We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint little place in a big city!”
Review of Royal View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal View Hotel
Ranked #106 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It worked perfect for me since the hotel situates exactly where I was visiting! The sea view for your room is a must and while the room may not be big in north American standard but it was entirely pleasant and comfortable! Prices fluctuate however I notice from week to week quite a bit!

Room Tip: The hotel shuttle is convenient but well used by guests so be on time. Taxi is more convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsangs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 966 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We (my boyfriend and myself) had a great stay at the hotel. I'ts very clean and pleasant with large and comfortable rooms! great view of the bay. also the staff was very nice and helpful. (they speak English)
Downside- you need to take the airport express to Tsing Yi station, and get a taxi from there- make sure the driver is familiar with the shorter root, or it would take forever and you'd pay extra.
the hotel is a bus drive away from the city, but the shuttle service is convenient.

overall,we enjoyed the hotel greatly :) we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thank goodness that we only stayed two nights! The staffs weren't polite and inexperience. They don't know how to handle guesses. Need much training indeed!
The location is not good at all - middle of nowhere! We tried to use the shuttle bus but have to waited for 40 minutes because too many people at first round. The hotel in such inconvenient location, they should provide more shuttle buses.
Will I stay again, no thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88sunny88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We apologized for any inconvenience caused. We will review and closely monitor our service standard. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

stayed here on my last night in Hong kong. The hotel is far is Tsuen wan, and still have to take a shuttle to and from the MTR station.

on check in, there were 2 people doing the check in and queued for for about 20mins to get seen. The staff are rude, un freiendly and both has a face of thunder. After checking in, we were told our rooms were not ready, dispite the time being around 5pm. I had to query why as check in time was 2pm. eventually after 20 mins we were given our room.

The room was quite nice. decent size, nice view of the sea and bathroom was ok and clean. We had a proble, with the shower where there wasnt no hot water. Called to reception and waiting for almost 40mis for someone to come up. Wehn they did come she asked if we turned the hot water switch on. I mean since when do u have to turn the hot water boiler switch on for a shower? and we were not told this at reception. i have stayed at loads of hotels, from cheap to very expensive, and this is the 1st. Yet they made me feel i was stupid or something.

The hotel itself is very nice, but decause of the staff i will not be staying here again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Del99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We apologized for any inconvenience caused. We will review and closely monitor our service standard. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I chose this hotel for a 2-night stopover prior to a long haul flight. I wanted somewhere not too far from the airport, as taxis are expensive in Hong Kong. The taxi ride to/from the airport cost 200 HK dollars, including fee for bags. The hotel appears not to have a shuttle bus service, only an expensive limousine. However, taxis are readily available outside the hotel.
The location proved satisfactory for my purpose but I would not recommend it if you want to visit the city. The hotel has a nice setting overlooking the harbour but it is rather isolated. It is a long way to the nearest MTR station.
The rooms are modern, quite luxurious and well equipped. My ‘superior’ room had a sitting area with TV and a kitchenette with microwave oven as well as kettle. Complementary tea, coffee and mineral water were provided.
I believe that wifi is available in the rooms but, for once, did not have my laptop so was unable to try that. I did not try the restaurant as it seemed rather expensive. Room service only seems to be available outside the opening hours of the restaurant.
The hotel is comfortable but I found the staff rather unfriendly, so did not feel particularly welcome. I had to queue for about 15 minutes at checkout.
Overall, I would probably not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hong Kong hotels are usually quite expensive, and we were booking a hotel at the last minute, just weeks away from our trip, so when we found this hotel for about $120CAD this was too good of a deal to pass up.

The hotel itself is very nice, clean, and spacious -- a large size suite by Hong Kong standards. There was enough space for them to put a lounge chair on one side of the bed. Other similar priced hotels right in the heart of the city would not offer the same space. There is a cute sink, a toilet, and a stand-up shower in the bathroom. No bathtub, which is very normal for this price point (If you want a bathtub in your hotel room, be prepared to pay a minimum of $170 to $200 a night).

The hotel is located in Tsuen Wan. There is a MTR station at Tsuen Wan and another MTR station at Tsuen Wan West, however, the hotel is abbout 7km away from the stations, so you must rely on the hotel's free shuttle (which comes every 30mins or every hour, depending on the time of the day). The shuttle ride is under ten minutes from the hotel to the station. To get back to the hotel, you could also take the free shuttle from the same drop off point, but you would have to wait around for the shuttle. Or, you could take a taxi ride from the MTR station to the hotel -- it was about $55HKD (equivalent to about $10CAD). Always take a Red Taxi in the city! We made a mistake of hailing a Green Taxi, apparently these taxis can only operate outside of the city or they must go on highways, so we got a major run around and had to pay $100HKD to get back to the hotel.

If you have lots of time in Hong Kong and do not mind taking some extra time to take the shuttle, then this hotel is great because of the amount of space it offers and the pretty view of the ocean and the Tsing Kau Bridge right from the room. But if you're pressed for time and have lots of things to see in HK then I'd suggest another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The rooms were fairly large and we stayed in a room that had a view of the bridges. We arrived at 12pm, but our room was not ready. They allowed us to check in our luggage while we went to Hong Kong Disneyland. Since we had come back later, we ate the hotel's dinner buffet. The food was lacking. I think the desserts were better than the actual main courses. We spent about $40 USD per person. It's overpriced and quality was not good. We should have selected the ala carte menu. Overall the stay was good minus the buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Panda Hotel
Panda Hotel
#123 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,703 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Address: No.353 Castle Peak Road, Ting Kau, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $82 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Hong Kong
Hotel Royal View
Royal View Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing