We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Close to MRT is a plus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Ranked #177 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to MRT is a plus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Being across the road from the MRT was the best thing about staying here. You always have to travel somewhere once you've walked the nearby attractions anyway so although the hotel is a bit away from action it's not a problem. Staff were helpful. Beds are hard however we did sleep well so I guess that might be a plus. Breakfast spread was great. There is a great little Chinese restaurant across the lane from the entrance. Very cheap for great food and a beer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    307
    151
    23
    18
See reviews for
117
142
62
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location: Next to Tin Hau metro
Bed: Hard
Breakfast: Monotonous
Staff: Very Courteous
WiFi: Free in the lobby. Quite good for self gadgets, but very poo
Gym + Swimming Pool: An apology
Restaurants: Plenty in the side street on opposite foot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adharadhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The fact that the hotel is across the street from the Tin Hau MTR stop is the best thing about it. I could take the subway from Central to the hotel, drop off a bag and go back to Central in 25 minutes.

The size of the room is perfect and the view of the harbor was a nice bonus. However, everything in the room was just a bit off. The safe didn't work. The beds were hard. The stone counter in the bathroom has been chipped a dozen times. The remote for the TV didn't quite work well. There was no alarm clock. The toilet rocked back and forth. None of it was going to ruin the stay but together, it felt cheap like a piece of imitation Ikea furniture.

Did I mention it had no wifi in the room? Yeah, that was a downer. The lobby is the only place with wifi so watching all the residents Facetime their families was entertaining. And there was a gentleman from mainland China who really wanted to download porn files onto his thumb drive while a bunch of us were waiting to use the lobby computers. It was 8:30 am. What are you doing downloading porn? Was it a medical emergency?

And the computers were slow as hell.

The staff was average. There were a few who were eager to help but a number of them provided less than pleasant services. The breakfast spread was great and being able to eat with a view of the streets below was a treat.

One final point that I hesitate to bring up. I think my bed had bed bugs. I was covered with tiny little bites after 2 nights. I stripped the bed but couldn't find anything there. So I could be wrong but I think it would have been hard for a mosquito to bite my behind through my jeans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldRunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for several nights and the hotel is comfortable – the room is of average size and certainly not too small, and had a nice view. I managed to find a couple of English speaking TV channels which was useful. The staff I found to be helpful and efficient and the breakfast was perfectly ok with plenty of choice, maybe not the best I have had but fine for the length of my stay.

The location is right over the rd from the Tin Hau MTR stop which means it is very easy to get to and its just a short MTR ride or a walk away from Causeway Bay – the one thing that would stop me from staying here again is the fact that there was no Wi-Fi. I am more than happy to pay for Wi-Fi in my room but this is not an option. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby but it drops in and out and isn’t good enough. They really do need to get the Wi-Fi sorted.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rboo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located oposite of Tin Hau subway station.
Every taxi driver knew the Hotel if you told him "El hotel Tin Hau".

The hotel is located in a rather local environment on HK island. Tin Hau is right next to Causeway Bay where you can find a lot of shops and restaurants.

The hotel is ok, the rooms are not too small but cleaning of the bathroom could be a bit better.

I liked that they provide two bottles of free water to the room per day, as the HK tap water is not really for drinking.

Internet comes wired at a cost but it's not too expensive compared to other cities around the world.

Breakfast was buffet style with a mix of Chinese and Western foods. In general it was quite ok, but I miss an espresso machine. The coffee provided is only filter coffee which could be stronger and richer in taste.

Overall our stay was good and the staff were very nice and efficient.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Giappo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We took the a11 bus (HK$40) from the airport to the hotel, got off at Stop # 16 Hing Fat Street. and less than 10 min walk to the hotel .Actually it is cheaper and closer to the hotel to take the e11 (HK$22) to Tin Hau Bus Terminus which is right across the street from the hotel. Both bus have language hold area but a11 had wifi on board. Bought an octopus card at the airport just outside the language pick up area.

Tram stop and the Tin Hau subway station are across the road from the hotel, so very convenient.

Our room was on 23rd floor. We had a view of the harbour. Adequate room siize. Beds were hard but ok for us. Breakfast was included and adequate. We stayed 5 nights and got tired of eating the same breakfast every morning. Next time will consider booking without breakfast, lots of restaurants close by to get breakfast.

Wifi only available at the lobby with few seats and always full of people at the end of day. In the morning, if you have breakfast (1st floor) at tables close to the stairs to the lobby you can get your email with your coffee.

Room Tip: Quieter on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here back in Oct and chose it for its location: 2 min walk to the airport bus shuttle; x street fr MTR and short walk to tram and to Victoria Park. Also lots of little restaurants, desert cafes walking distance around King's Road eg excellent ramen place within 10 min walk (can't remember name). The only nit is that the room did have a funny smell (coming from bathroom), but it could've been just our room, also not all the staff was that friendly, some seemed even a bit snobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToodaLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#135 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Causeway Bay
#168 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#48 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#85 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Metropark Park Hotel Kowloon
#122 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View

Property: L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Address: No.18 King's Road, Causeway Bay | Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the serenity of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View where guests can enjoy the wonderful harbor view at amazingly good prices. The 40-storey building in the Causeway Bay district has 275 spaciously appointed guestrooms including 25 generous sized suites to help guests unwind. Every room is designed to show off Hong Kong's natural wonders and come with a glorious view of the Fragrant Harbour or of the lush green mountains of Braemar Hill. Inside, designers have created a space to soothe the soul and temper the spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing