We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Rooms”
Review of JJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JJ Hotel
Ranked #148 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel room was a decent size for HK, clean and modern with good facilities such as Flat screen TV and DVD player. Glass bathroom with good shower. Went on HK rugby sevens weekend, all hotels are overpriced then, but normally this hotel would be good value

The hotel pre authorised my first night in advance, when I arrived at the hotel I had to pay for the two nights I was staying and they said they would pay back the pre authorised payment within 15 days. In addition they wanted to take a 500 HKD deposit off the card which would get paid back within 30 days, I refused and paid cash which they gave back to me on departure. Not sure why there is a deposit, no mini bar or any restaurant or bar where you could run up a tab

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 670 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Big, comfortable room with 4 star amenities. But the staff treat guests as potential rogues: deposit on the credit card on the day of booking. Payment of the full stay at check in. Payment of an additional deposit at check in. I had laundry to clean: I received a call to visit the reception to sign one more paper to justify and confirm my laundry. The staff woke me up at 10:45: mr. don't forget that check out time is 12:00.... I can agree with deposits, but it should be collected by a less aggressive way. The behavior of the staff can ruin your journey. Never again, however I liked the location and the comfortable room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ben77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I do not understand how anyone could possibly rate this hotel lower than 4 stars. When evaluating a hotel I factor in sleep comfort, how clean the place is nd security. This place excelled in all 3 categories.

For those who complained the hotel is hard to find, I disagree. As a first timer to Asia, me and my wife found this hotel within 5 minutes of getting off the E11 bus from the airport. It's in a very lively neighborhood not dangerous at all, the hotel owns floors 9 to 12 of the building, we had room 1203 overlooking the street. The room was spacious with a huge king size bed, so comfortable we slept 13 hours on our first night. The place is very clean and cozy, no noise, not een from other rooms, for 70 euros a night, a bargain!!

Currently on a 4 week Asia trip we are coming back early September for another night andI am certainly looking forward to it. There is no breakfast served but tons of shops and places to eat at the foot of the building.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AirCanada881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the JJ Hotel for one night in July 2013. Great location near the subway in the heart of Hong Kong. Fabulous room with a huge bed, great shower, air-con and internet connection. Not the cheapest but great for a splurge night :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

JJ Hotel is located in the Wanchai District on Hong Kong Island
Wanchai was in the 60's-70's delinquent area with pubs used by American soldiers during the war in Vietnam. Now the neighborhood is much expanded with ultra-modern areas and landmarks.And the qualifier of "bad-area" no longer corresponds to the truth.
Corresponds to the truth, though, the fact that the busy area where the JJ Hotel is a mix-up modern skyscrapers with old blocks, elegant shops with small neighborhood stores, the wide avenues of the small streets where they sell clothes on the street or food markets.
Tram stations, Metro and buses everywhere, within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and the ferry to Kowloon 15 min. walking.
JJ Hotel is located in a commercial building which occupies floors 9-12. Easier to identify than Shanghai in streetscapes due to bright advertising.
For eating, use the grocery store near the hotel entrance as well as the restaurants inside the building, all the convenient price.
The hotel has three types of rooms, the cheapest variant being the room without window, so attention to details when you make your reservation, for 2 euro difference is not worth the discomfort.
Superior double room:
Price for that period from 67 EUR/room/day with taxes, without breakfast; all the comforts: spacious, new equipment and furnishings, daily cleaning, free wifi good quality, many tv programmes including European programs news and movies, dvd player (rental surcharge), refrigerator, safety deposit box, telephone with free calls within Hong Kong, 2 bottles of free water per day, coffee/tea maker with compelate bags daily, house slippers, toilet, hair dryer, air conditioning, Ironing Service free of charge.
Aspects less positive: the small reception area, no lobby area or lounge bar; lack of heating system: it was cold in the room, to the 17grC out would have been well 2-3gr in addition; bathrooms have glass walls protected by shutters, doesn't offer enough privacy.
Conclusion: the rooms cosy with multiple facilities, clean, good position, transportation variants in front, convenient price when compared to similar offerings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went to HK on June 2013. This is a nice and clean hotel and i like it. Good location. It's so central, you can find everything restauranst, bakery shops, laundry, tram stop and bus stop. The nearest MTR station is Wanchai station exit A3. You can walk there about 10 minutes. The staffs was ok. I booked the premier room and it was so spacious with huge bed. The bathroom was so great : bathtub and shower.The wifi was great and free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamiuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in April 2012 (after transferred from Silka Far East Hotel, Tsuen Wan) so apologies for the late review.
Upon arrival at this hotel, we were not impressive with the service provided within the reception lobby (based on 9th floor). Despite hassles, we were checked into a lovely, spacious room that provided everything - exceeding our needs, such as tea/coffee making facilities, minibar and safe.
Not good start to our days because it was a hassle searching places for good breakfast (avoiding McDonalds, on other side of that street), not aware that there was a supermarket at the basement of that block where our hotel was. Otherwise we could have grabbed few groceries from that supermarket and have had breakfast in our room!!

Information about public transport provided from the hotel reception was quite poor and we found out for ourselves that the most convenient way of reaching the city centre would be by the tram. The tram stop is just 3 minutes walk from the hotel, compared with 5-10 minutes' walk to Wanchai underground station, taking time walking through ticket hall, escalatorss to the platform and then take train - time consuming. My conclusion: Tram is the best way to get around across City Centre etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmileyDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#59 of 726 in Hong Kong
167 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,521 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#180 of 726 in Hong Kong
588 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Wifi Hotel
Wifi Hotel
#216 of 726 in Hong Kong
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Hotel

Address: Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $71 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — JJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your JJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jj Hotel Hong Kong
Jj Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing