We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, good kids meals”
Review of Red Ant

Red Ant
Ranked #5,277 of 8,725 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good kids meals”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We ate here for dinner. We had the set dinner menu which was $228 plus service charge. We chose the shrimp Wantons, salad, chicken skewers with salmon and penne pasta. Very tasty.

Our kids had the kids meal ($54 + service charge), which included pasta, chips, chicken wings, sausage, watermelon and a cup of orange juice. The kids ate most of it with no arguments or complaints, so the food must have been good! The food was also served quickly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    18
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the greatest in HK”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We ate here the first night we arrived before we realised that most restaurants are in the malls in this area.
On the plus side the menu had English subtitles and the glass of red wine I had was fine and it won't break the bank to eat here, but we had what amounted to a bowl of over cooked rice with a spoonful of meat and very gloopy gravy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TootTootTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lucky find...”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Red Ant was a lucky find in a busy city. We were attracted by the idea of pasta an overload of rice.
The menu is simple, sleek and eye catching.
We opted for the set menu with entrée choices of smoked salmon rolled vegies and a fried shrimp cake. The shrimp cake proved to be sold out and we both enjoyed the salmon. The flavours were nicely balanced however the salmon was served very cold which takes away from some of the possible greater depth of flavour.
The mains we chose were a chicken with rosemary and wedges. The quantity was large, of chicken that is, two small breast/legs and two wings. Almost a WHOLE small chicken. The wedges were battered fries quite small and very few of them. I counted 8 on my plate. The salad was fresh and tasty.
We opted to share the 2 person chocolate soufflé for dessert and it was fantastic. Amazing ly light and very, very tasty. The highlight of the meal.
The service was good with a constant flow of hot water. There appeared to be far too many staff on at one point but this is HK after all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Patsy-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“MSG food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is full of MSG. Not my type of food. Food quality isn't that good which is why all their food has a lot of sauce and condiments to cover up.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Looks nice, but bizarre food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

It's quite a nice place to sit, much nicer than a number of other places in the area, but who put that menu together! It just doesn't work. And when I got my shrimp and mushroom curry, it had three shrimps in it. That, and indifferent service means that sadly I won't repeat the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Ant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing