We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
JJ Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveler rating
379
609
344
87
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
609
344
87
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelwan chaicauseway bayhappy valley racecoursetimes squareshuttle busfree wifififth floorexecutive roomminute walkmobile phonerooms are smallshuttle servicefree callsbudget hotelgoogle mapsan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
953 - 958 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

All in all this hotel is pretty good value for money. The staff are friendly and the hotel itself is very clean. The only downside is the size of the rooms (they are very small) and there isn't much wardrobe space so you pretty much have to live out of a suitcase. The beds are very hard (like sleeping on concrete :o)) and if you have a room that's high up it gets very cold at night if you go during winter months. On a positive note the room was cleaned every day, room service was good and the bathroom was modern. Also on our last day we were able to leave our suitcases at the hotel whilst we made the most of final day, we could then come back and pick them up ready for our night flight home.

The hotel was central, and the buses stop right outside so you can get pretty much anywhere on the island. Probably more suited to adults/business people rather than those with young families. Ideal if you're travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: go for one of the bigger suites.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

We are happy to hear that you agree with our good value for money! For the room size, we have different options up to a spacious 83 sq. m. for a 2-bedroom suite catered for travelers of different purposes. Our beds are actually from the worldly famous Simmons brand which has widely received positive recognition. Yet we also understand that sleeping is a personal experience so if a fluffier support is what sought after, we also provide mattress topper and our housekeeping staff will be delighted to arrange. We hope all our guests would be able to make the most out of their stay so we generously offer free on-day suitcase storage service. Our hotel has also recently launched the 24-hour check-in/out service accommodating guest with a flexible check-in/out time! This offer is exclusive for all official website bookings and booking through this channel can enjoy periodical special offer such as free breakfast or Internet. With the 24-hour check-in/out service, guest can come and get the room key anytime of the day and be assured they aren’t required to check out until a full 24 hours has passed. More details are available on official hotel website.

Location-wise, Cosmo is amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay and an 8-min walk to the nearest subway station. Bus stop is right outside the hotel, while there is also a tram stop 1-min walk away. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is located right near the Happy Valley Racecourse and is reasonably close to Times Square and it is possible to take shuttle buses from their nearby sister hotel to other locations including Hong Kong Station for the Airport Express.

The room itself was tiny and before the hotel writes a generic response about all the difference sized room options, I wish to detail what the standard room is like. The room was a nice orange/yellow tones and the beds were quite hard, but the quilt was so soft that it was like being hugged. We could quite clearly hear the room next door and it does not offer peace and quiet that the manager assures. There are compartments on the side of the room that contains the kettle and water, but there is very little room to actual store any clothing and so it was very hard to live in. Additionally our room curiously faced a massive cemetery.

I was unimpressed on arrival the manner of fact approach to check in and the demand for a $120 AUD deposit for 'incidentals'. We had already paid our room cost for the 4 nights we were staying $500 or so, and so it seemed quite rich that they required more money then and there. I questioned this and asked why they wouldn't just require an imprint of a card, but didn't push it further. This policy should be made much clearer on the online reservation form and the staff should actually advise how much deposit they will require. I had to specifically ask them this information.

Further to this, we had the absurd situation that at 8:15am the maid entered our room to clean it. We were asleep then. Upon realising that she left. 30 minutes later she returned, we were still in bed. Likewise on the day we were leaving, the staff entered our while I was showering clearly to begin cleaning it. Clearly when people are checking out this is unnecessary. Additionally, we left our bags in the lobby for a few hours and as we were taking the shuttle from the sister hotel - The Cosmopolitan, I went to collect my 2 bags and my friend was sitting with our other bags in their lobby while we waited. Absurdly they refused to give me my 2 and allow my friend to come back a few minutes later. Additionally, when we left our key card in our room and the front desk reissued a new one, it failed to work. Upon returning downstairs, the man looked at me in disbelief and sent a man up with me with a new card also. Naturally this card didn't work, and so he used his master key to let us in and fetch our left key cards.

The breakfast was ok - and while yes there were Asian and Western options, they were not very appetising and although eggs were on offer, it was very reflective of the hotel that nobody came round to ask for orders or offerred tea and coffee. You had to get that yourself and actively ask the wait staff.

I doubt I would return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels_without_fuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Cosmo is an 8-min walk to the center of Causeway Bay and the hotel provides free daily shuttle to drop off guests at various destinations e.g. Times Square mega shopping mall (Causeway Bay), Pacific Place (Admiralty), IFC Mal (Central), etc. As for room types, we offer up to 7 categories for different travel purposes with a room size as large as 83 sq m. All rooms are color-coded into yellow, orange or green for guest’s selection. Mattress topper can be provided if a fluffier sleep experience is sought after and we are pleased to know that you like the quilt! All rooms are equipped with sound proof facilities to heighten in-room privacy. If a room change is required, our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager will be able to arrange. A majority of our 142 rooms face the Causeway Bay city view and guests are encouraged to let us know their view preference at time of booking, we will surely arrange accordingly.
As for the deposit encounter, it is a common practice in major hotels in Hong Kong. The deposit can in fact be paid by cash (in which the guest will be paid back full amount upon check-out) or by credit card (the amount is frozen and then released upon check-out if no incidental charge is required). Thank you for your suggestions and we will ensure our staff has good product knowledge and be able to explain to guests proactively. While your encounter of our room attendants entering the room is indeed a very uncommon case. Upon receiving your review, our housekeeping team has been seriously briefed about the room cleaning procedure and make sure that no similar occasion will occur again. Our apology for the key card incident and for the inconvenience that was caused. On grounds of security, stored bags will only be released to the guests who are holding the matching luggage tag as this is to protect our guest’s belongings from being lost. Your comments on the breakfast service are duly noted and will be reflected to the restaurant accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Room very small as expected but it is fine if you are traveling alone. Very clean room. Staff are extremely helpful. Good location. Free net access but only for Hong Kong and area; cannot do online banking or access email.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is in a good location within walking distance of Wan Chai but in a quieter area near the race course, there is a bus stop outside where you can take a bus to the hillside tram and a free shuttlebus service to main areas so good access. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was a good size with a large bed but we did take an upgrade offer on a city view room and breakfast this was well worth it the city view was great especially for first time visitors. The room and other areas were clean and tidy. The stocked fridge as usual far too expensive.The breakfast was fine quite a good choice although mainly Asian it was good to try and there was plenty other items, eggs cooked to order. Internet access in the lobby but we found that it was more reliable in the lobby of sister hotel the Cosmopolitan just a few mins walk.

Room Tip: For a good view of the city probably quite a high room (there are 2 efficient lifts) on city side
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misswickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Clean decent sized room and friendly service. Location of the hotel wasn't bad: about a 10-15 walk to Wan Chai MTR. A free shuttle bus is also available to take you to Time Square/Crossway Bay.
The breakfast wasn't very good, and the 12HKD service charge (per device) for the in room wireless internet makes me feel that the hotel was penny-pinching.
Still, a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you for your comments on our breakfast. We provide Chinese and western breakfast delicacies including hot dish and cold cut hoping to please appetite from around the world. As a matter of fact, the service charge of the Internet service is to be charged by the service provider (not the hotel) and it’s calculated by device due to virtual security issue – multiple computers do not share the same network. We are yet pleased to learn that you are satisfied with the stay, see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews