We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Ranked #232 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

No one told us about the construction. Drilling commences at 7am so loud that it rattled some items of the bed stand. The hotel allows smoking everywhere and I smells terrible. Also, you must leave a deposit. No one tells you that you have to bring a receipt for the deposit back in order to get your deposit when you check out. This happened to us, and then they argued with us about how they told us. Seriously, stay away from here. Smelly, loud, and scammy. The location is good but that's about it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel completely misrepresents itself. The hardwood floors are not hardwood, but ceramic tiles, which give the room the acoustics of a high school shower room. My non smoking room smelled like a bar. There was an ashtray in front of the non smoking sign on the night stand. The air conditioner was really only a fan. The room was next to what sounded like a beached whale, but turned out to be the noisy elevator motors, which rumbled every time someone took the elevator. The pillows where no thicker than a seat cushion on a cheap restaurant chair. There is no lift from the street, and no porter, so I had to carry 5 large suit cases up 2 flights of stairs. No one made any attempt to help. The "Family Room" is not large enough for 3 people. When I did complain, the staff at the front desk disappeared. I would not even recommend this hotel to a backpacker. "Hostels are less hostel." I have traveled the world for over 30 years now, and this is the only time I have been moved to write a review about a hotel good or bad. This hotel is only for people without any expectations whatsoever. I moved to another hotel the next day.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank NotSoCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

the front desk staff wasn't smiling the whole time, but thats not the worst part. when I ask him whether they can give a hand with the luggage to ground floor when i check out (there are many stairs between ground floor and level 1 and the lift doesn't get to the ground floor), asked twice, the front desk staff said loud and clear: NO I DO NOT HELP. i was absolutely shocked. ... never ever ever seem such unhelpful hotel staff.
OH and also, i can hear everything happening next door. Including gentle coughing....

Room Tip: the front desk staff wasn't smiling the whole time, but thats not the worst part. when I ask him...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days in march. Very basic hotel, no bar, small rooms but very clean, friendly staff and ideal for staying whilst at the rugby sevens. Free wifi!! Everything you need is right outside the hotel, food, drink and the metro so excellent location and will be staying there again next march!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisonpauljake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The 2 most important things in choosing a hotel: free wifi and a location that is near the subway. Yes, the lobby is on the 2nd floor so if you have a lot of luggage, that might be a problem as the stairway is rather narrow too. The rooms are clean and modern-ish, but the beds are rock hard and the pillow is paper thin. Still, for the location, the price is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jassym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Following the end of a business trip, I moved out of the Sheraton Hotel and moved into the Sunny day hotel for an extended holiday in Hong Kong with my boyfriend. The location from the sheraton is about 15 minutes by foot.

The Sunny day hotel is located above the ground floor of some shops- this means you need to be prepared to carry your luggages one flight up to the reception area. The staff will not offer to assist you.

The reception area is decent but very basic. Our reservation was secured via booking.com. Check in was efficient and fuss free. There are two elevators which take you up to different floors.

Our room tip for avoiding to sleep through traffic sounds is to request for a room on a higher floor. We were assigned a room on the 8th floor which wasnt too bad but could be quieter.

Our room was very basic. If you're used to living in above average hotels- you may get a bit of a culture shock. Its basic but clean and it was fine for us. Hotels are very expensive in hong kong and space is scarce so we weren't expecting much and hence were pleasantly surprised.

We had all the basic amenities- hot water kettle, hair dryer, toiletries, towels, slippers, bathrobe, and two bottles of mineral watter. We were however disappointed with the customer service when we asked for additional bottles of mineral water - our request was denied as there was a specific quota of two bottles a day for each room. Having exhausted the quota, they expect you to boil tap water for consumption, which was ridiculous. Our towels were changed every day and when toilet paper ran low, a new roll was placed in the bathroom for us.

Our room rate did not include meals, but that was fine as we were happy to eat out. Food in hong kong is easy to find and is relatively reasonably priced. The hotel is well located near all the famous eateries and near shopping areas.

The bed was quite hard but we liked it. We were only supplied with one pillow each and it was quite flat but we used the cushion to prop up the pillow so that it was higher. We were not given a double bed- we had two single beds which we joined together. One bed had the air conditioning facing directly towards it which can be uncomfortable.

My favourite part of the hotel was the space we had in the bathroom. The sink was quite small but the toilet and the shower were separated. The shower space was decent and we were able to take nice long showers. Other hotels we looked at online had very cramped bathrooms. Our room could fit two large suitcases and additional travel canvas hand luggages comfortably. We also purchased shoes and had a myriad of shopping bags but in spite of this, we still had walking space.

The traffic sounds can be quite annoying but this was a walking holiday for us and most of the time we only used the room for storage, showering and sleeping so it didn't bother us much. Families with young children may find this place discomforting. Because the room is not carpeted, the sounds do travel.. We could hear noises from the corridors, doors being opened and closed, etc.

The lift does rattle a bit but there's a sign certifying its safe status and we encountered no safety issues during our stay.

Overall, it wasn't fantastic but it checked all the boxes for us. If you're single or a young couple and on a budget (and you're not too fussed or don't foresee yourselves spending a lot of time indoors), this is a hotel that has great value for money. We wouldn't recommend it for married people with children though!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnowmanSnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We paid about £65 for the night through booking.com. The room was a double without a windown. It wad very clean, air con was great and it was a great base. The location on Nathan road in Kowloon was fantastic. Ten minute water from the harbour front and the laser show (each night at 8pm), best of all, across the road from Kowloon park which has a great outdoor swimming pool complex (5 min walk). Swimming costs 19hkd - 5hkd for returnable locker deposit. Three swooning sessions a day- can't remember exact times- google Kowloon park swimming times. Enjoy. P.S. The train to Kowloon is excellent 140hkd fir two people with lots of free shuttle buses there and back from the station. Beware when catching the shuttle bus back from the drop of on Austin road (next to Jordan station) because it goes all the way to the other end of Kowloon before returning to the station- allow time- we nearly missed the plane though staying at the pool too long.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dwolfliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#159 of 723 in Hong Kong
441 reviews
Mong Kok
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
#287 of 723 in Hong Kong
121 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#79 of 723 in Hong Kong
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#136 of 723 in Hong Kong
150 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#263 of 723 in Hong Kong
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)

Address: No.182 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $88 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui) 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing