We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, outstanding location”
Review of Black Sheep

Black Sheep
Ranked #2,038 of 8,750 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Restaurant details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, outstanding location”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is perfect for those looking to get away from the noise and bustle of central Hong Kong. The Duck Liver Pate was sensational. The steak was also brilliant. But mostly, the quiet and peace of Shek O is what makes it special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShravanBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FLorida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a real litttle treasure of a restaurant with phenominal food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Black Sheep restaurant is hidden and understated in a small beach village but it was my oasis in a dessert. There is only so much Chinese food a westerner on vacation can handle. This little secluded restaurant had a fresh delicious tomato salad and gazpacho that was to die for. The best art of my meal was the pavlova dessert. Very hard to do and even harder to get in Asia where they are not known for their dessert. I was lucky enough to dine there and hope others find this little gem on a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashleychloetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Visited on a Saturday evening with 10 friends and although the service was fairly slow the standard of the food was excellent. Tenderloin steak was one of the best I have had. Surroundings were very good with decent music and good beer and wine. Both waitress' were rushed off their feet and the management should really consider additional staffing at busy times

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take away pizza for the beach was Great”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We went out to Shek O on Christmas day which was really nice, you can't beat a Christmas day paddle!!

On a friends recommendation we were going to go for lunch at the Black Sheep but didn't want to drag ourselves away from the golden sands for too long so opted to get a take away pizza instead.

The range of food on offer was really good and I regretted not being able to sample more of it once I got there and checked out the menu, I certainly had food envy looking around the restaurant once I waited for my pizza.

Nicely decorated and I will definitely go there next time we are in Shek O and eat at the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“for a change of pace in HK”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

great place for "getting away" from the hustle and bustle of hk without going very far at all. Shek-O seems like a different planet if all you have seen is Central or CWB. Shek-O is a charming little place, and particularly at night, is very chill. Food is not bad and environment is almost equally off-the-wall (in a great way), with black lights and quasi-tropical surroundings. One might think it's a bit cheesy but given you're just a stone's throw from a somewhat removed (particularly at night) beach, it's pure charm, and a great place for a date if you want to take a walk on the beach afterwards...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calalum97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sheep also viewed

 

Been to Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing