We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sashimi”

Unkai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #543 of 8,564 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Savor traditional Osaka cuisine and a superior sake collection at Unkai Japanese restaurant. Serene and tranquil, Unkai is a small oasis in the midst of Hong Kong’s hustle and bustle where you can savor Teppan grilled meats, sushi, and sake. Award-winning Unkai is divided into six main dining areas: open Teppan, private Teppan, sushi and sake bar, private rooms, main dining area and the Tatami room. Each offers a distinctive ambience.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh sashimi”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

serve very fresh sashimi but price is on the high side

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YSL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch Japanese in Kowloon with a price tag to match”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The sushi and grilled fish were among the best I've had. The atmosphere is upscale contemporary Japanese. Each seating area was separated, giving the illusion of a semi-private dining. Service was exceptional. The exception to our wonderful experience was the tempura. The chicken was chewy and overcooked and the squash and pumpkin were under seasoned.

We ordered the 10 piece sushi sampler with an additional order of uni (sea urchin). Each piece was exceptional. My favorite being the Uni, light and creamy with just a faint hint of the sea. It was accompanied by a delicious junmai ginjo sake with anise undertones and a sweet floral finish. The sushi was followed by grilled yellowtail head, not a very appetizing name or presentation if you don't like an eyeball staring up at you. The meat in the head was tender and appetizing and it became one of my favorite grilled fish experiences. Unkai also has other varieties of grilled fish heads, which I'm sure are quite good. I left the eye to my dad. Not touching that!

Unkai is very expensive. On par with a high end restaurant in Japan. We did not order very much and our tab came out to over US$200. There are teppanyaki stations to try as well, but that is for another day and paycheck.

Helpful?
Thank gnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice atomosphere with good foods”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Teppan-yaki Chefs are friendly and one Japanese lady attendant is so kind while Hong Kong attendants are operational. I wish there are more choice of beef such as filet mignon and ribeye in addition to sirloin.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarinaDelRey335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So, so taste - extreme price”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Service in this restaurant was up to the Sheraton standards, but we really didn't like the food at all. We should probably just have gone to the sushi bar rather than taking a table.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AllanPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Yummy Japanese food. I love those tables for 4-5 peoples.. very private”
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Yummy Japanese food. I love those tables for 4-5 peoples.. very private

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unkai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Unkai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing