We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silka Far East Hotel
Ranked #209 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Mangalore, India
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good for Stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hong Kong is great place to visit, Hotel is very close to all amenity and metro(MTR) is also very close, rooms are bit small, but very clean and all facility are available in the room, since we were only 2 of us we never felt it, best is location which is more important in Hong Kong otherwise you will spend more money on travel then on room, tips: try to travel on MTR get the guide map from airport entrance don't not rush out of airport, go to travel information desk and collect all brourchers ask for their guidance also

Room Tip: All rooms are good ask for bigger room if you accommodated by children or more in no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear rohan_36

Thank you so much for staying with us on you recent trip to Hong Kong and we are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your trip and stay experience with us.

Warmest regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    211
    174
    52
    24
See reviews for
128
98
62
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bogor, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Location of the hotel is good near plaza and MTR just couple minutes walk from tsuen wan mtr. tsuen wan is far from hongkong but with Hongkong effecient and reliable transportation that's not gonna be any problem at all. The room it self is small but very adequate although the bathroom is very small but clean with nice amenities. and if you travel with three people the have family room to choose very rare in hongkong hotels

Room Tip: choose a family room with window.usually family room they don't have any window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear ioks

We are happy to learn that you have found our hotel to be ideal for you and your family; and trust that the recent trip provides nothing but good memories of both your stay with us and of Hong Kong.

We look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you on your next trip, be it for business or leisure.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I decided to try a hotel closer to Lantau Island and Silka was one of the few available at the dates I was looking at. Given I knew nothing about it, two factors in it's favour were closeness to the train (known as MTR in HK), and free wifi for internet within the room. Quite a few other hotels charge for internet eg HKD$100 for 24 hours. Overall it was a decent stay, with the negatives not really within it's control

Pros:
------

- Reasonable sized room. The one I got had 2 single beds. Total size bedroom and then bathroom was about 2.5 single beds wide, and 3 single bed's long. The bathroom was surprisingly roomy, with excess space near the sink. If there were two people, and each had a suitcase, it would be tight, unless one of the suitcases was put in the bathroom. I was on my own, so I was fine :)

- Nice decor, clean, decent view- no building closer than 100m, not crowded with buildings, as it's not the city centre.

- Courteous staff.

- Although you will need to print a map from Google and work it out, the MTR is only 10 min walk away. When you walk out the front of the hotel, facing the road, turn left. You will see an overhead walkway with a big red "Spaghetti House" sign. go up to this walkway, cross the road, then turn left, go into the shopping centre with the big MTR shopping centre on it. When you get used to it, you can also find the taxi and bus terminal near the MTR too.

- Close-ish to airport.

- Close to Lantau Island, which has DisneyLand, numerous hiking opportunities, Big Buddha, several beaches, cable car from Tung Chung to Big Buddha.

- Next door to shopping centre.

- Wifi internet included for free. I hate it when hotels make you pay extra for internet.


Cons:
-------

- not near city centre.

- Not enough space in room for several suitcases.

- Not exactly in a straight train line to get to Lantau Island attractions. Need to change stations.

That's really about it. It's cosy, reasonably priced, appointed and not far from the MTR (although it takes a little patience to find). Obviously it's far from Kowloon andHong Kong Island. Besides that, the hotel was fine for it's star rating.

Hope this helps and thanks for reading!

Room Tip: Print out a map of the area first eg using Google. It won't be on the tourist maps you get from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SirCyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear SirCyrus

Thank you so much for your insightful feedback which is definitely very much appreciated. My team and I are happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed your trip to Hong Kong as well as your stay with us.

I will most certainly share your comments with my team as this will motivate them even further to deliver nothing but the best of services to all our guests.

Once again, thank you and we hope to see you back in our hotel soon.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

hello! This is not a review but a query as to the size of your rooms. I and 4 of my friends will be travelling to HK on January 2014. We were given the option of one room where 5 people can fit and it says "1 triple with 2 sneak in". So this means three beds of 1 single bed and the two other beds with two people in it? So I wonder if this type of room would fit us. Can u please give us an idea how big this room is for 5 people. We are travelling thru a travel agency here in the Philippines. I am impressed with the photos in your website but did not see a room for five people. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julienne_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystalchan135, Manager at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear julienne_joy,

Thank you for your enquiry. Kindly be informed that hotel triple room is only available for 3 persons. We suggest you to make a booking with one triple room and one twin room for your travelling. Wishing you a pleasant stay and look forward to serving you.

Best regards,

Crystal Chan
Sales Manager
Silka Far East Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in March 2012 during our Hong Kong trip for Easter holiday so apologies for the late review.
The size of rooms are not worth making complaints because we chose the hotel based on our abilities within the budget and reviews. Despite negative reviews on the tripadvisor, our stay was enjoyable. Staff members at the reception lobby and restaurant were very helpful so we were very grateful to them for good patience and the willingness to communicate with us as deaf couple.
The hotel is conveniently located within 2-3 minutes walk to Tsuen Wan shopping mall (we went upstairs to the food court - superb food at a reasonable price) and underground (metro/subway) station. Tsuen Wan is located in the New Territories, so it take about 20 minutes by underground including changes to Kowloon. 10 more minutes to HK Island (city centre).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmileyDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear SmileyDes

Good news is always never too late and we are happy to hear from you. My team and I are indeed glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to be of service to you both.

Certainly we look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you again once your next trip to Hong Kong.

Warmest regards
Kattie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my family for one night. We were given two rooms. I dont know why my room is smaller than that of our parents when we paid the same for our package. We did not bother to ask, anyway we are only staying for few hours. Our package comes with buffet breakfast. The food taste good but very few options specially for us who likes fried rice for breakfast. Unfortunately no fried rice. The hotel staff are accommodating and polite. The hotel is located near MTR but not really a tourist destination. But it is easy to access transport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhez08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear dhez08

Thank you for your comments and we do apologise if fried rice was not available on the day of your stay as we do change the menu to ensure sufficient choices for our guests. On a different note, we are happy to learn that you are satisfied with our service and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip, hopefully for a longer stay period.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were in Macau and been organising to book at Silka on the way to HK. On their website you get a 10% discount if staying for 2 days. The website went frozen eveytime we try to book. So we thought we would go there instead. We went to the Reception and this lady seemed to be upfront and told us no discount, although we said that on their website they have 10 percent discount.. I explained our predicament, no she won't listen and she was just like a robot with all the figures on her head. We didn't bother to look elsewhere, as my partner was down with flu. I think this is wrong advertising. Make sure you put front in line people who are friendly and not square faced people who are like robots. At the time of our stay there was a strong smell of chemicals in the hallway... When we checked out a young guy was very friendly and answered all our queries. Not that girl who doesn't fit in. I wish I looked at her name badge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erlinda45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of MarCom at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Erlinda45

Please do accept my sincere apologies over the incidents relating to your website experience and at point of check-in.

We will definitely look into the areas as highlighted and trust that you will accord us with another opportunity to prove our services to you again when you are next in Hong Kong.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Silka Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#183 of 718 in Hong Kong
19 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#160 of 718 in Hong Kong
265 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Panda Hotel
Panda Hotel
#130 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#171 of 718 in Hong Kong
893 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#190 of 718 in Hong Kong
438 reviews
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Far East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Far East Hotel

Property: Silka Far East Hotel
Address: No.135-143 Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Far East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Far East, Hong Kong is a value hotel located in Tsuen Wan, a bustling bay in Hong Kong. The hotel has 240 rooms offering a fuss-free, comfortable and safe stay at affordable prices. The hotel is within walking distance from the Tsuen Wan MTR, City Landmark and other shopping malls, commercial and recreation areas in the district. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Silka Far East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Far East Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Far East
Silka Far East Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing