We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong
Ranked #59 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed there using Marriott points, but all in all, it was well-appointed and well-situated. There's a tram stop just outside, so you can conveniently get to the action while saving some money on accommodations. Service was great - had a great time. Hong Kong, BTW, is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satre21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    640
    110
    18
    11
See reviews for
190
342
175
419
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I used my hotel point to have a vacation in HKG, the hotel location is good. You could take a bus from the airport by number 11. or taking the airport express to the station then utilize hotel free shuttle to hotel. The transportation is easy for private travel and not difficult for business traveler. Nearby DinDing bus there, free hotel shuttle in place. Even you could just take a walk to the metro station. Not very crowded place, but you could see many things during your walk. Nice hotel provide good breakfast. club lounge is small but very ok because here is HKG. Easy to get a taxi in the morning. Quiet at night. The best thing is window view with harbour view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ozbanker
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Two night stay in a regular King Room, on a corporate rate which was HKD1030 + 10% service per night. This was great value for the money.
- Easy check-in, no dramas regarding the corporate rate.
- Room was modern, simple but effective.
- Nice bathroom, spacious enough with decent accoutrements.
- Free wifi worked without a hitch.
- Free shuttle from the hotel and IFC made for an easy exit.

Only hitch is that it is slightly distant from Central, and some cab drivers don't know where it is. The tram stop is very close though, the tram trip to Central is HKD2.30.

This hotel is great value at this rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were there for a seminar. The location was very convenient. Staff was extremely helpful with everything - getting a taxi, recommendations,etc. The rooms were clean. Bathroom clean and well equipped. We tried the breakfast and it was not bad either.
We had a deluxe city view room and we reserved a suite because we were 5 of us. They don't have space for a roll away bed in the normal rooms.
To our surprise, the suite's bathroom had no doors. It was all glass AND NO DOOR. So everyone staying in that room can HEAR AND SEE everything you are doing in the bathroom. The roll away bed was set up right next to the tub. So you feel like you are sleeping in the bathroom.
If you are not newly married or maybe even if you are - you will have to be extremely comfortable with the person you are staying with. We ended up getting three normal deluxe rooms for 5 people.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you take the suite, make sure you are comfortable with bathrooms without doors ! NO DOOR (not eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PremThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had a 2 night stay earlier this November - upon arriving HKG, we took the A21 bus and it arrived at the front door of the hotel! (Google Map Live-view will show you how close that bus stop really is)

I am traveling with my wife and a 3 years old toddler - overall travel is not bad, if you can avoid the morning/evening rush hour. If you are going to Central, going on the tram is your best bet (cheap but crowded) - try to avoid rush hours! Taxi is a little tricky to get - driver will only take you if you go far, not if you go to places that are close by (we had a stroller so we tried)

There are plenty of food choices in walking distances as well as shopping (what the heck you are in HK so no worry there)

Hotel staffs are extremely helpful and friendly, speak solid English. The breakfast buffet included for Marriott Gold @ MoMo Cafe is excellent...by far the best buffet breakfast I have had (even compare to Marriott/Hilton, Conrad, etc) - perhaps because I love the choices.

Do get the harbor view room!

Impressed with the executive lounge given it's a courtyard property. Would stay there again given the return on investment! Only down size is that the room is a little small, but hey - can't have everything!

Very contemporary and clean property, mostly Caucasian travelers we notice!

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room and a package that includes access to executive lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcklau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Staying in Hong Kong is not cheap. The seafood hotel prices fluctuate wildly throughout the year and sometimes you can end up paying a premium for a really shabby hotel. However, as I have stayed in more than a dozen Hong Kong hotels, I can honestly tell you that Courtyard Marriot Hong Kong in Sheung Wan (More like Sai Wan) is actually quite relaxing and pretty good. It's really not that far from everything if you know how to take the simple electric tram which is just outside of the hotel on Des Voeux Rd West or make use of the shuttle bus to get to IFC and back to the hotel, as I have done so for my 3 days there. The airport double decker bus also stops right across the street from the hotel so its super convenient.

As for the room I was given I personally though it was excellent. Modern, comfortable, and super clean, and mostly, doesn't look worn out. I've stayed at Langham Place where the room felt so worn out, or Ibis where it's always dusty in the room. Nevertheless, if you love washrooms, you will live the washroom very much, the water pressure is excellent, amenities are complete and you also get a bath robe too. It is definitely better than most Courtyard Marriots around the world as I actually slept like a log for 3 nights, which I rarely do in most hotels. No noise coming from the corridors or doors slamming consistently over the night, as it seems like the majority of guests there are on business and not the rowdy tourist who loves holding parties in the corridors.
I had free wired and wifi internet in my room. Awesome speed!

As for the staff? I think they are extremely well trained. Whoever the manager is, he/she is doing a very very good job. Definitely up to Marriot quality, and at Intercontinental standards. Floria, who checked me in was super awesome and helpful as well as the other staff which helped with my luggage.

If you're looking for food and basic amenities, simply walk out of the hotel, turn left and head down to Des Voeux Rd W (which is like 5 seconds), then turn right on it... you'd find 2 convenience stores, couple restaurants, groceries, drug stores, banks etc. There is also a Mcdonalds close by. If you turn left, there is really nothing.

Overall I give this hotel a 9/10. Other than a bit far off the path, it's a great hotel to return to after a long day.

Room Tip: High floor, corner room, facing harbour. This is a non-smoking hotel, so if you smoke, prepare to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had been staying at this hotel for years, it started at HK$900, last time I book the gentleman on the phone told me I would get the corporate rate for HK$1030, but when I arrived at the hotel at midnight they said the rate was HK$3,030. I would never have booked this hotel for this rate. The only saving grace was the price, it is not near any transportation, not near the CBD, nor sightseeing of shopping. I just saw an interview with the CEO of Marriot talk about how the Courtyard brand was good rooms at a great price, well for US$400 you can stay at much better hotels in HK. I should have confirmed the booking but busienss travel being what it is, I just saw the that I received there email and did not inspect it. Having been staying there in HK 4-5 times a year for the past 5 years, I was surprised at the poor treatment from the staff and manager. They had me speak to the Customer Service in the US whose attitude was "Well what do you want us to do..." Obviously too late to go anywhere I got stuck with it. Marriot outside of the US is far too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: For a good room stay at another hotel. Wan Chai or Central, or in Kowloon if you are there for sigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,699 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
607 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,195 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong

Property: Courtyard Hong Kong
Address: No.167 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for spectacular shopping, sightseeing and entertainment, Hong Kong is ideal for business or leisure travel. With a beautiful backdrop of Victoria Harbour, Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong offers great harbour views and easy access to the financial district. Our downtown Hong Kong hotel is located near the MTR subway - HKU station of West Island Line with approximate 6 to 8 minutes on foot, hotel also offers complimentary shuttle to major Hong Kong Island business districts. The lobby's interactive GoBoard lets you find local restaurants, news and travel conditions. Smartly designed guestrooms offer great views, Marriott signature bedding, LCD TV, complimentary high-speed connectivity in all guestrooms as well as meeting facility, and a luxurious marble bathroom. Our Executive Rooms and Suites provide access to the cozy Executive Lounge. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hour fitness centre and dine at our award-winning restaurant MoMo Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Courtyard
Hong Kong Marriott
Courtyard Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing