We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Ranked #133 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice rooms, with beautiful views of the harbour. Food is expensive, you can rather go out and eat for half the price. Ask for rooms from the 70th floor and upwards. Service is good, very close to the MTR station. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekhadheeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Travelled with my family: us (couple), wheelchair-bound mom, a colleague, 2 kids and a help. We reserved for 2 standard rooms with a request for one disabled-friendly room. When we arrived, we were moved to one large executive suite at the 87th floor. I don't know the reason, maybe perhaps we were with my wheelchair-bound mom and needed a large space and large toilet for her, but I'm not complaining. In fact, super happy with this. So, this review is NOT for the standard room but will focus more on what room we stayed.

PLUS (+) points:
- Excellent location - Hotel is a 7-minute leisurely walk to Tsuen Wan West station; Also sandwiched by malls around; It is right in front of a community market where you can easily go around and buy affordable food; lots of affordable eats and shops near the market; it is also near Disney Land.
- Disabled-friendly - Upgraded us to a nice large executive suite with big space for wheelchair to navigate and a large beautiful toilet.
- Child-friendly - Large elegant lobby for kids to run around; large play-friendly executive suite
- English-speaking concierge and frontdesk personnel (not many in HK who speak good intelligible English)
- Honest staff - We accidentally forgot to lock the safe with our extra money and passports there; nothing happened
- Internet computers - A couple of internet computers for free use (for FB and email updates)

MINUS (-) points:
- Super slow wifi in the lobby. It would have been great if the lobby would have fast wifi internet for tweets and fb updates.

RESTAURANT TIP:

Travel is about 'going global while eating local.' Just cross the main street and walk along the small streets near the market. There you can find affordable authentic Chinese cuisine. Waitresses do try to speak English and an English menu is available. There are also shops where you can buy take-out food and you can conveniently eat at your hotel -- we bought an assortment of peking duck, roasted pig, fried rice, drinks and went back to the hotel with a big smile.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the harbor for a great view in the morning.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chimp_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is very big. Good view as we were on the 79th floor. Carried your luggages on your own. No helpful staff. If I stay in this hotel again because of the location only. No power point for hair dryer and kettle. The shower leaks. The room is reasonable big by hong kong standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great views if you have a room facing the harbour from the 70th-77th floor.

Nothing else about this hotel is impressive. This is the only tall building in the area and dominates the district. The land was owned by a lady, the weathiest lady in HK at the time.

The rooms are very average and mine was rather pokey and small.

Breakfast is poor. The airconditioning is noisy, the bath is poorly designed and it is too easy to spill the water over the edge.

Poor information is provided by the hotel about itself. I never found the gym, and not sure even now if there is one.

The hotel is absolutely full of mainland coach parties and tourists.

I stayed there because it was the cheapest reasonable hotel I could find. The best thing about it is that its only a five minute walk from a metro station (and only about 40 minutes to get to the airport). But to get to central HK it will take at least 45 minutes.

Clearly they are catering for mass tourism, so if you are a business traveller, unless like me you are on a tight budget, I would avoid it.

Room Tip: Harbour view from top floors.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Been to HKG several times, but it's the first time we stayed in the city's New Territories area (mistakenly thought it's in Hong Kong island). It's the residential area of city, so there's not much to do around the hotel, but the nearby market is a GEM! Breakfast was not part of our hotel package (as far as we could tell, there weren't any familiar fast food joints near the hotel), but it's so darned easy to get grub... just follow the locals! They're everywhere, even at 6.30am, walking to a very precise food destination. The best place to be is still the market area; it helps if you can read Chinese, but sign language and pictures go a long, long, way to get you to Seventh Food Heaven.

Service is pretty fast, whenever you call for help. L'hotel Nina is pretty big, and there were many guests (I'm presuming they were part of the ongoing International Sumo Convention happening then). First night in: our party of 6 got 2 rooms on the 56th floor. To get there, we had to first get on one set of elevators, get off on the 41st and transfer to a 2nd set of lifts. By the time we got to the 41st floor, 2 of the 3 lifts were busted and we were with another bunch of guests from Mongolia, Sumo conventionists, and we couldn't all fit in the one working lift. Thirty minutes later, we finally made it to our rooms. Good thing that first experience was not a harbinger for the rest of our stay; one call to let the reception area know about the busted lifts, and the staff were on it. It did not take more than 5 minutes for someone to knock on our door when we asked for an extra towel or for a replacement of a faulty TV remote control.

Other TA reviewers here had it right: the double beds are good for at least 2 people (beds are ginormous) - a major plus in our book. The bathrooms we got had glass walls for the shower (which was pretty neat, as we've never been to such a modernized bathroom) and had a separate toilet. Couldn't help but wish they installed clothes hooks, though.

The window view from our 56/F room was amazing; we felt like we were on top of the world. The room was very spacious; I think 4 people who respect each other's spaces can actually live in harmony for a few days inside a L'hotel Nina et Conference room. Would I stay here again? Weh. Not really, as it's pretty far away from anything interesting to tourists with money to burn and we had an average of about 4 MTR stops every time we traversed back to the hotel, wherever we were. While there are a couple of malls nearby (one is even connected to the hotel), it's still much better to shop in Tung Chung or Kowloon. It was pretty nice, however, to see a people park and a dog park nearby.

Room Tip: Request for a room on a higher floor. Beds are pretty big - "single" beds are really fit 2...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I heard and read reviews of this hotel before I went to Hongkong. So I had high expectations of the hotel. Well, almost everything was up to my expectations. The hotel was very impressive, saw the towers even before we got into Tsuen Wan! Although the lobby was crowded, we were attended to quite quickly and we got to our rooms in no time. Our room was spacious by Hongkong standard. The only thing we didn't like about our room was the lighting - too dim even with all the lights on. Strangely, the bathroom was bright! Another negative point is there's no wifi in the room. Wifi is available in the lobby but it doesn't work in some areas of the lobby. A tip here for wifi - go to the corner opposite the lifts where there's a table - worked for me during my stay there. There are computers that are for hotel guests to use for free in the lobby too.
The location was just great - shopping malls and restaurants were within walking distance. The marketplace is just across the street, so it was interesting to see the locals buying their food. This was my second time staying in Tsuen Wan and I like this part better than the popular Mongkok or Tsimshatsui. I'll definitely return to this hotel when I'm in Hongkong again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem smaller because of the space and the decor, so if you want a more standard room...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was there with the Probus Club of Orillia in October 2012. Our room was amazing. A rocket elevator took us to the 41st floor where we changed elevators for the 52nd floor. There is an Olympic sized INFINITY pool on the 9th floor I think, and so is the restaurant, where was a fine breakfast buffet. Floor to ceiling windows in our room, a little scary as the bath tub and shower are right on the edge. TV in bath room and bedroom with good selection of channels.Comfy bed.

Room Tip: Get a corner room overlooking the Metro station. Plumbing was excellent functional and W.C was weste...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Bystander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#105 of 721 in Hong Kong
932 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Tsuen Wan
Panda Hotel
Panda Hotel
#127 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#159 of 721 in Hong Kong
269 reviews
L'hotel Island South
#113 of 721 in Hong Kong
647 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#83 of 721 in Hong Kong
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre

Address: No.8 Yeung Uk Road, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#109 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $90 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 1608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre is Hong Kong's largest hotel in many respects. A modernist's dream strategically located 25 minutes each way to all of Hong Kong's major commercial and entertainment districts, it is the flagship hotel of L'hotel Group and the most affordable luxury hotel the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Nina Et Hong Kong
L'Hotel Nina Et Convention Centre Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing