prices are about seven to eight US dollars for a small bowl of Beef Brisket with noodles. Which when you finish eating in about five minutes they rush you out the door. So, in all honesty, I loved their curry beef brisket. Would I go back? Most likely. But it still does not change the fact that it would not be as enjoyable as most people would like.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank myleftboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

Very nice people , good service, very good old style interior- all is old as old even kitchen .
Food taste is good ,
But as that restaurant is very busy then you should count more time when you go there as you should maybe wait at least 30 minutes in the street before get seat.
Not the place you can enjoy the evening,it is just place order-eat-and pay.
Min cost per person is 55HKD and then food there is not cheap.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank tarmo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

This stall type restaurant has been last for so many years, perhaps over 30 years for the good name of great beef cooking. And it is getting so many main Chinese traveller who heard the great name, which attract so many people in queue. If you don't mind to queue and get yelled to finish the noodle in 10 minutes for an IG photo. You can give a try, be franky the beef is good, surely better than average and some crazy millionaire did ask to buy their cooking ingredient for over million of dollars. The service is bad and food quality also diluted due to too many people that they cannot keep their pace as used to be...

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kau Kee Restaurant also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Kau Kee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing