We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual. Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tai O

Tai O
Book In Advance
More Info
$133.77*
and up
Coach Day Tour - Lantau Island Visiting and Giant Buddha Cable Car Tour Plus...
Ranked #35 of 812 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lovely little fishing village with many shops and seafood. Take a boat ride for lovely scenery or take a walk up the mountain to see the White Chinese Dolhins swim.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unusual. Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We did this trip along with the big Buddha. Really interesting. Especially the quirky market. You be surprised what is dried and up for sale! Like going back in time and the guide was local and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    492
    148
    38
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting Fishing Vilalge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is probably the quietest fishing village in HK as it is well away from city center. I recommend going to Tai O on the same day as visiting the Big Buddha. It is a short 20 min bus ride from Po Lin. There is a really good stall that sells HK style waffles that is right by the bridge. You'll see it as many people stand around and watch. As you walk away from the river, you'll see many rows of houses that made in pure aluminum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank leep116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
321 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Unusual fishing village .... on stilts....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are many fishing villages in HK and the outlying islands but this is probably unique in that the dwellings are built on stilts. Quite interesting to wander round for a while. You can take a bus from Tung Chung or Ngong Ping - there are bus interchanges at both. (Don't forget that buses need exact change so of travel is a lot easier if you "buy" an OnLoan Octopus card - a stored value card which can be used on buses, MTR, Star Ferry.... even to pay for goods at the conveninence store. at the end of your trip just return them to the MTR Customer Service booth and they will refund the HKD50 deposit and any remaining balance. They retain an admin fee of a few cents) Anyway back to the village..... if you want to do the tourist thing you can hop on a boat and see Chinese white dolphins .... don't forget your silver umbrella, walking around can get really hot....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our trip to Tai O, with our two young kids, was a highlight of our stay in HK! We caught Bus 21 from Ngong Ping to Tai O bus terminal (20 minutes). It cost about 6.50HKD. We were lucky with our timings and boarded a bus straight away, but I did notice that the bus seemed to go only hourly.

At Tai O there were a few tour guides at the bus stop offering boat tours to see pink dolphins. We paid 20HKD for adults and 10HKD for the kids. The boat tour was very exciting for the kids as we raced out to harbour. We saw quite a few dolphins playing. Back in Tai O the boat did a quick tour of the main canal with it's stilted houses.

Walking through Tai O village was amazing. There were dried fish hanging everywhere and live fish in tubs. The shop owners were friendly and happy for me to take photos, and chat with the kids.

We found a little restuarant for lunch in a back street. Very basic, and a real experience in itself. All restuarant prices in Tai O were on par with HK central, which was disappointing.

We eventually caught Bus 11 back to Tung Chung to catch the MTR (about 45 minutes).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
219 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Interesting views of fishing village on stilts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We caught the #21 bus from the Ngong Ping Village bus terminal to Tai O (~15 mins ride). Amazing to see that many ppl still live in floating boats or homes on stilts...wondered how they'd fare during a typhoon? Also saw the village is protected by a giant break wall.

Interesting to walk around the shops; smells of dried fish/seafood, lots of snack shops & restaurants to try seafood. There are lots of cats roaming around & the villagers encourage you to try their foods; very friendly, not pushy. When you get off the bus, there are hawkers offering $20hkd pp for a boat ride to see the Chinese pink dolphins. Whether or not they can guarantee a sighting is debatable, & the small boats peel out of the habor @ a fast speed & there are no lifevests. We decided to skip it; was weary of getting seasick.

Mind your time spent @ the village, as the last bus from Tai O returning to Ngong Ping village is around 4:45pm. If you miss it, the next bus is the next morning @ 7:45am or you can catch a taxi back to NP village.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tai O also viewed

 

Been to Tai O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing