We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice rooms, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong
Ranked #67 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very modern hotel close to the commercial centre. Rooms and lobby are a little small, but that's to be expected in HK! Staff very helpful, recommending local restaurants and shops - they also took the time to write some locations in Chinese for our trip to Shenzhen. Breakfast had good variety. Free wi-fi, tea and coffee. Great views of harbor. Drinks and canapés in executive lounge were very nice. Would stay again, perfect for business trips.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in November 2011 but am just getting around to write the review.

This Marriott is a modern, clean hotel with good-sized rooms, great views of harbour and friendly and helpful staff. However, the restaurant is of average quality, at best.

Hotel is located about a 40 minute walk from the downtown core -- worth the walk once. A hotel shuttle bus runs about every 15 minutes in the morning and drops people off at a few stops in the core, including at the nicer, yet far more expensive, JW Marriott. Many business people take the shuttle to the core. Unfortunately, the shuttle does not offer return service but there are several trams and buses that stop nearby. A taxi ride is inexpensive (don't forget to take a hotel business card, with the address written in Chinese with you to provide to the taxi driver).

From the airport to the hotel take the city bus and get off at the first stop (about a 30 minute ride) which will be in a very bustling neighbourhood (ie in an area busy with lots of people and amidst apartment buildings, one/two streets in from the water...don't get off any earlier). The hotel is around the corner (on a one-way street) from where the bus will let you off.

While in Hong Kong we took a half-day city tour which included a boat ride around part of the harbour -- well worth the moderate cost. For other things to do, I recommend taking in the evening light show and the ferry over to Kowloon. While in Kowloon I would skip the "famous" street market únless you are searching for really, really cheap items -- everything from clothes to cell phone cases is for sale. A trip over to visit The Big Buddha is also a must.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Was again in HK for a conference. Due to the proximity of Courtyard to Cyberport, I've selected this hotel for my stay.

This hotel has a very small lobby, but understandable due to a small plot of land this franchise is occupying. I was greeted by the staff very promptly upon my arrival.

Check-in is rather hassle free and I've got my room in about 5 minutes.

The room, like most HK hotels, is small. Housekeeping did a good job by keeping the place clean and pleasant.

Amenities provided is good, beds are comfortable, great hot shower - the very basics of a business traveler is well taken care of.

The location of the hotel itself is a little out of the way from MTR stations but taxis/buses/trams should bring you to Central within 20 minutes.

Some minor suggestions to management:
1. The waste paper basket looks good, however the leather-like materials is quite challenging for housekeeping to clean up - it let off stale trash smell even when the bin is cleared - consider ways to keep that clean or source alternative.

2. Staff seems somewhat overwhelmed when crowds starts to gather - me for one, was left alone at the concierge struggling with luggages while trying to settle into the taxi. I felt it might be an isolated incident.

To summarise, I'm very happy with the stay in this hotel, if given a chance I'd love to revisit this franchise again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed during Xmas break in 2012. Staff is excellent. Very efficient. Had problem opening room safe one night( because I had stuffed in oversize laptop). The response was within minutes. Even the manager came up to see all was well. Request for harbour view room-the view is amazing. A little distant from MTR but the hotel runs shuttle service & taxi is really cheap. Costs less than HKD30 to get to Central. Mo-Mo cafe serves excellent meals but the menu is rather limited. I hope they can expand the choices offered to guests. Otherwise, the stay was excellent, with great staff. Nothing is too much for them. One morning my wife craved for iced mocha, staff @ MoMo cafe was more than happy to oblige. I ended up extending my stay by another 2 days because my wife simply loved this place & Hong Kong in general. I am always amazed at how Marriott in Asia is a class above what you get at Marriott in North America & Europe.

Marriott Gold Member.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Shocking as it was... this hotel was only $122 when I booked it for four nights on a short trip to Hong Kong. To be honest it was the best $122 spent per day, there was a fantastic breakfast buffett every morning. The staff in the dining areas and especially at the executive lounge were top notch! It is a few miles west of Lan Kuai Fong and the Central area, but there was a free shuttle that ran to IFC mall (with no traffic exactly 7minutes) and that brings you into the heart of Hong Kong. I tried to stay an extra few days and realized my luck was shortlived at the Courtyard as it seemed the rooms were highly coveted for the christmas weekend and the few rooms left were only at ridiculous rates.... so I moved on to the Renaissance, which oddly was less expensive and the overall customer care was quite a bit better (especially at check-in and check-out).

Room Tip: Even though I am a platinum member I got a very very tiny room? My friend who isn't even a rewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutinyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Yes, off the beaten path. But while the Central hotels of this caliber were in the $500US range, we got a AAA rate under $250US at the Courtyard. Wife's Gold status got us upgraded to a harbor view room and free buffet breakfast which is quite enormous. This is the 'Asian-version' of Courtyard: fluffy bathrobes with the Courtyard logo are almost ironic, but quite nice nonetheless.

We didn't bother to wait for the free shuttle to Central; taxis were less than $30HK so we went by our schedule, not the shuttle schedule.

There is an executive lounge with all-day coffee and soft drinks and an evening free happy hour.

All in all an awesome value for being a 5 minute cab ride from all one wants from Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokonutzFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spend our Christmas Holidays in HK and stay for a few night in the Marriott Courtyard. Despite being a little bit on the side of the center of the Hong Kong island, there is a tram stop right in front of the hotel and not to mention the very convenient shuttle bus to the IFC (Hong Kong train station). You can also have a walk to the central neighbourhood it's not that far away. This is also a very good location for the ferry terminal to go to Macau (and other locations).

The rooms are big enough, without being huge, and have all the necessary equipments (e.g. phone, TV, WiFi, hair dryer, iron, safe, etc.). Everything working perfectly!
We did order some food for diner, and it was very nice. Reasonable time for delivery as well (you got it for free if you wait for more than 45 minutes...which didn't happened to us).

Definitely recommend the hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#63 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,779 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#88 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,805 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#62 of 726 in Hong Kong
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,157 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong

Address: No.167 Connaught Road West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $146 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for spectacular shopping, sightseeing and entertainment, Hong Kong is ideal for business or leisure travel. With a beautiful backdrop of Victoria Harbour, Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong offers great harbour views and easy access to the financial district. Our downtown Hong Kong hotel is located near the MTR subway - HKU station of West Island Line with approximate 6 to 8 minutes on foot, hotel also offers complimentary shuttle to major Hong Kong Island business districts. The lobby's interactive GoBoard lets you find local restaurants, news and travel conditions. Smartly designed guestrooms offer great views, Marriott signature bedding, LCD TV, complimentary high-speed connectivity in all guestrooms as well as meeting facility, and a luxurious marble bathroom. Our Executive Rooms and Suites provide access to the cozy Executive Lounge. Enjoy a workout in our 24-hour fitness centre and dine at our award-winning restaurant MoMo Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Courtyard
Hong Kong Marriott
Courtyard Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing