We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vietnamese food so far!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nha Trang Vietnamese Restaurant (Wellington)

Nha Trang Vietnamese Restaurant (Wellington)
Ranked #359 of 7,786 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese food so far!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This restaurant branch is situated at Shop 703, New Town Plaza, Shatin, New Territories, Hong Kong.

We started our meal with vegetarian rice paper herb rolls c/w dipping sauce - fresh tasting. This was followed by what was described as 'Shaken Beef' - cubes of sirloin beef cooked in a wok with white wine and garlic and served on a bed of sugar snap peas and cherry tomatoes. I would describe the beef as 'succulent. Next, a large Sizzling Crepe Saigon well-filled with shrimps, pork, bean sprouts and onion. This could be eaten on its own or pieces could be wrapped in lettuce leaves which accompanied the dish. Our drinks consisted of Fresh Lime Soda/Lime Soda with Mint.

Altogether an enjoyable experience!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bloggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    134
    27
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
238 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Going Downhill Fast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nha Trang used to be our favorite 'night out' place to go in the SoHo area but no longer. We took some out-of-town visitors with us expecting an amazing meal but were sadly disappointed. First we were seated at a round table located directly underneath the A/C vent. It was freezing and it cooled our food almost immediately. The wait staff didn't seem to care even though they were congregating near our table. Obviously the A/C setting is set for the comfort of the staff and not the customers. The food was so mediocre that most of it went uneaten. Someone on the wait staff should have noticed and alerted management. It was certainly the most expensive lousy meal we've had in Hong Kong to date. Customers could get a better meal at any hole-in-the-wall Pho restaurant found all over town!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaPhxtoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty ordinary Vietnamese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had heard great things about Nha Trang, and one of our party had eaten here before and loved it. We have been to Vietnam and feel we are pretty good at judging Vietnamese food. We had to queue for about 20 mins but staff were efficient and pleasant enough.We had a variety of rice paper rolls which were OK, but not terribly tasty and lacked fresh herbs. The fried soft shell crab had a lot of batter, but not bad. 3 of us had banh xeo (Vietnamese rice pancakes) -they were pretty terrible and all fell apart -again, not much taste. Disappointing meal. Service was good, wine pleasant, atmosphere OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanineON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Cant believe how cheap and how good the food was and on top of that the prawn and noodle soup is a meal omits own for two people. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArtySin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Vietnamese cuisine in Hong Kong.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The best Vietnamese cuisine according to my experience was definitely here, in Hong Kong.
We came around 7 p. m. and there was already a queue in front of the entrance. For me that was good sign of people's choice. That 20 minutes of waiting past really quick by observing menu and taking pictures of Aston Martin parked in front of restaurant.
We share 7 dishes for 4 of us, at the end we paid 20€ per person.
Crabs in soft shells are delicious, I definitely recommend. Pomelo shrimp salat and other stuff would be definitely good. Staff speaks english, they are very kind and helpful.
I certainly recommend that restaurant to everyone who is paying a visit to Hong Kong.
Better to come after 9 p. m., otherwise you should wait in the line but anyway even then you would be happy with the cuisine . The place is open until 11 p. m. but you should come in before 10.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irena-Sakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nha Trang Vietnamese Restaurant (Wellington) also viewed

 

Been to Nha Trang Vietnamese Restaurant (Wellington)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing