We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good offer for Hong Kong”
Review of JJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JJ Hotel
Ranked #137 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good offer for Hong Kong”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

JJ Hotel is located in the Wanchai District on Hong Kong Island
Wanchai was in the 60's-70's delinquent area with pubs used by American soldiers during the war in Vietnam. Now the neighborhood is much expanded with ultra-modern areas and landmarks.And the qualifier of "bad-area" no longer corresponds to the truth.
Corresponds to the truth, though, the fact that the busy area where the JJ Hotel is a mix-up modern skyscrapers with old blocks, elegant shops with small neighborhood stores, the wide avenues of the small streets where they sell clothes on the street or food markets.
Tram stations, Metro and buses everywhere, within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and the ferry to Kowloon 15 min. walking.
JJ Hotel is located in a commercial building which occupies floors 9-12. Easier to identify than Shanghai in streetscapes due to bright advertising.
For eating, use the grocery store near the hotel entrance as well as the restaurants inside the building, all the convenient price.
The hotel has three types of rooms, the cheapest variant being the room without window, so attention to details when you make your reservation, for 2 euro difference is not worth the discomfort.
Superior double room:
Price for that period from 67 EUR/room/day with taxes, without breakfast; all the comforts: spacious, new equipment and furnishings, daily cleaning, free wifi good quality, many tv programmes including European programs news and movies, dvd player (rental surcharge), refrigerator, safety deposit box, telephone with free calls within Hong Kong, 2 bottles of free water per day, coffee/tea maker with compelate bags daily, house slippers, toilet, hair dryer, air conditioning, Ironing Service free of charge.
Aspects less positive: the small reception area, no lobby area or lounge bar; lack of heating system: it was cold in the room, to the 17grC out would have been well 2-3gr in addition; bathrooms have glass walls protected by shutters, doesn't offer enough privacy.
Conclusion: the rooms cosy with multiple facilities, clean, good position, transportation variants in front, convenient price when compared to similar offerings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    344
    94
    21
    10
See reviews for
76
249
111
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went to HK on June 2013. This is a nice and clean hotel and i like it. Good location. It's so central, you can find everything restauranst, bakery shops, laundry, tram stop and bus stop. The nearest MTR station is Wanchai station exit A3. You can walk there about 10 minutes. The staffs was ok. I booked the premier room and it was so spacious with huge bed. The bathroom was so great : bathtub and shower.The wifi was great and free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamiuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in April 2012 (after transferred from Silka Far East Hotel, Tsuen Wan) so apologies for the late review.
Upon arrival at this hotel, we were not impressive with the service provided within the reception lobby (based on 9th floor). Despite hassles, we were checked into a lovely, spacious room that provided everything - exceeding our needs, such as tea/coffee making facilities, minibar and safe.
Not good start to our days because it was a hassle searching places for good breakfast (avoiding McDonalds, on other side of that street), not aware that there was a supermarket at the basement of that block where our hotel was. Otherwise we could have grabbed few groceries from that supermarket and have had breakfast in our room!!

Information about public transport provided from the hotel reception was quite poor and we found out for ourselves that the most convenient way of reaching the city centre would be by the tram. The tram stop is just 3 minutes walk from the hotel, compared with 5-10 minutes' walk to Wanchai underground station, taking time walking through ticket hall, escalatorss to the platform and then take train - time consuming. My conclusion: Tram is the best way to get around across City Centre etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmileyDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The JJ Hotel is not a place I would recommend for anyone staying in Hong Kong. Even if you are only staying one night in the city, I would suggest looking elsewhere. We booked the reservation through booking.com which was fairly simple. The directions/location information on the hotel website and the booking.com website are useless. It is very difficult to find if you are unfamiliar with the city. I don't feel that it is worth my time to explain how to locate this hotel.

My husband and I arrived at the JJ Hotel around 12:45 pm on Monday, July 15th. It was pouring rain outside and we were drenched. The occupies 4 floors of a building and the reception desk (literally a desk) is located on the 9th floor. We were told that check-in was not until 2 pm and they could not allow us into the room even a minute beforehand. We walked around in the rain and ate lunch at a noodle house not to far away in order to kill time before we could check in to our room. We would have waited in the lobby, but there is no lobby. Not one chair, nothing...it is very strange.

The staff was very curt and unpleasant to deal with during our stay. The women appeared very young and it felt as if they did not want to be bothered with customers. I observed their interaction with other guests and it was consistently poor. I was horrified.

The room is nothing special. The bathroom is the strangest thing I have ever seen in my entire life. One entire wall is glass which means that in order to have any privacy while using the shower or the toilet you had to lower a shade that was anchored above the glass wall. It was impossible to leave the shade down all the time because you would not be able to open the door with the shade in a lowered position. I am still puzzled by the entire situation. You must also run the air conditioning unit in the room while taking a shower to avoid problems with the hot water heater. I also noticed mold along the caulking in the bottom of the shower.

The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. We both woke up with sore necks and aches throughout our entire bodies. The television is a nice size, but the selection of television stations from which to choose is terrible at best. The hotel does have a nice selection of DVD movies and allows guests to check out two DVD's each day. The rooms are equipped with DVD players, but the hotel charges $50 HKD for use of the DVD. This is such a rip off.

All in all, we were quite disappointed in our stay at the JJ Hotel. I hope that my review helps other TripAdvisor travelers to avoid the same experience. If you want an amazing hotel for the same price I can't say enough wonderful things about The T Hotel. I would also pay a few extra bucks to stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank summerchill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

For a little over US$100 on a Saturday night, this was great value for HK. Located in no-man's land between Wanchai and Causeway Bay, very easy to get to-from. A steady flow of taxis right outside; traveling to Central took less than 15 mins on Sunday.

Ccheck-in area is small, unimpressive (and not well signposted) on 9th floor of a commercial building. However, rooms were secure: entry to room corridors requires valid room key.

Room was spacious, bright and clean. Very comfortable king-size bed. Flat screen TV, dvd player, in-room Wifi. Bathroom was small, but more than adequate.

Front desk staffed by helpful young ladies. Both check-in and check-out were swift and smooth. Granted, I happened to be the only guest when checking in and checking out, but on both occasions the process was faster and easier than at many of the 5-star properties I've patronized.

Would I return? Definitely, when I'm looking for a short-stay crash-pad. Probably not when I have a companion in tow.

Other options: For a couple's weekend, excellent choices are East, Icon and Butterfly on Wellington (BOW offers the best value plus a to-die-for Central location; Icon presents the sharpest overall experience, with terrific service and good wines; East provides sleek rooms and delicious Asian food).

When you want to knock someone's socks off, The Upper House is the top choice in HK: Better - in my experience - than Mandarin Oriental, Landmark, Island Shang, or Conrad. UH provides a delicious all-round experience, with stellar service, great food (Cafe Grey and in-Room dining), Fabulous rooms and many delightful touches.

Room Tip: Security-conscious females traveling solo may feel more comfortable on JJ's 9th floor, i.e. clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

the hotel is quite a walk from the MTR station. the tram is nearer. the hotel is located at a street prallel to the main street henesse road. no pedestrian lanes. we usually cross at the mtr station exit a3 to the other side of the street and walk straight.
hotel provides free wifi which is better than my connection at home, in my opinion, i'm not that techie so i don't know for sure. what i do know is i can view google maps street view from my mobile using the hotel wifi. elevator is small but room is very big. tv channels not much selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimphu, Bhutan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the MTR Wan chai stop. It was not very easy to locate the hotel since its small lobby/reception is on the 9th floor. The room was spacious at JJ Hotel and for the similar price range (US$100+per night), JJ hotel was much better than others. Spent only a night there though. The lobby is small and has homely feel with a courteous staff present at all times. The bathroom with glass walls was also bigger than most hotels. I am glad my room was on the 10th floor and it is quieter. I imagine the 9th floor could be little busy and disturbing due to the reception office. Does not usually watch TV but really wanted to watch the NBA finals but that was missing. Maybe they didn't have pay channels. Overall, it was worth the spend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgeToBhutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#155 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#116 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Hotel

Property: JJ Hotel
Address: Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your JJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jj Hotel Hong Kong
Jj Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing