We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JJ hotel wan chai - Recomendable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of JJ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JJ Hotel
Ranked #136 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“JJ hotel wan chai - Recomendable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

So far quite convenience cos walk around 5 min will be the MRT but this hotel more suitable for couple instead of family as all bath room are glass bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le0nieChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    343
    93
    21
    10
See reviews for
76
247
111
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this small hotel. Everything was clean, the staff were very helpful. It in a great position in a very interesting part of Hong Kong - easy walking or a quick tram ride to the major spots. Bed was great and loved the bathroom. Wanchai is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margotjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My friend and I had a two day stay here in May. I read through all the reviews of this hotel in Trip Advisor ahead of time so I knew what to expect.
We took the A11 bus from the airport to Hennessey and Stewart Roads for $40 each; which took about 50 minutes on a Sunday morning. The hotel is only two blocks away from the bus stop. We arrived to the hotel around noon but our rooms were not ready until 2:00 pm. So we left our luggage in their storage room and went out for a walk and lunch for a couple of hours. The rooms were exactly what I expected. Decent size for HKG standard, large (but very firm) bed, free wireless internet, in-room mini-fridge and digital safe, and two complementary bottles of water. The AC in my room was putting out nice cool air. But the one in my friend room was not so much. Being it was Sunday afternoon we figured just let the reception know now and hopefully someone will come in to take a look at it the next day. Surprising enough a maintenance man stopped by few minutes later and fixed it. It turned out it was the AC unit setting of the floor in circulating mode; pumping warm outside air into the room. In no time that was fixed.
I stocked up on beverages and snacks from the grocery store in the basement, the in-room mini-fridge came in handy.
Public transportation in the area is good. Wan Chai and Causeway Bay MTR stations are both within walking distance. After the laser show in TST, we were thinking about taking the STAR Ferry back to the hotel. But we didn’t because I did not know where the ferry would drop us off on the island. But it turned out Wan Chai Ferry Terminal is only few blocks away from the hotel. Both Wan Chai and Causeway Bay MTR stations are within walking distance.
Overall I like this hotel and will stay here again on future trips.

Room Tip: There is a water cooler on the 12th floor dispensing hot and cold water but there isn’t one on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptnHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

HK hotels anywhere around Kowloon, Central, Causeway Bay, Admiralty tend to fall into one of two categories - outrageously expensive luxury five-star places or cheap-as-chips Chungking Mansions style dives.

I've found it really difficult to find a reliable, decent quality, affordable hotel in HK, but JJ Hotel fills that gap well. The location is sold, especially for Causeway Bay and the shopping district there. It's also very close to the subway and not too far to walk to the ferry. The rooms are comfortable and clean, certainly above average given the price you pay, although some could certainly do with a sprucing up.

A tip - if you're arriving by airport express you can take the free shuttle bus from Hong Kong Station to Novotel Century Hotel (Route H2, I believe) and walk 3 mins to JJ Hotel from there.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel acts like a speakeasy - hard to locate if you're not actively looking for it on a busy street. It sits several floors above in a mixed use building that houses a supermarket in the basement - conducive to many a trips downstairs for snacks and water! Our room was large with a view of slummy-looking apartment buildings. Apparently more common in Asia than elsewhere, this room had a see-through bathroom. Prior to arriving, we had been traveling for several weeks through Japan and other parts of China, so when we got here, it was not a shocker anymore. I think we Americans can learn a thing or two from Asians about being comfy in our naked bodies.

Anyway, this hotel is also quite close to a metro station - we most of our sightseeing by metro so we were glad to be so close to one. There is also no shortage of restaurants nearby with dim sum and other delicious options. I highly recommend this hotel as your base.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Booked this hotel via recommendations from tripadvisor.
The price is low, and you get alot for that.
There is no lobby, the hotel is 4 floors from a 20 floors building.
The front desk girls weren't very nice, but we didn't need their help.
The room is small, but it is enough.
In the room we had a super large king size bed- very comfortable, TV with english channels, free WIFI, and glass walls shower.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uyaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
156 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Although the hotel was a bit hard to find (the taxi drivers didnt know about it, thankfully we had printed a map beforehand) and it is close to a very "Seedy" area (full of strip clubs etc), it is actually VERY GOOD!! Located at the middle floors of a skyscraper (with good restaurants in the same building too), within walking distance from Wan Chai Metro station (and if you are a bit of a walker, like us, within Causeway Bay too (less than 30 minutes)) and with staff that genuinely tries to help I think it was good to book here.

The only downside was that the air conditioning unit needed a bit of a cleanup (but that's to be expected at 2-stars).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpirosK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#158 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#127 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#138 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ Hotel

Property: JJ Hotel
Address: Lucky Centre, 165-171 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#84 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JJ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your JJ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jj Hotel Hong Kong
Jj Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing