We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent brand new boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Ranked #20 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An excellent brand new boutique hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

A real gem located in Central. Only opened in June. Really well designed and appointed and really helpful staff. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to people who are looking for quality, service and convenient location

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OrientalKyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pottinger H K, General Manager at The Pottinger Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear OrientalKyoko,

Thanks for staying with us and your valuable feedback. We would extend our warmest welcome to your next stay with us again.

Best Regards,

Gina Tam
Hotel Manager
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    101
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
90
23
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This charming hotel is in great, convenient location in Hong Kong. The staff is courteous and efficient. So, for instance, although the boutique nature of the hotel doesn't afford space for a gym, the staff were great about providing me with free passes to a gym around the corner. Breakfast is ample and fresh with a nice selection of coffees and teas.

The only problem we experienced was that our room was a few floors up from the bar/nightclub. When we told the front desk about the noise, they were prompt about moving us to a higher floor on a different side of the building.

Room Tip: see above about nightclub noise. I think a room ending in "01" will be away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pottinger H K, General Manager at The Pottinger Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Russ C,

Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention. I would like to apologize for the noise issue during your stay with us. Upon reading your review, I believe my team has been in contact with you immediately to arrange room change and I hope this issue has been handled to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Gina Tam
Hotel Manager
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed there this week and enjoyed this hotel thoroughly. It is located centrally and within walking distance of Central Station, IFC Shopping centre as well as a lot of places to eat out. Also, it is close to SOHO where most of the westerners and locals would go out for a dinner or drink. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. I was upgraded with my reservation and also had free internet as well as breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pop_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pottinger H K, General Manager at The Pottinger Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear pop_ma,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review and recommendation. It is fabulous to know you enjoyed your stay with us, please stay in touch and we can’t wait to see you again at The Pottinger Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Gina Tam
Hotel Manager
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The only regret I have writing this review is that by giving it its just dues I am going to help everyone discover what I would love to keep as my secret this quaint wonderful little restaurant that captures all that is good about Hong Kong's colonial chic while dripping in modernity at the same time. Great rooms for the size and space, wonderful staff cozy breakfast bar and absolutely unbeatable location. I would rather stay here that most five star hotels in Hong Kong. Price was perfect too hope that does not change! Only downside (and yes this was temporary but really bad) was the pounding of the construction next door which ruined a near perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmanWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pottinger H K, General Manager at The Pottinger Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear AmanWhoTravels,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Fabulous to know you enjoy your stay and describing our hotel as “One of the Best Boutique Hotels in Asia”. We will continue to maintain high quality of service and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Gina Tam
Hotel Manager
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

First off you cannot beat the location! It is only a block from Central station which literally makes public transportation the easiest ever. Secondly, the staff was amazing, greeting us each moment and helping with everything from dinner reservations to taking our luggage in insane heat to a walkway to send us on our way back to the airport.
You'll hear many reviews focusing on the breakfast, it was a continental breakfast but the pastries were fresh and the juice from watermelon to OJ was a hit each day. Again service was incredible and I urge everyone to try the bar for a nightcap, drinks were creative and tasty on par with any New York speakeasy!!! Overall, we loved it and would definitely recommend it, my girlfriend put it best when she said that she couldn't remember a hotel that she looked forward to returning to so much and the location allowed us to frequent our cozy room often!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregg Vance E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pottinger H K, General Manager at The Pottinger Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Gregg Vance E,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience following your stay at The Pottinger Hong Kong! We are happy to know you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and thanks for your compliments made to our staffs. Definitely looking forward to your return to our hotel.

Regards,

Gina Tam
Hotel Manager
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Pros:
1. Good Neat Hotel.
2. Good Room Service
3. Polite & Courteous Staff
4. Freshness of a new hotel.
5. Very modern
6. Gave us a complimentary shuttle lift to Macau Ferry Pier Terminal
7. Quality Cutlery / Crockery used in hotel. Much better than many 5-Star hotels.
8. Very central if someone likes to stay in city hustle bustle. Close to shopping, LKF, Pier, IFC Mall, etc.

Cons:
1. Hotel took pre-authorization for 4 nights due to their own confusion which created unnecessary hassle for me. First they held 2 night amount on my card then cancelled 1 night amount by sending message to bank. Problem was that bank actually releases hold and money is available in the bank account after 7 business days. 7 business days is a long time especially when someone is holidaying with a specific budget. So the held amount makes budgeting uneasy. Anyway, all was sorted out eventually but there were hassles.
2. Hotel rates itself as 5-Star. It is a good neat boutique hotel but it lacks 5-Star necessities like a Pool or Gym!
3. Bad views as it is located in centre of HK Central.
4. Bad complimentary breakfast. Was better not to have such a complimentary thing.
5. Hotel's Access is not in its favour. We thought it would have a driveway atleast so we could easily get off the taxi and remove our many bags. Hotel should mention that its entrance is actually from rear side which is a tiny one way lane.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gandharv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pottinger H K, General Manager at The Pottinger Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Gandharv B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It is so encouraging to read of your positive comments and I am particularly happy that you appreciated with the service we delivered.

Upon reading your comments regarding the pre-authorization process of your credit card, I have passed it to our Front Office Manager without further delay and we will take preventative measures, in training the staff and to prevent such an occurrence from happening again.

Furthermore, we are glad to offer the gym facilities in cooperation with well-known local fitness center (California Fitness) and it’s just within 5 minutes walking distance from our hotel which offer spacious and modern facilities such as sauna and steam room, changing room and well equipped gym there for your unlimited and complimentary use. We will be happy to provide you more detailed information if needed.

Please allow me to thank you once again for your valuable comments and we wish to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Gina Tam
Hotel Manager
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

After spending 25 years travelling extensively throughout the world and staying in many different hotels I don't think I have ever experienced such a poor breakfast option. The hotel is located in the busy Soho area of Hong Kong the rooms are clean comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful which you would expect for a 5 star hotel but come on please would it cost so much to include some cheese,ham or eggs in the continenetal breakfast or even an asian option.
During our stay July 2014 there was alot of building work going on around the hotel which made it uncomfortable after travelling from the UK 15 hours and not being able to sleep until the evening time. The following weekend I also had to book 3 nights in a hotel sorry Pottinger the over priced wine list in the bar and vey poor breakfast means we won't be staying with you again.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pottinger H K, General Manager at The Pottinger Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Paul782,

Thanks for your comments . I am sorry to read of your disappointing experience at our hotel and apologize for not meeting your expectations in certain areas. For your information, the light continental breakfast is a temporary arrangement to the guests and offer on a complimentary basis until the hotel restaurant – Gradini is opened. Please allow me to thank you once again for your valuable comments and we shall make improvements where needed accordingly.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Regards,

Gina Tam
Hotel Manager
The Pottinger Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 717 in Hong Kong
802 reviews
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,104 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pottinger Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pottinger Hong Kong

Property: The Pottinger Hong Kong
Address: No.74 Queen's Road Central (Main Entrance: No.21 Stanley Street, Central) | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pottinger Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pottinger Hong Kong, winner of Asia's Best City Boutique Hotel Award 2014, is conveniently situated on the city's first historic cobbled street in Central, within walking distance of Central MTR Station, Airport Express and Lan Kwai Fong. The central business district location offers direct access to commerce, shopping and dining options. The hotel offers 68 exquisite guestrooms, including 'Pottinger Suite' and 6 cosy suites named after the streets in the neighbourhood. Rooms range from 23 to 68 square metres and provide free WIFI, home entertainment, Nespresso Coffee Machine and more. Guests enjoy East-meets-West hospitality in a vibrant neighbourhood that embraces the sheer charm of old Hong Kong with a modern luxury twist. The Pottinger Hong Kong is where modernity meets heritage. Completing the experience is to pamper yourself with visually-stunning cocktails at The Envoy, up French-Japanese specialties at Ta Vie, artisanal gelato and chocolates at Venchi, or classic Italian cuisine in the freshest ingredients at Gradini Ristorante E Bar Italiano. (Hotel Main Entrance: 21 Stanley Street, Central) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pottinger Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pottinger Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing