We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hong Kong Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #52 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

On Oct. 22, 2012,with our plane arriving from Vancouver,BC/Canada,and no connecting flights to Southern Thailand,we had planned for an overnight stay at the "Novotel Hong Kong Citygate".Their shuttle bus arrived within minutes at the airport's Shuttle Bus Terminal.To reach it, it is quiet a walk from the Arrival Hall.If one does not like to follow the endless,but clearly marked,signs,one can wait at the Information Desk (to the right,coming from Immigration),where travellers can assemble,until a group of 15-20 people has been formed. A guide will then take the group to the bus terminal.The trip to the Novotel takes only a few minutes.Check-in was quick ( I had booked and pre-paid a Superior Room,incl. breakfast buffet,on the hotel's website.I requested a room,that had the A/C running.My wife and I stayed at this hotel last year,and the A/C must have been off for days,because the room was so humid,that within minutes everything paper (diaries,books,etc.) was damp and started to curl up.The reception staff gave us the "Royal Brush-Off",claiming this was due to the humid Hong Kong weather.If you stay longer,the Club Rooms are a better deal,with free access to the Lounge,free WiFiand free breakfast).Regular rooms have access to paid WiFi.Hungry,after the 13 hours flight and the pathetic food offered by Air Canada,we left our room in search of food.We stayed away from the Lobby Bar (live entertainment),where during our last stay we received another "Royal Brush-Off".The waitresses at the Bar seemed completely geared to the Business Traveller (after big tips ?),ignoring us.It took us more than 1 1/2 hours for a Club Sandwich and a beer.This time we took the escalator (to the left of the reception) to the upper level of a large mall,that is attached to the hotel.A LONG walk will take you to a Food Court with a great selection of Asian Food Stations.The following day,after taking in the excellent Breakfast Buffet,we had a quick check-out,and then the hotel's shuttle bus took us directly to the terminal for our airline,Thai Airways.Our room and bath were clean and fairly large for a Hong Kong hotel room.Despite the hotel being next to a very large airport,the room was very quiet.I can recommend this hotel to overnighters as well as to people staying a few days.From the subway station next door it is only 35 min. to Downtown Hong Kong (Central Station).And at approx. $can 200.00/night the Novotel is approx. $can 80.00 cheaper than a comparable hotel in Downtown Hon Kong or Kowloon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMj-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,264 - 2,270 of 4,160 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an adequate transit hotel, rooms are tiny but clean. Attached to an "outlet" mall, outlet is not really the word, it's just like a regular mall... Nice food court in the mall close to amenities. I would not stay here unless I am just on transit, rooms are too cramped. This was a mediocre experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinityperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayjay797
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

excellent location for our purpose (late arrival and early departure)
excellent and efficient free airport shuttle,
close to MTR (Tung Chung station less walking than eg Causeway Bay station)
Very helpful concierge service - we had to send home a parcel by mail (after 1 day of shopping!!) the staff member (called Double) was extremely helpful.
The post office is very close-by, we went there to buy a box, put our stuff in, took it to the concierge, they packaged it and took it to the Post Office to send it for us for a very small fees. Excellent service!!
If you are Advantage Plus member (50% off for 2 people) the buffet dinner is excellent value.
A lot of other convenient and good stuff too....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just spent a wonderful 8 nights at this hotel and we were very well catered for by the hotel and staff. We were especially thankful to the Executive Lounge staff who were especially attentive. The rooms are modern and well appointed. We will recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When travelling with children and part of the trip is to visit Disneyland, Citygate outlets and Lantau Island, Novotel Citygate is the right place to stay esp after a long tiring day. Our hotel is just one station away from all these places. We loved our room as it has a very good view of the pool and the mountains. The room has a very nice interior and my kids slept well as beds were soft and comfortable even for someone like me with a back problem. We enjoyed the buffet as it offers a wide selection even during breakfast time. For families like ours who only want the best within a reasonable price, Novotel Citygate is a place to stay....On the other hand, if one is after street markets and more shops, Citygate is kind of far..that is why during our one week stay in Hongkong, we decided to check-in another Novotel hotel along Kowloon to allow ourselves for 2 days of shopping...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Novotel City Gate. We loved how it was out of the busy city, but easy to travel in on the MTR. Highly recommend the business floors as you get free cocktails, drinks and food at certain times of the day. Pool area is serene. Clean, quiet and modern. Perfect Wifi and fab breakfast! Highly recommend eating at some of the eateries in the City Gate Malls - much cheaper ;) Shopping mall is great if you like designer gear. No complaints, fab honeymoon and would recommend and return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephie_hermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#96 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,915 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $132 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing