We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everyday room cleaning”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alisan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alisan Guest House
Ranked #60 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“everyday room cleaning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

They clean the room everyday, the internet connection is good, located in causeway bay just five minute from causeway bay MTR station. surrounding by a lot of shopping center.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
5
21
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I've stayed here earlier this week as a solo backpacker checked in one of their single rooms.

Pros: Causeway Bay is pretty nice especially at night when all the neon lights come out. It is close to exit D1 of the MTR. Winda and the owners have been very helpful starting from the reservation up to checking out. If taking the airport express, you can opt to be dropped off and picked up from the nearby Excelsior. Price is totally unbeatable especially when I've seen similar accomodation at Chungking Mansions which cost more and are a bit dready.

Cons: Shower was hard to mix with the hot and cold controls. There was some kind of newspaper snuck in some kind of a hole where a lamp used to be which kinda ruined my reflective mood while staying at the ceiling. Tv wasnt working but they replaced it after being reported. Wifi wasnt working on my last night of stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verargulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I happened to arrive in HK airport without reservation for hotel/hostel. During the morning i came across several hotels and they scared me off eith the so called "walk in prices".
Suddenly i came across Alisan Guest House in Causeway Bay, on my small nokia phone screen with internet for this emergency.
I gave it a show and called the number. This very friendly lady picked up the phone (windr) and guided this lost tourist to ALISAN.
The Manager welcomed me very friendly, asked about my stay and offered a few rooms to serve my needs. He also managed to get me very good roomprices i didnt felt ripped off. As helpful as he was he introduced the local scene to me for easy getting around. 5 minutes of effective communication got me started my holiday with no stress.

Ok the room is small for european standards. But this is HongKong. I can say Alisan is very good located (safe, center of shopping location, 24h shops, 2 minutes walking distance MTR station) for what Alisan has to offer, the price is cheap. Friendly staff have been so helpful, that i was about to tip them.

Thanks Wilson and Winder! You know you did a good job. I enjoyed my stay. Hope to see you in my next trip to HongKong.

Room Tip: Double room will get close to paris ibis hotel quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandboyAmterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang Selatan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

I will score as excellent, if the bathroom is managed well. Bathroom is too small and not separated between toilet and shower. But room is very clean, good service, safety is very good, location in causeway bay area is excellent. We stayed in a guesthouse in Mirador mansion, tsim sha shui area, it was very scarry, unsafe, and dirty. But this Alisan guest house is very much better. But to be honest, the price is a bit expensive and must pay 100% is really pain in the a... If you're with family, better to take the family room which can be occupied by 4-5 people with extra charge.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffsboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Disgusting Rooms and Service do NOT stay there!
Hong Kong is an amazing place to travel.But having a bad experience from the start will ruin everything.
Don't be cheap..hotels are expensive in Hong Kong ,but the city worth all the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livefreeasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a great budget option for Hong Kong. The rooms are part of apartments in which there is a small kitchen area with a kettle, microwave and fridge. Although you won’t be cooking meals here it is perfect for breakfast or a snack. Everything was very clean and tidy and we found this to be a great location for exploring Hong Kong. It’s a short walk to MTR station, tram stop, supermarket, shops and restaurants. Best of all the owner of the guest house could not be more helpful and is happy to provide any information you need about the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bozo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I came to Hong Kong on a Visa run for China. Tommy and Wilson were both very helpful in getting me sorted and on my way. They were very knowledgeable about the Visa Process which is so useful.

The rooms were small (this IS Hong Kong people) but clean and well looked after. If you want a big room in Hong Kong, you have to pay big money.

The location was great too.

Even the cleaners were very friendly.

I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Causeway Corner
Causeway Corner
#29 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#25 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Comfort Hostel HK
Comfort Hostel HK
#80 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#11 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Jetvan Traveller's House
Jetvan Traveller's House
#84 of 247 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alisan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisan Guest House

Property: Alisan Guest House
Address: Flat A, 5/F Hoito Court, 275 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right when you step into Hong Kong, with the jitters about your itinerary, were else can you find the peace of mind? We have been established for over 20 years. And with our impeccable commitment to detail and service why worry with other guest houses? Free Internet, air-con, refrigerator, microwave etc.. etc all the perks that are included. We are located in the heart of Hong Kong. With three different modes of public transportation right around the corner, see more for less. We can assist in all your travel destinations with our money saver travel advice. And last but not least, our motto: Cleanliness is next to Godliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alisan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisan Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Alisan Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing