We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roasts”
Review of Joy Hing Food Shop

Joy Hing Food Shop
Ranked #299 of 12,870 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Bought a roast duck and its not bad. The roast pork can give it a miss as it tasted like salted bacon. They do vacuum pack your purchase if you want to bring it on flight

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank CasChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 407 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

If you want an authentic Hong Kong eating experience you have to come here! Their char sui is amazing! Everything here so yummy! Juicy and flavorful with every bite. Did I mention the prices? I fed our group of 11 for $564hkd. They actually helped us order so I didn't have to pay as much. How's that for service! If you visit Hong Kong be sure to visit. You will not regret it.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank L2883FJmichaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2019 via mobile

Long line, but moves quickly. I recommend sitting down to eat versus take out. The roast pork is everything.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank noahliu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019

I already had a bad feeling just looking in from the sidewalk as the roasted items just did not look appetizing. But we proceeded to go in to try since we had walked a long way and there was a table available.

The waitress was very rude and really did not offer any decent service as dishes were just threw together with no appeal.

We ordered 1/4 of a goose and it was just a drumstick/thigh portion over a bunch of scraps like the goose tail and fat. The char sui which they were famous for was totally dry and tough. They threw the 2 items together and charged HK$230, equivalent to US$30.

The roasted pig was also bare bone minimum, skin was not crispy and meat was dry.

Whoever bragged about this joint on youtube must have been bribed by the store.

DON'T EVEN BOTHER! WORST IN HONG KONG!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

if you are a traveller who likes to experience how the locals live in HK dine at this place.

its been here forever and is that typical very busy, noisy, crowded, share a table with strangers, gruff curt staff that you expect in HK

the actual roast meat we had- the char siew, roast pork (siew yook) was very tasty but on the fatty side, the soy sauce chicken was very tender and moist

the sauce/gravy they pour over the meat is also very unctious

I would avoid the goose as it is very fatty

the prices are reasonable

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mrfremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Hing Food Shop also viewed

 

Been to Joy Hing Food Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing