We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and nice receptionists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Ranked #117 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

even though hotel's getting old(bath tub and wash ball drain, air circulation system etc.) the receptionists are all nice makes me very comfortable and appreciate that
the restaurant on the 2nd floor of this hotel taste amazing
i also like the 4th floor free coffee and tea lounge with free wifi

Room Tip: if u dont want to be in really small room, dont chooose city veiw room(which costs lowest).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HYUNJEONG L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

When I choosed this hotel, I thought I will get a real 4 stars hotel, which I did not. The location of the hotel is very central. The designed and the main entrance look really nice and up to what you expect for a four stars hotel. The checking was ok unitl I have been told I have to pay an extra $HK120 per day for wifi. Firstly It took me 3 times for me to understand the employee due to her poor English and when I realized the actual price I asked her why it was so expensive she couldn't reply anything.
The decoration of the room is of not really good taste and very kitsch and the building work is of low quality with not attention to details. On top of the bad quality of services when I left the hotel, 5 employees were at the counter with no customers, and non of them greeted me and they all completely ignored me. I would say the staff has no sense of customer care at all and it doesn't deserve a 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanKwaiFongHotel, Front Office Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Sam B,

Thank you for your valuable comment. Please accept our apology for your experience in the hotel. We will definitely look into that and reinforce the important of customer service with our staff. We do provide free WIFI in lobby and BreeZe Lounge, with outdoor terrace, freshly brewed coffee and tea. Also paid WIFI & broadband internet service e.g. 1 day, 5 days packages are available for guests in room.

At the moment, we have "Experience the Excellence" Package available on the hotel website until Dec 20, which the guests can enjoy free WIFI and late check out until 4pm for all room types.

Hope we will have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lan Kwai is a small hotel with exceptional staff. Previous visits to Hong Kong have been spent on the Kowloon side. This boutique hotel is situated near Hollywood Road with its interesting shops. There are many restaurants to choose from close by. While modern buildings are in the area there is still the "old Chinese" charm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthews735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Fantastic location so close to cool little shops, bars and attractions. Nice and quiet though at night with amazing views of the city and partial harbour views from window seats. Great little extras like BReeze teas,coffees and water,plus gym, shower room, etc. I loved the area far mode than other parts of Hong Kong and would definitely stay here on my next visit to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Floor 29 had amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHolidayFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel and I could not fault the service. The rooms are quite small but about average for the price range and equipped with all that you need. It has a very Chinese atmosphere having been designed internally by Shanghai Tang, I think. The location makes it a good choice being very close to Sheung Wan MTR station (one stop to Central) and waking distance to many good bars and restaurants. Note, however, that a taxi to get there (with luggage) can take a while because of the narrow streets and traffic even though the distance from the express train station is small. With light luggage, it might be better to walk and take the Mid-Levels escalator to Hollywood Rd.

Don't confuse this place with Hotel LKF down the road!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room where you can enjoy a view of the harbour. It won't be a full view bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

LKF hotel is very well located in the Central district of HK. Small but clean rooms.. A little expensive for the room size at HKD 1900 excluding breakfast. Efficient staff at lobby, prompt check-in and check-out. Expensive Internet.
Stay here only if you are in HK for business in the Central district.

Room Tip: The average rooms are very small and tight, but you can get bigger rooms for a higher price, sorry t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haresh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you have lots of luggage, do not attempt to walk to this hotel as it will be impossible to carry your luggage over so many hills. And the cab drivers do refuse to take you sometimes, so beware. The staff at the front desk is very direct and not too friendly, although the guys helping with the luggage are super friendly. Everything in HK is "straight to the point" and no "sugar-coating" it. I always got all my questions answered very quickly, but I felt like it was almost too rushed, as if to get rid of me. The room was nice, although very tiny. I was very happy with the breakfast. We loved the fact we could borrow hotel's large umbrellas whenever it rained. They also took good care of our luggage when we checked out, but wanted to explore the city a bit still and come back for our luggage. Note that there is a small fee for using the phone, regardless that we only made local calls. Also, a bit disappointed that free wifi was only in the lobby and lounge. Really needed it in the room. Location was great, close to nightlife. Quite pricy, but that is pretty much all of HK, so no surprise there. Overall, we left pretty happy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,174 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 730 in Hong Kong
420 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#23 of 730 in Hong Kong
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#167 of 730 in Hong Kong
243 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#89 of 730 in Hong Kong
507 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong

Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $138 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awards winning Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is about being stylish, and as comfortable as you want to be, in a location that is perfect for trendy dining, nightlife and entertainment area of Lan Kwai Fong and SoHo, Minutes away from MTR, Macau Ferry Terminal, premier offices and designers shopping. Its rooms are furnished with a distinctive touch of oriental style, overlooking the spectacular view of Hong Kong city, which illuminated at night. Hotel offers free WIFI, happy hour with free house wine, mobile with free data and IDD calls to 8 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing