We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excllent location , clean basic room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #139 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is located across Time Square mall, with many shops and restaurants around it.
The Underground station is in the mall basement (although you need to walk for about almost 10 minutes to reach the train itself under the streets).
The rooms are basics and clean, contain whatever you need for a nice stay.
IF you are looking for a good location, clean hotel with decent price (comparing to Hong Kong) it is a good value.
Breakfast is very limited but you have a refrigerator at the room (real one not minibar) and you can buy fresh food at the Time Square basement supermarket for your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATravel301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is the tiniest thing, I myself (6'3" and 300 lbs) have experienced but this is Hong Kong where every square centimeter and every cubic centimeter counts. This is an efficiency hotel and for the amount of money and the location, I seriously feel it's a great bang for your buck as it will be primarily be used for sleeping. The restaurants are a fair mix (though I didn't take advantage of the breakfast coupons) and the HiTop was a serious treat for myself during lunch. In any case, in so far as staff are concerned, the check-in was highly efficient and seriously professional (especially Chris) and checkout was a breeze and even the luggage storage was secure and free. If you want the chi chi end of Hong Kong at a great price where you have enough money to experience the shopping, entertainment in a clean living space - this is the place for me!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room away from the elevator
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nav_Chan_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Reception was very accommodating to our requests. Flight came early and luckily they were able to check us in before 2pm. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Set breakfast is ok. Best part here is the location and its proximity to MTR, Times Square, and shops.

Overall, had a grand experience here and will definitely come back on my next visit in Causeway Bay. :)

Tip to other travelers, cheaper if you'll take the bus from the airport to causeway bay and alight at bus #13 wan chai fire station. It's just a 5-10 min walk from there. You can always ask for Times Square as your landmark.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CococolaPHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Location is fantastic, right at Times Square and at the MTR station. We used the MTR a lot thus we found the location really comfortable. Rooms are neat and clean, descent Hong Kong size rooms. You can't expect a huge room in the centre of the city. The room size is decent for two people with their luggage a. Clean bathrooms with all tue amenities.
The breakfast is also good, just that it is not a buffet spread, and instead set means with fixed quantity. However the food was tasty.

Over all good value for money hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AksHaY47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Moved to this property because of the problems we had at the HIX Soho. 
From the second night it was going to be the three of us in the room. They point blank refused to make up the sofa bed upon our arrival, as it would have been more convenient for us. Saying they would have to charge us for the third person already if they did so. Why would I pay for a third person for three nights only to "smuggle" her in a night early?! Clearly they don't trust their guests. 
They also made up our room despite us hanging the do not disturb sign out. Which was very, very annoying. 
The room itself is dated. The sofa in a poor and sorry state. I moved the TV slightly to make more room and it was so dirty behind it. The aircon seemed to be blowing a mix of air smelling of pee and food into the room. Very faint, but noticable. 
The restaurant they use for breakfast could do with a deep clean too. The tables were never clean when we sat down. No buffet, just a few set choices. Beware vegetarians; the only veggie thing on the menu is toast. We bought our own joghurt and cereals (they did not even have ceral on the menu!). On our third morning we were suddenly very rudley told of by one staff member that we could not bring outside food into the restaurant. Breakfast we included in our rate, but I supposed they want to make money with the extras they charge. 
Restaurant staff in general were very unfriendly and sour. The only exception was the on duty manager as well as the Holiday Inn person who was checking up on things. 
The location of the hotel is excellent, right next to Causway Bay MTR. Also many shops on the doorstep for those rainy days. 
When we came back to fetch our luggage after we had checked out, they made sure to double check our receipts so as not to hand out someone else's luggage, which was a real plus point. 
The toilets at reception were really dirty too. 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel in hongkong is mostly very small and expensive. If you are looking for something clean, good location, cheap price with free internet, then this is the best option to go. It has aged but still ok. The MTR is very near, times square and shopping area is just right in front of the hotel. Breakfast is included and not bad too with a few choices.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mchendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Last December, my son and daughter in law treated us to a Hongkong vacation after their wedding. They were the one who booked our hotel. I learned later that somebody else booked this hotel for them because of its accessibility to Time Square. Anyway, the room were so small and the some women receptionists were so rude. Worst, the price was unreasonable.

Room Tip: If you simply want to be near Time square then this is the hotel for you
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderCezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#80 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,423 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 721 in Hong Kong
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,177 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#113 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,038 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: No.33 Sharp Street East, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $112 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Sights and Sounds of Causeway Bay’s Exotic Commercial Centre at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay. Only 2 minutes walking distance to the Causeway Bay MTR Station, and just across the road to one of the Hong Kong’s most popular shopping malls - Times Square. Some tourist attractions and landmarks are nearby, such as the Hysan Place, Sogo Departments Store, Hong Kong Stadium and Happy Valley Racecourse are within walking distance. Hotel provides complementary set breakfast for every guest each morning. Meanwhile, Every guestroom features a Handy smartphone for free usage during your stay in Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay. Enjoying unlimited data use, free local call and IDD call to 10 designed countries. With the Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, you may connect up with your own devices, adding to your enjoyment of exploration throughout the city. Kids under 18 years old stay free when he / she are sharing the same room with the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Causeway Bay
Express Holiday Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing