We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,259)
Filter reviews
1,259 results
Traveler rating
222
643
303
68
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
643
303
68
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squaresofa bedcauseway bayset breakfastlane crawfordgreat locationsharp streetfree breakfastmtr stationsquare mallhysan placebudget hotelhotel is locatedsame buildingnoodlesreasonable sizeshopping area
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 1,259 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I cant recommend enough this hotel for its excellent location. The twin economy rooms are adequate for three travelers with a moderate budget. The complimentary breakfast is quickly served and very expensive too if you purchase beyond the two free vouchers.

Will stay here again if I go on my shopping trip in Causeway area. Free wifi is fast.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. Some of the rooms are facing another building.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpacker1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler to Hong Kong for both business and pleasure. I've stayed in numerous mid-priced hotels, but this one is clearly the best value for the money in Causeway Bay. Let's not beat around the bush, Hong Kong budget hotels are generally either grubby or in the middle of nowhere. Holiday Inn Express CWB is no gem, but it is certainly serviceable considering the other choices out there. The front desk is generally quick and efficient, if not overly obliging. The rooms are decorated like college dorms from the 80s, but are usually clean enough. The tvs are ancient tube sets with no premium English channels. The wifi is free, but hit or miss at best.

The selling point is the location, right in the heart of CWB and across the street from the massive Times Square mall. The breakfast is ok, but I only eat it because it is included. There is no mini bar in the room, but there are several 24hr 7/11s nearby. There is also a city!super supermarket in the basement of Times Square that has lots of imported food and beverages, as well as counters selling hot and cold food, such as excellent sandwiches, sausages, sushi, etc. The upper floors of Times Square contain numerous Chinese restaurants and a few Western places, none of which are especially good. If you like ramen, there is a Hakata Ippudo located on the second floor of an office building near the McDonalds on Russell Street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel lobby is in second floor. There's small entrance with elevator in front. Front office staff was very helpful & friendly.

The room is clean & compact. There's a sofa bed & working desk with working chair. The wifi is also great. Unfortunately almost all tv channel are chinese language.

I love the breakfast. It serve by the restaurant in the hotel building. I forgot the name. We can choose among 4 set of breakfast, and it's delicious enough for me. On the last day they even allowed us to take away our breakfast set :)

The location is so great! Very close to Times Square. Lots of dept store & shop are within walking distance, for example : Hysan Place, Lee Gardens, Apple store, Forever 21, etc. There's a street market & lots of food stall can be found. Transport was also very easy, MTR station & Tram are nearby.

I would definitely come back if staying in Causewaybay area :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights on a recent business trip . The hotel has a small entrance leading up an escalator off the street into the lobby ( so its by no means grand) . Check in area is quite busy with people coming and going to restaurants in the same building as well as the hotel. The room was compact, very compact, but for a business traveller traveling by him/herself, it's got everything needed. Free hotel wireless Internet is ok, but not fantastic. The wired Internet port disappeared into the wall when I tried to insert it, so gave up on that. The bed is super comfy ! It's a memory foam mattress with a choice of hard and soft pillows . TV stations have a collection of English speaking channels, mostly news. Breakfast voucher gives you a choice of 4 fixed breakfasts, two of which will suit any western pallet, and the other two well worth trying!

Look, it's not the Wesstin, but if you need to save a few bucks as you're there for a little more than a night or two , this place is great . Would certainly stay again.

( closest Stabucks - 6th floor of Times Square shopping mall right opposite the hotel )

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeTee3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Assistant Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your compliment about the hotel on value, breakfast and comfortable room.

On the other hand, We are sorry to hear that we failed to provide the Internet service you expected and would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please be assured that your comment has been passed to our IT Manager to follow up.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Elva Liu
Assistant Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Paul and the rest of the front office team were extremely helpful with a FedEx pickup i scheduled to the hotel reception. Communication was great and i was always greeting with a smile. The internet was showing fast speeds in the hotel room but i found the wifi to be more reliable. This venue is great for short business stays and for doing some quick shopping around Times Square.

Room Tip: For June and probably the next few months there is some construction going on at Time Square. I was on the 17th, it wasn't a bother but preferred the curtains closed through the day time.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gav_Llewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews