We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
96
198
76
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
198
76
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ladies market dundas street yau ma tei set breakfast ihg club hi express mtr station good size small sofa ihg member free breakfast service staff are included in the room rate min walk busy nathan road corner room hotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 397 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The rooms were relatively new and clean, adequate in size for a budget hotel in Hong Kong. The room rates were very affordable. The included set breakfast was quite good and the staff were hospitable (for Hong Kong). The distance to MTR was not close but manageable.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Huangziyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

The hotel is in a newer building and lives up to the promises of the IHG brand. The staff was friendly and helpful with 24/7 receptionist.There is a small section with some work-out machines on the deck on the 17th floor, where there are also washing machines and dryers and an iron with ironing board. The tokens for the washing machines and dryer cost HKD 60 for a cycle which have to be bought at the reception. Looks like a steep price, given that the chinese laundry around the corner does a lot of laundry for HKD 120.
I kid you not, they gave me room #1012 (add the digits), that's better than room #1408, I made it out again unscathed.

The location is more interesting. It is definitely not the area someone would want to stay who needs to show up next day in the Hong Kong finance district for business. It is for the leisure traveller who wants to dip into life as it is. A few hundred meters from the hotel just up Dundas St. is busy Nathan Road where Yau Ma Tei MTR station can easily be found from where MTR takes the leisure traveller to all the tourist spots.
The location is definitely not up scale though safe for a tourist who does not push the luck to the limit by walking about in the middle of the night showing off a USD 20K luxury brand wrist watch.
If circumstances allow, it is probably more convenient to get to Yau Ma Tei MTR station and walk the short distance to the hotel, a taxi might get stuck in the chronically congested small roads.
If someone happens to take the underpass at Soy Street (literally Soy Oil Street) at a late hour might notice farther down the road some rather young ladies hanging around on street corners. However, despite the street name it seems they are not in the trade with soy products but in a trade at least as old as the soy product trade. No, it is not the famous night market either, which is on Temple Street just a few blocks away and so is the ladies market.
Stores, restaurants and western fast food are abundant all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveltrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

The hotel location is a bit far from MTR if you have a big luggage, you will be tried or if travel with kids or elderly I would not recommended. The room is ok but the condition of the sofa was bad. The bed was comfortable and clean. There was only bath gel no shampoo and lotion set up. The breakfast was a set menu, the staff at breakfast room is very attentive and friendly. Overall, my stay was ok.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank pornboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

It was very far from the metro stations. The shops/restaurants nearby are very local and authentic. Many message parlours and special clubs/hourly accommodations in the neighborhood. There is forever a traffic jam as the delivery trucks block the roads to deliver goods. I would not recommend this hotel for family with kids. The streets were not well lit at nights. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The toilet flush didn’t work so they changed the room for me. It was too hot to do the public transports so we opted for taxis. Each ride was rather pricy due to the traffic jam.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Services_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Angela M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is our great regret that your recent stay did not meet your expectations about our location.

It is our aim for all of our team members to make each guest feel truly welcome and for our hotel to be a place of true warmth and hospitality. Your comments, recognition and compliments is the best motivation for us to continue aiming higher.

Thank you once again for the kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

This happened twice during my stay. The staff did NOT lock/close my door completely after the housekeeping service. For the first time, I contacted the manager & asked them to be careful. Hopefully, it would not happen again. However, they repeated the same mistake the next day... so, I highly recommend you put your valuables into the safe if you don't want any sad things to happen during your trip.

Plus, they will open your room door if you refuse the housekeeping service for 24 hours. (EVEN YOU PUT THE DO NOT DISTURB SIGN ON THE DOOR). The manager will call you & visit your room with an extra hotel staff. This has never happened during all my stay with other hotels...not sure if this is the policy for the hotel management or IHG Group.

Although I wrote my review on the IHG website, they used "Contains legally sensitive content & kept asking me to resubmit my comments.
Therefore, thank you for Trip Advisor that allows me to share this bad experience with other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank YOLOtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKGMK_FOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear YOLOtime,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is our great regret that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we will review our service chain and make appropriate measure for betterment whichever is possible.

Again, thank you for the feedback. We do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention. Please do let us know of any travel plans you may have to return to Hong Kong, and we will gladly assist with any arrangements you may need. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews