We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced high with dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #142 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Priced high with dated rooms”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant location next to Times Square shopping center but that's about the only good thing. The rooms are very outdated. The prices are quite high compared to the higher level hotels in the area.
I have stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses and normally the best part of the brand is that you know exactly what your going to get, but this one was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuomasRintaniemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Rintaniemi,

Thanks so much for your recent review here, it is much appreciated.

As you have highlighted our location is really second to none for anyone who is town for leisure or business purpose, additionally with direct access to the local subway system (MTR) while the most popular shopping mall “Times Square” is just next door, meanwhile, there are hundred of shops and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Not to mention about the value added benefits we offer to our guests, such as free breakfast and wifi.

Just on the room rate issue, our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and good services. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.

If you are interested in getting a lower rate for our room (especially during peak season / high demand periods) you may consider to book the hotel room under the “Advance Purchase” deal, which you are required to place your reservation with us at least one week prior to your arrival date, whereby you could enjoy a discount up to 25% off our regular room rates.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    578
    269
    53
    16
See reviews for
284
192
113
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is near Times Square, a big shopping mall and the convenient to other good food is also around the corner. The reception is very friendly in assisting directions to the different places. They are patient and pleasant. The room is very comfortable with nice bed and pillows. The pillow even has soft or firm for you to choose. What can be improved is the breakfast to provide more varieties than just set meals and also the to separate the shampoo from showering gel. Overall, it is a pleasant hotel to stay in. :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank addgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Positives:
- Good breakfast- choice of Chinese local or western selection
- Good location- right by a large shopping mall and many 7/11s as well as a few restaurants in the area
- Clean

Negatives:
- Sofabed- we got the room that advertised a sofa bed. It was the type that just has padding that extends out directly onto the floor. It was extremely uncomfortable and almost impossible to sleep
- Room size- the rooms were very small. With three of us staying in a room, there was no where to walk because of our suitcases on the floor.

Experience:
I stayed here with two friends for three nights. The sofa bed was horrible but we enjoyed the breakfast, location, and cleanliness. The staff was also very friendly and let us keep our bags behind the counter after we checked out and wanted to do some shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kelly G,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your experience of a recent stay in our hotel. It is great to have heard that you are satisfied with our convenience location, breakfast as well as the service provided by our staff. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the sofa bed makes you feel uncomfortable during the stay. Please be assured resources will be inputted in this area for betterment.

Again, we would like to thank you for spending time to post your comments about our hotel, so that we would have the opportunity to learn from our customer. Of course, we will strive for improvement on our facilities, as guests’ satisfaction is our number 1 goal.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I like the location of this hotel next to a "hip" place for the locals - Time Square - in Hong Kong.

It is a clean but very generic hotel. The rooms are small but have most of what one needs. The soap are the dispensing type in a plastic container (one in the shower and one next to the sink).

The staff is friend but inexperienced and young (like high school kids part timing at the front desk). As an IHG member, they will give you a can of coke. I guess it is the thought that counts.

My room rate comes with breakfast. It is served on the 6th floor and is extremely efficient. You get served - the juice, the main dish - in less then 2 minutes after you sit down. There are 4 selections but none is bad. It is purely for quick fill-up and not a lot of "enjoyment" there.

It is not expensive relatively - but an expensive no-frill hotel.

Room Tip: It is an "express" hotel - and literally it is. The location is great and next to a &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location is great and convenient, steps from Causeway bay mtr station. Room is abit dated but comfortable and clean. Size of the room is considered spacious compared to similarly priced hotel rooms in hk. Although breakfast is basic, It comes with the room rate so I would consider it as a plus point.
Special compliments to the housekeeping lady who was always friendly and cheerful all the time. She never failed with her warm greetings every time she sees us and did an excellent job in keeping the room clean and tidy throughout our stay. Her sincerity to the guests is much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Aletus,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your experience of a recent stay in our hotel. It is our great honor to have an opportunity to serve you recently and we are extremely gratified to know that you are satisfied with our convenience location, comfortable room and the service provided by our housekeeping lady.

Your happy experience will definitely serve as our catalytic motive thereby we drive towards the goal of tendering “REAL” service to all of our customers.
We look forward to serve you again soon.

Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I arrived in at the Hotel via Airport Bus & taxi, which was not very convenient. The property is in a very busy and noisy area named Times Square, therefore not very conducive for business. The check in was fairly smooth, however my room was quite small, especially since I am a Priority Club Platinum Member and was upgraded. Breakfast was included, however you were rushed through each morning with choices A, B or C. It was not easy to obtain a second cup of coffee or glass of juice, due the wait staff rushing you to finish and depart.

The house-keeping staff members were also quite pushy, even attempting to enter your room when the "do not disturb" sign was present. The HK-staff did this daily, which was quite frustrating, when they could have simply placed a card under the door. The Front Desk staff members were quite nice, however I was not impressed with the other hotel employees.

The best feature of this Holiday Inn Express property, was the in house Japanese Restaurant next to reception. I dined there 2-evenings, with the food being exquisite and the staff also excellent.

This property is moderately priced, without a non refundable prepay being required, if your booking was for 3 or more nights. Therefore, a large number of the guests were very inconsiderate at breakfast, in the elevators, as well as in the lobby, even to pushing small children aside as they rushed about. There were very few western persons residing in this hotel, and I would not return there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear William G C,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your experience of a recent stay in our hotel. It is great to have heard that you are satisfied with the service provided by our Front Office staff. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for our House-keeping service and also the way you were being treated in the restaurant where you had breakfast, your valuable comments has been duly noted, meanwhile, the Department Heads concerned are informed, so that immediate investigation and remedy action will be taken to avoid the re-occurrence of similar incidents in the future.

Again, we would like to thank you for spending time to post your comments about our hotel, so that we would have the opportunity to learn from our customer. Of course, we will strive for improvement on our service and facilities, as guests’ satisfaction is our number 1 goal.

Lastly, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay on your next trip to Hong Kong, we would thus have the opportunity to demonstrate some improvements on our service.

Kind regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good located (since its very close to a MTR station) and in the midst of Time Square, however the hotel is not money for value. Rooms are pretty smal ( however comfortable and clean) and breakfast is basic at the most ( set menu with VERY limited options and not buffet-style). Staff is not very attentive either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpsalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mpsalac,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience. It is great to hear you had appreciated our location is very close to the MTR Station and Time Square. we are actually surrounded a lot of local attractions (i.e. Ocean Park, Hong Kong Jockey Club, Victoria Park,etc). Whereas, please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations in contain areas. Please be assured that we do not take this lightly and we are taking corrective actions to ensure that improvement will be made. Secondly, your comments on our breakfast are greatly appreciated and resources will be inputted in this area for betterment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#113 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#63 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: No.33 Sharp Street East, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Sights and Sounds of Causeway Bay’s Exotic Commercial Centre at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay. You stay in the center of the Hong Kong Island, as the hotel is located at the commercial hub of Hong Kong. Travel from the Hong Kong International Airport to Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay via the Airport Express Railway, the journey takes about 40 minutes. Meanwhile, limousine transfer between the Hong Kong International Airport and hotel can be arranged by our Reservations or Front Desk staff in advance. Doing business is convenient at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, with a host of corporate headquarters in the nearby Times Square and Hysan Place; meanwhile the Causeway Bay MTR station is adjacent to the hotel. Hop on the MTR for some direct trains to most of Hong Kong’s tourist attractions, it includes the Lan Kwai Fong,Victoria Peak, and Avenue of Stars. It is a good-value choice for everyone, as hotel provides every guest with a complimentary set breakfast each morning and free internet access via Wi-Fi. Meanwhile, stay in the Superior Room, guests can enjoy a handy smartphone with complimentary internet access and also free local and IDD calls to designated countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Causeway Bay
Express Holiday Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing