We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Royal View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal View Hotel
Ranked #111 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Guilin, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The room was cozy and clean, the restaurant was excellent (dinner buffet was great, breakfast was good but crowded). Good staff. There doesn't seem to be anything at all nearby, but you can take the hotel shuttle if you're willing to wait around for a few minutes. I liked the semi-isolating feeling.

I stayed here overnight in-between flights. I got here fairly easily from Shenzhen airport by bus, then taxi to hotel. Taxi to HK airport was a breeze.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    370
    154
    49
    40
See reviews for
256
211
70
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Actually it's a good hotel, with quite big rooms and small kitchen area. Not much choices during breakfast, but that was pretty much ok.
Unfortunately it's located far from anywhere. It's improperly far from main Tsuen Wan area and its MTR station. There's shuttle buses but quite limited schedule. Most of the time, to get there taxi was the only option. Well, everybody knows the notorious Hong Kong taxi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agentenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. My parents ( who were already senior citizens) enjoyed the spacious, clean and big rooms in the 11th floor, non smoking area. We had very sound sleep in the evening. Although, the location is far from the mainland, it is advisable for all the visitors in HK who would like to stay in this hotel to avail for package tours so that you won't have problems in visiting other places with much expenses since you will have your free transfers already. But then if you cannot avail for package tours, the free coach / shuttle bus from the hotel can bring you to the nearest MTR station in Tsuen Wan. From there, you can easily move around the city of Hongkong riding the train.
Overall, our stay in this hotel is very good except for one employee who's attitude is not appropriate as one of the front liners of the hotel. This man at around the age of late 40's or early 50's somehow disappoint me because he doesn't know how to handle good conversation to their clients. I hope the hotel managers will constantly remind their employees with the proper etiquette and good conduct among themselves since it entirely affects the company itself especially when evaluated.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 11th and 19th floors are non-smoking areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we must have spend a total of 2000 HKD in taxis so we can get to civilization. The front desk were either not helpful or unable to understand what we said.Nowhere to sit and have a drink or coffee in the lobby as is reserved for "Gold card members"????Nowhere to have a drink with a guest (or even by yourself) after 11.00 at night . Absolutely nothing to do around the hotel apart of looking at the view.The beach nearby looked lovely but with HUGE tankers passing 1 mile away it did not seem inviting!
I can find no earthly reason for anyone to want to stay there.99 % of the customers were large groups of Chinese tourist staying overnight on their way to somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you have to stay there(!) make sure you have a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pantelis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at Royal View Hotel because the hotels with big rooms in Kowloon are full. Rooms are big and comfortable, facing the beach. But the hotel was so far out of town! Not even near the mtr station at all. Even the taxi driver had problems finding the place.

There is a shuttle bus that goes to Mongkok everyday but the journey is about an hour -.- To get to the nearest Tsuen Wan neighbourhood, we still had to take the shuttle bus. There are no cafes or shops anywhere outside. It seems like the staff could not speak much english?

The only plus point of this hotel is that it's near Disneyland and airport. But who would need to stay near these places when most of the life is in Kowloon. Would not recommend it unless u want to be away from town for relaxation. I stayed in a hotel at Kowloon before and there was so much life at Mongkok even past midnight. At this hotel, u can only watch tv or sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvholiday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had an overnight stay at this hotel on a stopover in Hong Kong and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The airport hotels were simply too expensive for us, and this hotel was only a 20-30 minute cab ride away so was very convenient. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a 1-bedroom sea view apartment with a private balcony and it was lovely! Spacious and clean with modern facilities it had a great view over the water and we could see down to Kowloon too which was a surprise! We also had room service for dinner (the lamb chops) which was delicious and relatively inexpensive compared to other hotels. The staff arranged a taxi for early the next morning which arrived on time and overall we were very impressed with the quality and service for the price.

Room Tip: Our corner apartment was large and sunny with balcony and great views over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_22O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. (26-Apr-2012 to 30-Apr-2012)

Bad Housekeeping
Throughout our stay, the housekeeping did not fill the minibar.
Everyday after cleaning the room, they forget to refill one thing or another. We had to constantly call the front desk to ask for things
Bedsheets don't get tucked properly.
There was an extra bed in the room which we requested housekeeping to remove. It was taking up space in the room. They refused to do so. We had to live with that in the already crammed room.

The front desk is not always available. There were a few occasions where no one picked up.

When we checked in at the lobby, the bellboy simply feigned ignorance and did not offer help till request was made.

During checkout, the bellboy saw us with our luggage and looked away.

We deposited our luggage at the lobby after checkout. During which we requested for one of the fragile items to be handled with care. The staff rejected our request claiming that such requests would complicate their operations.

Location of the hotel is out of nowhere. Even though the hotel provides shuttle, frequency is only about 30 minutes. It took us about 1hr 30 minutes to civilisation each time. And we had to stress over shuttle schedules. Taxi fare from city centre, say causeway bay back is about 200HKD.

Albeit seaview from the room, this is totally NOT recommended. I'd rather pay a bit more for a more centralised hotel with better service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PiyoRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#167 of 718 in Hong Kong
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
410 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
673 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Property: Royal View Hotel
Address: No.353 Castle Peak Road, Ting Kau, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Hong Kong
Hotel Royal View
Royal View Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing