We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice selection and very quiet”
Review of Fish Bar

Fish Bar
Ranked #138 of 8,531 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Admiralty
Description: Enjoy delicious seafood, daily fresh catch and signature cocktails in a stylish alfresco setting by the pool. Try our ever classic dishes like Fish & Chips, Crab and Lobster Cake, Seafood Tower and more.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
627 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Nice selection and very quiet”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a caesar salad and calamari, my business colleage is a strict vegetarian so they whipped her up some pasta with tomato and basil. All in all very nice. Quiet by the pool as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fresh, fresh, fresh”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great food and atmosphere. Even our 2 year old son loved it. Perfect to end your day at the pool. Open restaurant so it feels like sitting outside

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hong Kong is a tough place for a smoke. Luckily they allow smoking here.

was staying at JW Marriott and was too tired to go out for dinner on my last night. Decided to look for a relaxing place in the hotel for dinner and where I can have a cigar with my drink.

Fish Bar is actually the pool bar of the hotel, but it is a bit underwhelming to call it such. In my 3 hours there, I found out it is actually a destination restaurant, with those guests with no reservations having to wait for a seat inside or had to sit outside in the smoking area. It eventually filled up, and some guests actually had to look for alternatives. Granted this was the eve of a holiday, but still I never expected pool bars to be in demand.

Food is actually good. I had the Wagyu burger and it was quite good. The drinks list is a bit limited, consisting mostly of cocktails, although you can request for scotch (no single malt here) or vodka on their own.

Nice place, good view, good food and being able to smoke was a bonus. It closes at 10:30pm

If you're a Marriott Rewards elite member, you also get a 20% discount here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTraveller168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good fish and seafood”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Mariott for few days and searched a lot on internet to find places for dinner. We didnt even considered the restaurants of the hotel as they are usually of poor interest and very expensive. But passing by the pool on some evening, we saw the Fish Bar with a lot of people and the menu looked very good so we decided to go there the day after. Simple menu, big variety of fishes.Crab cakes were tasty, salmon and rainbow trout were also very good. Cozy restaurant and nicely decorated. Prices are ok if you compare HK overall prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best fish n chips”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The best fish n chips I had so far in Hong Kong. Relax environment for a casual lunch especially at the pool side and open air.

The pool area is currently under renovation and should be completed in May.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravel0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing