We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly located between the airport and the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Ranked #132 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Perfectly located between the airport and the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

A trip to Australia started with a night in Hongkong this time.
Arrival 0.05 am ex Singapore means with immigration and baggage collection that the last train for the "real" city centre is gone.
Therefore a location good to reach by one of the nightbusses seems necessary.
Nina fits to our expectations.
The nightbus N31 stops at Sha Tsui road, a 24 hours fast food location closeby and only some meters to walk for the hotel.
A high floor room was requested and it was sure ok to see the room prepared without a minute to wait at check-in. Level 68 with a marvellous view from above.
The room spacious and large, wooden floor, two separate beds what is good here with my son as companion on this trip.
A separate room to store cloths and bags is available.
The bathroom with a separate toilet, shower and also a bathtub, really large.
Free Wifi works well with a good connection.
It seems the hotel is booked mainly by asian guests, what is good to notice during breakfast.
Not that much western offers, but nevertheless everything what we need in the morning.
Also no time to wait during check-out.
And Tsuen Wan west train station for East Tsim Sha Tsui close to the city centre is only some more meters to walk.
Downsides?. A thousand of guests around in the morning and therefore some time to wait for the escalators. Also the signposts where to go is not as easy that you find your way on the first attempt. But anyway, a good place to stay in Hongkong for our special needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    896
    265
    68
    34
See reviews for
422
320
97
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at a huuuuuge executive room that was also a corner room, which provided a spectacular harbor and city view! It had a huge, clean bathroom, and the beds were really comfy! It was quite a surprise as we did not expect that room to be given to us. Each time we are on the opposite ends of the room we'd have to make our voices louder so we could hear each other!

The lack of concierge service in the lobby is something we did not mind at all because we preferred to be left alone. The important thing was that when we called to inquire about something or ordered room service, they responded really nicely. The room was also kept clean every day, with new towels, etc.

They did not have free internet connection inside the room, but we really did not mind this also because we were done with the tours, hence did not need to research anything online, and it also enabled us to relax and let go of the gadgets. Free wifi is available at the lobby when needed.

After a few days in TST, we chose to stay in L'hotel Nina to have a sort of rest from all the touring before our HK vacation is over. We also wanted to experience the other part of Hong Kong. The surprise was, even though the hotel was far from the busiest part of HK, the location has its own charm. The CityWalk mall allowed us to do some quiet shopping and there are really nice products there. Also, the building has a branch of Wellcome in it!

The other surprise was that you can take a bus to the airport without the need to transfer to another bus or ride the MTR. It was a huge relief with the luggage we were carrying. Nobody wants to be stressed out on their last day of vacation.

We plan to stay at this hotel again, definitely :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chamomile88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Definitely a great view of Hong Kong if you are able to reserve a relatively high floor. I did not get a chance, but the swimming pool looked really cool as it is outdoor, and one is able to get yet another lovely view of the city. I would say that the rooms were decent - nothing too special (the wooden floors could use a bit of cleaning), but the bathroom layout was really cool. The location is conveniently located near the MTR, but is not really within the vicinity of anything in particular.

Room Tip: Get a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at L'hotel Nina et Convention centre for 10 nights at the beginning of March 2013. Tsuen Wan is considered a bit out of the way if you want to visit Tsim Tsa Tsui, Mongkok etc, but MTR is quick and efficient, and taxis plentiful and cheap.
Booked a harbour view room in Tower 1 but was automatically upgraded to a harbour view room in Tower 2 (the newer and taller of the two towers- rooms rates more expensive as well). Price paid was excellent as we booked 2 months earlier. Check-in took a bit of time but check-out was quick. Check-out is at midday if you desire and concierge can hold your luggage until late. Note that you will need to carry the luggage to your room yourself. There did not appear to be any porter service. Fair enough, there are approximately 1600 rooms and around 80 something floors in this hotel. Can't expect to carrying heavy luggage all day for sooo many guests... No problems with at all with English communication. Standard room is quite large for HK standards. (There are even larger and more expensive types of rooms available at the hotel). The room is modernly furnished with magnificent day / night views of the Harbour (and Tsing Ma bridge) and Tsuen Wan park down below. Tsing Yi is just across the other side of the harbour. All the basics are provided: in-room safe, mini fridge, LCD TV with local and some International channels, tea/coffee bags/kettle, hair dryer and toiletries. Airconditioning is good. Noise suppression between rooms is fine but you can sometimes hear inconsiderate guests slamming the (admittedly heavy) doors and passing by in the corridors talking loudly late at night (but you get used to it). Beds and sheets are clean and comfortable. Bathroom is spacious and modern with separate bathtub and shower. One wall of the bathroom is entirely glass so you could overlook the harbour during a bath. There is a curtain for privacy if you wish. Some people have mentioned issues with bathroom privacy ("transparent shower curtains") but they appear to be talking about the junior suites where they have a different bathroom setup althogether. The cylindrical glass shower enclosure in this instance is a feature of the room and juts out into the room space. Of course the shower curtain will become opaque if wet and what makes matters worse is that the lighting above the shower appears bright. But in the standard room, no issue, as the shower is at the back of the bathroom, with full floor to ceiling frosted glass door. There is also a sliding door for the bathroom itself.
I did not get a chance to try one of the hotels restaurants as I preferred to eat in the local CityWalk shopping mall just next door (KFC, cafe De Coral etc). There are also local fresh food and produce market streets just downstairs with some small eateries nearby selling local food. As well, there is an adjoining Nina mall with some shops for eating (dim sim, hot dogs, yum cha). Hotel lobby is usually crowded with Mainland Chinese, as the hotel is quite popular with tour groups. One corner of the lobby is especially packed. This is probably where the wifi hotspot is. There is no wifi within the hotel rooms though. I may have come at a quiet time it seems, as during my stay I did not once need to fight my way into the lift at all (as mentioned by other reviewers). The lifts were often empty. One thing which is a little inconvenient is that for Tower 2, you need to travel to 41st floor first (the transfer floor). Then you catch another lift to your required floor. It's the same thing, going down. Fortunately, the lifts move very fast. Next door to the hotel is the lovely Tsuen Wan park with public
amenities, a kids playground, dog run, waterfall feature and pond, gardens,
exercise equipment for elderly persons etc. Park is open until late at night and very well lit and family friendly. You can go for a leisurely stroll on the harbourfront promenade if you want (the sunset views are excellent). Across the park is Tsuen Wan West MTR station. This is not the "main" MTR line as it forms part of the "West Rail" link that goes to Tuen Mun but you could change at the appropriate station to transfer back onto the main line. Alternatively, walk 15 minutes to the Tsuen Wan MTR station. This is one of the main lines if you want to go to places like Mongkok etc. Taxi rank is just outside the hotel and taxi to HK airport is quite cheap (approx $200HK including some large luggage). All in all, I'm quite satisfied with this hotel and should be back next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vti07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel is located in New Territory but is near MTR station, hence a trip to Kowloon or City is not too bad. The hotel joins to nearby shopping malls via walkway - very convenient for breakfast and buying necessities.

The hotel is a high-rise modern building which has fair sized rooms with excellent view. The hotel is clean, and we had no real issues with the hotel itself during our stay. The only issue we had is with some of the patrons who smoked inside the lift and in the lobby of non-smoking floors.

The concierge service was absent which did not bother us much as we had low expectations for such services, having come from Australia. However, compared to other hotels in Hong Kong, it was unusual to see no one at the hotel entrance, assisting with luggage, taxis, opening doors to hotel patrons.

Room Tip: Go for the room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel , I booked for a room with harbor view at tower 1. But instead , they upgraded me to something like a junior suite at tower 2. What I dislike is that the bathroom have no doors and curtains in the suite. The breakfast at the hotel is boring and almost the same everytime . It's pricy and I rather go to get some breakfast in the mall

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big-OO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for eight nights recently (February 2013) with two kids aged 6 and 2. We chose this hotel as it was reasonably priced and we could have a room with two queen beds without having to pay a lot extra (booked through agoda). We were a bit worried that the hotel would be too far out from attractions and city but knew it was close to a station for the MTR and though it may be nice with the kids to be out of the busy more central areas of Hong Kong island. We were really glad we chose this hotel and were not put off by reviews saying it is too far out, it was a perfect choice for us and we would gladly return or recommend it to others.

We stayed in a harbour view room on floor 36 in the smaller of two towers. We had a fantastic view of the water and kids enjoyed seeing the boats from the window. The room was clean and well equipped. There was a kettle and some free coffee and tea, kettle helped us as our two year old was still drinking formula. There was also a fridge so we bought milk, fruit and drinks to keep in there from nearby shops. There were two queen beds so plenty of room for family of four - we had requested this in advance by email and when we checked in they asked us if we wanted two queen beds or one king. Check in was quick and easy. The bathroom is a little odd in that there is a glass wall so you can see the basin and bath from bedroom so no privacy in the bath if this is important. The toilet and shower are in the bathroom but behind doors so you can use toilet and shower out of view of bedroom. There was a hair dryer provided. We had to ask for extra towels for the kids when we arrived but they were delivered quickly.

We had one issue with the room which was resolved but took about two hours and a few phone calls and this was only difficulty we had. Basically the wardrobe is on a runner and when I shut it it got jammed and came off the runner so there was no way to reopen it. We had put our shoes away in there and also just put our money away in the safe in there meaning we could not go out. The maintenance people came and fixed it after a few phone calls but we did find this quite frustrating as we were stuck in room but overall it did not affect our view of the hotel.

The hotel is huge and so very busy. This was only a problem occasionally on an evening if we went out for food or popped to get drinks from shops and when we came back the lobby was full of literally hundreds of people so there were huge queues for the lifts. We did find we needed to be much more assertive than we usually are and be prepared to not be pushed out of the way as people would shove past us and the kids and climb over our stroller to get into the lift first. This was only a few times on an evening and rest of time we used lifts fine. We also found some of the other guests to be quite rude in terms of not moving to let us out of the lift or pushing in queues. Because the hotel is so big, we did not feel we interacted at all with the staff unless we called them because we had an issue and then they did respond, but it felt very much as though we were just left to get on with the holiday and there were no personal touches. This suited us fine but if you are used to staying in smaller places with more personal or homely touch this hotel is definitely not for you.

We liked the location, there is a park with two play areas just outside the door, lovely for kids and felt very safe even on an evening with plenty of families still out and about. The hotel itself looks great on an evening as it is all lit up with patterns on the towers and the kids enjoyed watching this. The waterfront is just by the park and pleasant to walk past. The MTR Tsuen Wan West is just by the hotel through the park about five minutes walk and from there on that line you can get to East Tsim Sha Tsui in about fifteen minutes. From there you can easily walk to avenue of stars, tsim sha tsui and the star ferry terminal to go over to hong kong island. We did change a few times to get to other places and this takes much longer as there is a walk within the interchange station but still quite easy to do. There is another station Tsuen Wan about a twenty minute walk from hotel but this line goes through more stations and we thought it took longer although it saves you needing to change lines.

The area outside the hotel felt very safe and we felt that we saw more of an authentic Chinese town here than in the main areas of Hong Kong. There was a wet market, lots of malls, small restaurants and traditional Chinese shops selling medicines which we found interesting to walk around on an night. The hotel itself is connected to two malls, there is a Starbucks, seven eleven and plenty of shops to look around. There is a food court and also more expensive restaurants. We had been worried that we would need to eat before we returned to the hotel on a night but actually found it much easier to find somewhere that had space for us around the hotel rather than in the busier areas of central and tsim sha tsui. There is a Chinese restaurant in hotel but we didn't try that. There is also a lovely pool area with sun beds, fish ponds and both outdoor and indoor pool. It was closed when we were there as was winter but we had a look around and would be lovely when it outdoor pool is open.

We took trips to disney and to see the big Buddha on Lantau island, hotel is quite close to these and very easy to use MTR to get there. We got octopus cards when we arrived which are a must and very easy to use and reload. We also went to ocean park, again easy to get to and a great day out. We thought the transport orotund Hong Kong was easy to use and quick to get or around, also not as difficult using a stroller as we had expected though some places were very busy. One day we took MTR and did the Ping Shan Heritage Trail which was a different experience and really worthwhile, it is a walk through an area with lots of Traditional buildings and temples that ends at a museum. We also visited the Sam Tung Uk museum in Tsuen Wan cloe to the hotel which shows what a walled village looked like and was quite interesting. Both of these museums were free. We didn't visit any larger museums as didn't have time but there where lots of other museums to visit if on a longer trip. We would also recommend a trip to see nan lian gardens and chi Lin nunnery, as well as the nearby Wong sai tin temple. The kids also really enjoyed taking a ride up the mid levels escalators and also the peak tram. One day when we were walking close to top of mid levels escalators we came cross the hong kong park and zoological gardens which we had not intended to visit but really glad we found it as there was a great little zoo and we even saw baby orangutans there. Again this was free, and a nice place to relax after exploring the city.

Overall we had a great stay at l'hotel nina and would return. We were not put off at all by the location and now that I have been I would see the location as an advantage rather than disadvantage as it means you get to see another side of Hong Kong and also to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city when you want to. It was about a twenty minute taxi ride from airport.

If anyone has any questions please feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Get harbour view room, worth extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank angela29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#170 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#107 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#33 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre

Property: L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Address: No.8 Yeung Uk Road, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#104 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 1608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre is Hong Kong's largest hotel in many respects. A modernist's dream strategically located 25 minutes each way to all of Hong Kong's major commercial and entertainment districts, it is the flagship hotel of L'hotel Group and the most affordable luxury hotel the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Nina Et Hong Kong
L'Hotel Nina Et Convention Centre Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing