We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Good and value for money”

Nha Trang Vietnamese Restaurant (Wellington)
Ranked #384 of 7,950 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Consistently Good and value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went to the Nha Trang branch in Wan Chai. Usually a long queue. I recommend you make a reservation otherwise, the wait during rush meal hours is about one hour.
Menu selection has most of the favourite house specialties of Vietnamese cooking. Menus well organized and have good photography so it is easy to just pick your dishes from the menu. Dishes brought to the table looked pretty close to the photos and quite tasty and well presented.
Casual decor, very friendly for family entertaining or friends. Tables are quite close to each other thus not recommended for business entertaining. Also restaurant noise level not too good. Little sound proofing.
Ask for window seating which is separate from the main dining room.
Because of the popularity of the restaurant, getting the attention of the waiters/waitress is not easy. They are usually occupied cleaning and setting up tables for the next customer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HenriettaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    135
    28
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food but minus two points for service - just borderline”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Food is terrific. However it is a very busy restaurant and queues are likely. One annoying thing is the maitre'd will not let you take your table if you do not have everyone in your party present even if you are the next in line. They will take other people (of the same sized party) further back in the queue before you. I found this hard to understand as we assured them that we would order straight away. Shame because they obviously know they are successful, they are totally fine in treating their customers this way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilco188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese food, not too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

There are four branches of this restaurant across HK.
Decor is really attractive and soothing. I feel relaxed just stepping in there. The menu has a lot of authentic and interesting choices, and vegetarians are catered for. I love that they have banh mi but unfortunately these aren't vegetarian, so my hunt for good banh mi in HK continues :(
The last time I visited I had the cold eggplant salad and steamed rice noodle cakes (can't remember the name), which you roll up in lettuce and herbs, then dip into nuoc mam. Simple but delicious, and fun to eat. My partner had the prawn and green mango salad which looked great.
Prices are reasonable and service swift.
Will definitely keep coming here when craving good Vietnamese food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best dinner of a week in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went there around 6pm and no cue in front yet. 20 minutes later it was completely crowded. But still a very nice atmosphere. Staff was very nice and did a good job. The menu is huge but very nice. Food is served very quick and looks like the pictures from the menu. Everything tasted very good. Portions are quite big.
So, go there early and enjoy your food. You really get what you pay for. (We ordered 5 dishes plus beverages and paid 506HK$ / 50€ / ca. 65$)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorianMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food .....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A slight wait (about 10 minutes on a Sunday at 6.30pm) but very well worth it!
Soft shell crab was outstanding and the pho was excellent.
It's busy and crowded but very efficiently run and very clean .... For me, the service was good.
Best Vietnamese food I've ever had.

Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Nha Trang Vietnamese Restaurant (Wellington) also viewed

 

Been to Nha Trang Vietnamese Restaurant (Wellington)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing