We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveler rating
64
225
194
64
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
64
225
194
64
27
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 574 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I chose this room because of its price. There are several pros and cons about this hotel
The pros: Although, far from the airport - however, there are public bus services that takes you directly to the hotel. The store is in an area where there is plenty of markets and foods to eat. The price is cheap, can’t beat this price.

The cons: The room is tiny. I put one luggage on the floor, and there was no room to walk. I asked for a non-smoking room, but they couldn’t give me one, so I really had trouble sleeping. The rooms nor the bathroom was not that clean. Also, no internet in the room. There were two computer stations on the top floor, but it was always occupied.

In summary, if you are looking for a cheap place and quick stay, and are used to hostels, then this place is a good value. But if you are looking for relaxation, then you might not enjoy this place.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Andrew

Thank you so much for sharing your pros and cons of your stay with us recently. We thank you for all the positive comments and will look into the other issues highlighted; and will try our utmost best to address these.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Location shown in this TripAdvisor app is wrong by 6km! Unfortunately we tried walking according to this app. Address is correct though.
Hotel is relatively good cleaned. Young people guests. Friendly service. Loud street noises in hotelroom. Noises from corridor are loud as well.
Doubleroom is really tiny. Hardly place to put our two suitcases. Seperate beds. Can be pushed together. No real cupboard. Just a place to hang some clothes openenly next to the tea cooker.
Aircondition is allright. We can control it ourself. Bathroom is minimum size. Step in turn around thats it. Shower only. Shampoo, bath gel , lotion and toothbrushes available.

Wifi for free in room.
Reasonable price. Not the best place to stay a long vacation.

Thank pengut
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Punget

Thank you for bringing to our attention regarding the location on TripAdvisor app. We shall try to address this issue at our end.

As with majority of the hotels in Hong Kong, size we do agree is a factor but despite the fact that we are a value-led brand, we take pride in the fact that we do ensure that all our rooms are sufficiently comfortable, well furnished with a complete range of amenities and of course, cleanliness is of paramount importance.

Again, thank you for your constructive comments.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Checked into Silka Far East in January for a couple of nights.

The taxi ride to Silka cost about $200HKD for 4 people + luggage in boot.
Alternatively you could have taken the airport bus A31 for about $18hkd p/p.

The rooms were quite small, but big enough to fit everything in (as long as you closed your bags). Another tip would be to ask for single beds instead of double (for two people), as the beds are larger this way. I did however find that the beds were quite hard. It was also quite noisy at night if you face toward the main road, the noise dies down at about 4am and restarts at 6am.

The hotel is situated in an excellent location, close to MRT, right infront of busses, as well as many shopping centres.

Room tip: Ask for non smoking rooms, single beds are larger than double beds
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nakmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettIntl, Director of Marketing & Communications at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Nakmint

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip. We are happy to learn that you have found our location ideal and that everything you need is conveniently located nearby.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had checked in Silka Hotel on 30-01-2013 to 02-02-2013.
Yeah the rooms are a little small but if you are creative you can rearrange the beds changing two singles into on big bed with very little effort.
if you are lucky to get a room with a view of the park it can be a sight to behold.
Housekeeping is very quick at resetting the rooms. it was rather entertaining watching them go through the process of making the bed.
trust me the Shuttle service is a godsend. the stops are limited to three destinations but in reality, you could not be dropped at better places.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justajoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of Marketing and Communications at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Justajoey

We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that we 'somewhat' managed to keep you entertained at the same time.

Managed by Dorsett Hospitality International, our hotel even though is a value-led brand offers our guests full-fledged facilities including complimentary scheduled shuttle service for the convenience of our guests.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back in our hotel again.

Yours sincerely
Eric Cheng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked 2 rooms from Jan 20-22 2013. Rooms were small. Shuttle bus driver not very courteous, or maybe his just having a bad day. Staff are not so friendly except for the housekeeping crew, kitchen and maintenance w/c were all smiles when you come across them. Just a tip, have a room in a non-smoking floor. Over All, clean rooms, fair price and nice location (near Train station and bus stop).

Room tip: Please choose a non smoking floor
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rheallan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of Marketing and Communications at Silka Far East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Rhealian

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong. Silka Hotels which is managed by Dorsett Hospitality International takes pride in being a 'value-led' hotel with full-fledge facilities and value added services such as complimentary scheduled shuttle services to selected locations.

We do apologise that our service staff did not live up to your level of service expectations and please allow me to address this issue with the team including the coach driver.

Thank you so much for your constructive comments which is highly appreciated in order for us to continuously look into areas for improvements.

Regards
Eric Cheng
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews