We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and Faked”
Review of Hotel 36

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 36
Ranked #482 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed February 20, 2009

I stayed for 2 nightmares.... room very tiny, there was no space to open my luggage, no space between the bed and wall, the toilet was a joke. No walls, only a glass window, and the lightbulb was broken, so I had to shower on the dark. I called the reception, they said that there was no light there... They can't undestand and speak english. Never go there....The pictures on internet are faked. And the prices are high.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilika_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 191 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2008

When entering the room, we were shocked by its small size, the stain in the linen and the hair (!!) between the towels. Failing to cancel our booking with the travel agent, we had to stay at the hotel for 6 consecutive nights. Upon request, we were given promptly another room, which was clean and slightly bigger (estimated <10 sq m including bathroom for HKD 550).

More cons:
- our room was as wide as the length of the bed. If you are as tall as my husband (>1.9m), you are not able to stretch your legs fully while sleeping. The room was so small for our two suitcases that we finally had to leave one suitcase elsewhere.
- no in-room wireless LAN as advertised. We borrowed an ethernet cable from the reception - free of charge.
- I was disturbed and made sleepless every night by different noisy guests. They talked loudly and lively with each other in the corridor early in the morning and late at night. While the noise from the street was insulated very well, the noise from inside the hotel was not.

The pros:
+ great location: the hotel is just 3 mins walk away from the underground station Prince Edward, and bustling Mong Kok is easily reached on foot
+ friendly staff at reception

Summary:
Ok for only one or two nights and only if you are well-prepared for the tininess of the room. We had a very stressful time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

We booked this hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews for the original hotel we had booked (those were very bad). We stayed here for about fourteen nights in two-five night windows in between travels to other parts of Asia.

My friend and I stayed in a two person room with two single beds. The hotel rooms are VERY tiny, there is barely enough to walk between the beds. When the blankets hung over the edge of the beds, there was about 3 inches between them. The blankets were very nice and thick though. There is a tiny night table with a telephone and some rooms have internet access. There is also a sink and some cupboards for storage.There is also a computer in the lobby with a computer.

The washrooms were relatively clean. Instead of opaque walls, the washrooms had glass that was partially frosted, so if someone was in the shower, you could see their outline.

There was a small TV in the room that got a few English channels.

The staff were nice and accommodating. We were able to leave our luggage in the storage room between stays, which was nice. There is also an airport shuttle that leaves directly from the hotel which was also very convenient.

There is a restaurant under the hotel called Cafe 36 which was also very cheap and convenient. They even deliver to your room which was very nice and we took advantage of this many times when we were too exhausted to find a restaurant after a day of sightseeing.

The hotel is also conveniently located, it is a few minutes away from Prince Edward Station, and was easy to find. The street in front of it was a bit dirty, but I think that's just the same of all the streets in Mongkok.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Anitanita21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Hotel 36 is a new 160 room hotel which opened in December 2006. It is located in the Mongkok area and is very close to the Prince Edward MTR (subway) station.

The hotel is a budget property offering either twin or double rooms. All of the rooms are very small -around 85 sq feet (or 7.9 sq meters). This is barely adequate for 1 person and is extremely tight for 2 persons. The bathroom is part of the bedroom and is separated by glass only. The bathroom is a "wet" bathroom and the shower falls and drains not in a separate fixture but on the bathroom floor.

The room I had smelt musty and damp as soon as I entered it despite it being very new. There is aircon in the room, however, guests cannot individually control the aircon -it is on all the time. There was a window that opened to limited degree which allowed fresh air to enter.

The room is nicely decorated as is the bathroom. Free local phone calls are offered as is free broadband for the internet. There is no refrigerator in the room despite a space being installed for it. There is a cupboard on the wall which is supposed to be a closet however there is no space to store a suitcase or bag as can be see in the pictures attached. The bed linens were clean and of a high quality. Coffee/tea making facilities are provided in the room. There is no safe in the room nor is any safety deposit facility offered at the hotel reception. The hotel staff were friendly and polite but otherwise were unexceptional.

I stayed at this property at a peak time and paid HK$800 (US$105) for one night. This represents very poor value for money. At lower prices (around HK$400-450) it is acceptable value for one person who is willing to tolerate the small room and the other limitations.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Xenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Ieng Hoi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 233yueny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sham Shui Po
Lander Hotel Prince Edward
Lander Hotel Prince Edward
#483 of 726 in Hong Kong
85 reviews
Mong Kok
Hongkong MK Hotel
Hongkong MK Hotel
#432 of 726 in Hong Kong
417 reviews
Mong Kok
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#473 of 726 in Hong Kong
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Le Prabelle Hotel
Le Prabelle Hotel
#170 of 726 in Hong Kong
155 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#208 of 726 in Hong Kong
815 reviews
Minimal Hotel Culture
#192 of 726 in Hong Kong
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 36

Address: No.36 Boundary Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok , Prince Edward
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 36 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 36 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
36 Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel 36 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing