We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silka Far East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silka Far East Hotel
Ranked #199 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Durban
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed the Silka Hotel in Tsuen Wan and even before I departed to my trip the service was outstanding. All queries regarding payment and special request and transfer where organised and arranged for before I arrived. A day or two before I arrived they even sent weather information for the week. All the staff were pleasant and helpful especially Ordo and Kris. The guest services were fantastic like the free shuttle services to selected locations. Also, I was able to purchase certain ticket from the front desk.

In previous reviews people mentioned that the rooms were small, it was small but also sufficient and functional. Most rooms in Hong Kong are small unless you go to a 5 star hotel. Also, the price is definitely good value for money.

All amenities are close by including a bakery, mall, Seven Eleven, Spa, MTR, Restaurants etc.

But on customer service alone, I would rate Silka Hotel as a five star and recommend it to all. I was travelling alone as it workout perfectly for me. I will definitely stay there on my next trip.

Thank you to the Silka Team regards S Govender

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGovender108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fion W, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear S Govender

Thank you for your posivitve comments and we delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay at Silka Far East, Hong Kong with conveient location and pleasant accommodation service. We look forward to your return visit!

Best regards

Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    207
    171
    46
    22
See reviews for
124
91
59
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for our December Holidays with my Hubby. My hubby reserve a non-smoking room using Booking.com. when we are at the hotel doing the reservation, the reception guy name Tom said that there is no non-smoking room available and he wanted to put us to a smoking room. My hubby spent at the reception for quite some time, because im so tired i went there to check him. Just to find out about there is no non-smoking room. I told to the reception guy that we booked it earlier enough and also specially indicated that we want a non smoking room.if there no room available they must inform their customers a head of time for the changes.well apparently because im annoyed, Tom was able to fix it and give us the room we requested.the hotel is good and accessible when it comes to transportation and restaurants.the only hassle is the the NOISE!!! you can hear that someone is snoring on the other room and also along the hall way you can hear the people talking and speaking so loud!!!!well a little too hard to find because the location is a bit not noticeable and another thing not everyone can speak english. so when you book to this hotel make sure that you have time to look for it and also make sure that you have patience because in the morning they dont have breakfast, butr there is a bake shop nearby so you can eat there.

Room Tip: Be patience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biaaattcccchhhh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fion W, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Blaaattcccchhhh B

Thank you for your comments and we do apologies for any inconvenience caused that the noise levels may be higher when the hotel has a higher occupancy. On a different note, we are glad to learn that you are satisfied with our convenient location and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip.

Best regards

Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked both deluxe and standard rooms, stayed for 4nights. All the rooms are clean but very small, especially the standard room (hardly enough space to open 2 luggage). Facility wise I don't remember them having a pool, gym or a bathtub. There's free wifi though. Toiletries, hair dryer and kettle are provided. 24 hours reception. Small and clean lobby. We did not try the breakfast.

The hotel is located 5-8minutes walk to the Tsuen Wan MTR train station via the overhead bridges. It's about 30minutes train ride to Disneyland or Tsim Sha Tsui. But Ocean Park is about 1 to 1.5 hours via train and bus or 30mins via taxi (costs perhaps 250hkd). To the airport is about 20minutes via taxi. There's a small shopping mall located just beside the hotel with a 24 hours 7-11 convenience store, and a few malls along the way to the train station.

The staff speaks basic English but are easily overwhelmed if too many customers are at the reception counter. Though they were nice to allow us to put our friend's surprise birthday cake in their kitchen fridge as the room fridge was too small.

All in all it's nothing fancy or shabby but just a nice family friendly place to rest and conveniently located close to the train station.

Room Tip: If you want space to open more than 1 luggage and to be able to walk freely, take the deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolCaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fion W, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Carol Caramel

Thank you for your stay in the Silka Far East, Hong Kong and your detailed feedback about our hotel. We delighted to hear that you satisfy our convenient location and our pleasant service during your stay. Hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best regards

Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My first in this hotel for 9 days, by myself. Location looks a bit far from HK island or Kowloon, but the MTR makes it so convinence . Got a outside room on the 9 floor w/ windows. Air-con works well. Fridge , flat screen TV / with CNN and many others. Instant coffee, tea ,kettle and full toilet amenity. Slippers provided everyday. A few shopping malls within 15 min. walking distance . All kinds of restaurants surrounded the hotels. One way shuttle service to Kowloon most busy shopping district ( Monk Kok) & airport MTR subway. Very friendly staffs as I also speak Chinese, most staff speak English. Housekeeping so friendly that makes me tips them twice.
Yes, the room is small, but you're in HK. Location, cleanliness , value is all about in travel.
Great. I' ll be back.

Room Tip: Higher floor, window units
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fion W, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guy23

Thank you for taking your time to write this nice review about our Silka Far East, Hong Kong. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our hearty and friendly customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards

Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here from 12/12/2013 - 12/17/2013. The rooms are very small, but good for the price you pay, considering this is Hong Kong. Customer service is excellent, and the breakfast buffet was good. Even though complimentary water bottles are not provided, there is a 7-Eleven right next to the hotel where you can buy it. There is also a nice mall right next to the hotel (across the 7-Eleven) called Citystore, which has many shops and restaurants. The hotel is very close to the Tsuen Wan MTR station, probably a 5-7 minute walk at most. There is also a bus stop on the same street as the hotel.

The walls are not thick enough, as you can hear sounds from other rooms at times, and the curtains do not completely cover the windows, so if you want a pitch-black room to sleep in, bring a sleep mask. Despite this, I was able to sleep fine.

I was surprised there was a complimentary shuttle to the airport every day, the last shuttle arriving at 12:30 PM. I was originally going to depart going through the MTR, which would have taken me around 45 minutes, but the with the complimentary shuttle, it took me only 15 minutes to get to the airport.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for something within budget. It is in an excellent location and the services provided make up for the small rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrhernandez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fion W, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Miami

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us as our convenient location and excelllent service. Appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon. Thanks!

Best Regards

Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed from 13 - 16 december 2013. 10 minutes walk from tsuen wan mtr. there is a mall near the mtr, which was good. supermarket, sushi shop were nearby too. We got lost on our way to the hotel but eventually reached the hotel. but after that, we managed to reach our hotel on time everytime. Service was average, one of the staff opened the door for us. Gave 300hkd deposit and managed to check in within 10 mins.

Got the 7th floor. Room size as mentioned by other travelers, is as expected, quite small. The hotel really made use of every possible corners of the hotel. What was lacking will be complimentary water, which other hotels i have been to, do provide. Clean bedsheets, towels, safe, fridge, water heater, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc were provided.

The walls/door were not that sound proof as we could hear footsteps and other people from other rooms banging their doors and so on. But pretty satisfied as when we got back on 13th dec night and 14th dec night, our rooms were tidied up by housekeepers. nice gesture. breakfast was okay. not halal. tables were cleaned promptly. and the only lady there smiled at us, including the big guy. the housekeepers smiled at us too. the housekeeper offered to clean our room on 15 december, which we politely declined as we are leaving the next day, on 16th. she offered twice, which i believe was very nice of her. cleanliness was excellent.

The hotel provide shuttle bus to tsing yi (airport express mtr) and mongkok mtr (ladies market, etc) at 4 timings, 930, 1030, 1130 and 1230, if i am not wrong.

You can book disneyland and oceanpark tickets at the counter.

it was drizzling on both saturday evening and the whole day of sunday... many convenience stores around, like k-circle and 7-evelen. citistore outlets nearby too, including this souvenir shop which sell local snacks too.

Upon checkout, got back our 300hkd deposit with the receipt.

Room Tip: ask for higher level rooms perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naihpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fion W, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Naihpos

Thank you for staying with Silka Far East, Hong Kong. We appreciate all your positive comments and delighted that you enjoy your stay with our convenient location and attentive accommodation service. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards,

Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed there three times last month in three different types of rooms. Yes, the rooms are small but customer services were excellent! Location beats the other hotel as well! Will definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fion W, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Jordan

Thank you for supporting Silka Far East, Hong Kong again and again. We are glad to hear that you have a fantastic accommodation experience with us, we look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#185 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#180 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#170 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Panda Hotel
Panda Hotel
#137 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Silka Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#192 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Far East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Far East Hotel

Property: Silka Far East Hotel
Address: No.135-143 Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Far East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Far East, Hong Kong is a value hotel located in Tsuen Wan, a bustling bay in Hong Kong. The hotel has 240 rooms offering a fuss-free, comfortable and safe stay at affordable prices. The hotel is within walking distance from the Tsuen Wan MTR, City Landmark and other shopping malls, commercial and recreation areas in the district. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Silka Far East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Far East Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Far East
Silka Far East Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing