We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch venue but....”

The Grill (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong)
Ranked #384 of 8,191 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Description: Set in the centre of a lush garden, The Grill offers alfresco dining for grilled specialities, home-made fruit and vegetable blends and speciality ice teas. The weekend brunch and barbecue dinner buffet is perfect for those who enjoy refreshing salads, grilled premium quality meat and seafood, and mouth-watering desserts.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue but....”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

They really know how to charge for simple fare including sparkling water! Service discreet and super attentive and salmon was well cooked and flavoursome but ... Not sure it command the price

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of their brunch”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've been here 3 times in as many weeks so that probably gives you a good idea of how I feel about The Hyatt Grill.

With so many brunches to choose from in Hong Kong, the Hyatt have done well to differentiate themselves by doing an amazing BBQ/grill by the swimming pool as opposed to the usual shelves upon shelves of randomly placed foodstuffs (eggs benedict sat next to a lamb vindaloo – errr go figure) that litter the regular brunch venues. As well as which, you can go on either Saturday or Sunday which is handy if you want to have a few schnifties and wake up on a Sunday as opposed to 6am Monday with the work devil looming over you saying "Get up! Why did you drink too many free flow bubbles yesterday you alcoholic douche?!"

Soooooooooo lets start with the setting. Well what can I say, if the sun is shining, this little gem is like an oasis in heart of HK's high-rise, skyscraping business district. If the sun isn't shining? Well it's still a little oasis. Hotel guests are lounging lazily by the pool, groovy staff are breezily attending to this and that, and little kidlywinkies are bouncing around happily in the water. Nice atmosphere. And as of 11.30am.... there's tables filled to the brim of salivating Hongkongers ready to feast on the grill.

Food wise, we are talking high quality goods folks. Not a drop of oil or fat or processed-ness. No, what we have here is top-notch fresh fresh fresh food. A huge salad bar with all manner of salady goodies and umpteen dressings to choose from. A fresh fish and meat bar that is showcasing chunks of high-grade yummies and behind are some well-trained chefs on the grill, cooking all of this fabulousness to tender perfection. Scattered around are some mini-islands with a few house-favourites, lasagna, nasi goreng, sausages, (that sorta thing) and these rotate week by week (check me out filling you in on weekly nuances), but you get my gist – the real focus here is the fresh grill and the beautiful salad bar. So after a customary 4 rounds/plates, whatever, it’s time for pud. Dessert here is just dangerous, deathly and tummy-tyre-inducing. The puddings are to.die.for. Try their pecan pie or their chocolate torte, did I say or? I meant AND. Yes do both, and then finish it off with some ice cream, and some sweeties, and some hundreds and thousands, and a dollop of chocolate.

Drinkie poos – you pay an additional 170HKD (ish) over the brunch price for free flow bubbles, wine etc. Very nice. Just make sure you keep that glass topped up – they’re not in a hurry to do that for you, so nudge away.

My only mini, and I mean pea-sized mini – gripe, is the staff. Bit iffy – sometimes good, sometimes non-existent, sometimes curt and a tad snobbish. But on the whole, well trained, professional and non-intrusive. Really I’m just nit-picking. This place is fabulous, now stop reading this and go book yourself a table!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday brunch”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Experienced outdoor brunch at the Hyatt recently with my hubby. First impressions were good, the setting outside by the pool is a treat. The staff also deserve good mention, very attentive and helpful (especially when my baby kept throwing his cutlery on the ground!) Baby chair available with Beatrix Potter fork and spoon - a lovely touch :) The food (seafood and grill) is tasty but the brunch did not seem as extensive as other brunch offerings in Hong Kong (e.g. The Mandarin and the Conrad). The drinks were free flowing but the food a little limited. Gorgeous desserts though and while I would go back it would not be first choice due to menu...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lurcher500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Weekend Brunch”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great food and the service was excellent. The seafood was very tasty and the free flow was very enjoyable. However the pool was very busy with young children. One parent completely stripped off a child to swim in the pool. It wasn't exactly the atmosphere we were looking for at brunch. It was very noisy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubski1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Perfect spot for brunch. It's poolside so make sure you dress for the weather. Wonderful food. Leave the kids at home and enjoy the free flow!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong) also viewed

 

Been to The Grill (Grand Hyatt Hong Kong)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing