We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Ranked #123 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I really like this place, I have stayed here 3 times now when in HK for business. I get good corporate rates at places like the Conrad and Shangri La and have stayed over there multiple times, but I got tired of viewing HK through the lense of a shopping mall each day as I went to and from the hotel. Lan Kwai Fong hotel does not have the space or opulence of those large chain hotels. But it does seem to cover every small detail that business travelers need. The bathrooms are very small, so if you think this will bother you, it will. But otherwise the rooms have great charm, more interesting than large chain hotels, and good views. The service is very good. And the location is great, there are many cool bars and restaurants within walking distance in the Soho area, which is why I like it. The hotel does not have a pool. This is the only tradeoff I feel I am making when I stay there. Typically traveling in Asia for business I like a pool

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views. The difference between City view and Harbor view is not substantial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panhandler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

The @Kau U Fong hotel is great. Unfortunately there were some minor issues but nothing I considered to be a 'show stopper'.
My arrival was handled very efficiently and courteously by Andrew Price & Vanessa Choo (I made a point of remembering their names as they were superb at assisting me later that afternoon) they are to be praised for their warm professionalism, which seems to be lacking in all but the most expensive hotels in SE Asia.
The rooms are clean, well laid out, stylish and very comfortable. The fourth floor semi outdoor common area is a great spot to bring the laptop/iPad or smartphone to catch up with emails whilst sipping some tea, coffee or a bottle of water. However more often than not in the late evening 10pm+ the coffee machine has stopped working (either full of used ground coffee, or some other minor service issue) and the hot water for tea is warm at best. My room's Aircond was super cool, so much so that the temp setting made little or no difference, whether set at 15 or 30c it was very cool. I loved the decor and the smart use of space.
I'd defiantly come back to this hotel it was a great experience, made even better by the two staff members who assisted me at checking, awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandgrouper29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a lovely 5 night stay at the Lan Kwai Fong Hotel. The rooms are small but pretty and quiet with great views.The staff are courteous, friendly and attentive. The wifi is only free in the lobby and in open air the lounge area which is a little inconvenient but I was on vacation so I didn't mind too much. I recommend this lovely boutique hotel for single or couples traveling for business or pleasure. I know there are larger rooms available but not sure how the accommodations would work for a large family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The LKF is a great place to stay - close to Central & everything it has to offer. The hotel is clean, comfortable & has great service - I would highly recommend it for either someone staying on their own, or couples.

Room Tip: All rooms I have stayed in have been very good - I have not been aware of swimming pool or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstymc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is yet another hotel that seems to capture foreign (mainly western) visitors by pushing the boutique branding concept. Its name is taken from a very popular tourist district it is located in and apparently has marketed itself well. It costs as much other mainstream hotels. Many of us in our group found that we could book a 5 star hotel (I did so for my 3rd night) for the same price or within a 10% tolerance (with a loyalty card, many chains offer free internet). It has cute design elements but those do not justify the price. It charges as much as the most expensive hotels for internet access and does not even include breakfast in its standard price.

The television in room will look small even as a desktop computer monitor. I first thought the bathroom entrance was a cupboard door - its that small. I am a slim-ish 6 footer and it was difficult to even walk in without turning slightly sideways. If you are walking from the MTR with big bags, be prepared to be fit enough to walk uphill along very narrow sidewalks or on a busy road. Taxis can be very hard to get during peak hours and our group chose to walk most times, or catch a taxi a few minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms are really very small. Breakfast quality is fine. The internetnet access is expensive and should be complimentary as in many quality hotels around the world. Location is excellent in the middle of an interesting area with easy access to MTR and harbour. The service staff are helpful.

Please be aware of the outrageous expensive and overrated 2 star Michelin restaurant "Celebrity Cuisine". I have given a WARNING in a separate review of this restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjarne Skov J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Exceptional service and always helpful and friendly. Rooms are practical and a good price for Hong Kong. Lots of restaurants close by and traditional temples and markets so an enjoyable experience all around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 729 in Hong Kong
859 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 729 in Hong Kong
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#169 of 729 in Hong Kong
243 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#91 of 729 in Hong Kong
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong

Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#103 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $132 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awards winning Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong is about being stylish, and as comfortable as you want to be, in a location that is perfect for trendy dining, nightlife and entertainment area of Lan Kwai Fong and SoHo, Minutes away from MTR, Macau Ferry Terminal, premier offices and designers shopping. Its rooms are furnished with a distinctive touch of oriental style, overlooking the spectacular view of Hong Kong city, which illuminated at night. Hotel offers free WIFI, happy hour with free house wine, mobile with free data and IDD calls to 8 countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing