We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful Golfcourse, spectacular views”

Jockey Club Kau Sai Chau Public Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hong Kong's only public course.
Bludenz, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful Golfcourse, spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

played this time the South course and it was outstanding. Had a beautiful day, sunny and warm - perfect for Golf. Course was in great conditions, perfect fairways and goods greens - well kept. Rented clubs there, the irons were ok but the driver was quite old and weak, next time I´ll bring my own ones. "foreigners from overseas" are not allowed to play on the weekend but it´s no problem to get a T times from monday to friday. It´s worth playing there, I played North (you have to walk no carts allowed) and South but the people I played with told me that the East course should be the most beautiful one!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
243 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent golf course with great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The golf course is located in an island and comprises 3 eighteen holes courses. One of them (north course) is a walk course only. The East course is the newest and most expensive. The South course is the least expensive. All 3 courses are well kept. I've played in all these courses and enjoyed all of them. If you want great views while golfing and prefer buggy, then try out the East course. The club house has recently been renovated. The food in the restaurant has improved. Make sure you bring a HK$5 coin as the lockers are operated with the coin. Buy a bottle of water from the vending machines before your game - you only need one bottle as there's plenty of complimentary refills along the way. The KSC web-site is very informative giving you directions, booking instructions including showing available times for the courses, etc. any golfer visiting HK, should play in this excellent place. You also get to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy some breathtaking views.

Helpful?
3 Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Beautiful greens a short fifteen minute ride from Sai Kung pier. Course funded and run by the hk jockey club. Food at the coffee shop is horrible, so eat before you get here. If you are a non-hk resident, green fees are $1360 hkd on the weekends and $960 on the weekdays. Ferries run three times an hour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kachst2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Writing this for my husband who played the East course in July.
He has a tradition of playing anywhere in the world that we travel, I book it, he plays.
This would be a favorite and he was most impressed.
The booking was most unusual, registering and then booking on an automated telephone system.
However I needed to make a number of calls with questions and the service I received was outstanding.
I have also been emailing them about a shirt for my husband as the shop was partially closed for maintenance and they very graciously have agreed to take credit card payment and post me a shirt. (which is also a tradition for him to buy).
The prices for drinks and food were reasonable. However you can't take your own snacks or water on with you, a first.
After all of the rain that had been produced for days and the thunderstorm that day too, the fairways drained away well and were still excellent to play on.
The views were excellent.
Clubs hired were very good.
My husband is always happy to be paired up and enjoyed playing with an American man and a husband and wife from hong kong.
The one tip worth mentioning is to take plenty of golf balls.
This would be his third favorite golf course played.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WSAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifull golf course!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We played the the south course. It was raining which lead to soggy and foggy. The course is on an island which you reach by ferry so its pretty much fairway or drop. If you miss fairways often then you better have a stack of balls, there is little room for error on many of the holes.
The staff were friendly and the scenery is amazing. The course was in excellent condition and well maintained. The greens are in good condition although 2 of the holes had some "scruff spots" on the dance floor, but nothing too terrible.
overall fun course and well worth the time and money.
would I return?....absolutely

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jockey Club Kau Sai Chau Public Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Jockey Club Kau Sai Chau Public Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing