We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful place”

Kowloon Walled City Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$392.94*
and up
Private 4.5-Hour Hong Kong Night Tour: Exploring Kowloon
Ranked #64 of 828 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very peaceful place”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are many beautiful old trees, which I liked a lot. Paths are paved with tiny stones, pavilions and ponds have simple but nice design. Landscape design is rather average. Some parts of pavilions look shabby but in general the park looks neat and well-attended.

Few species of birds live there - bulbuls, small brown pigeons, birds like magpies but bigger, and lot of common birds like sparrows and tomtits. Lot of birds make that place very attractive and friendly for nature lovers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    165
    60
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada - Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice getaway within the city and learn more about local history”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've travelled to Hong Kong numerous times and this is the first time I came across a site that gives me some historic information. It's sad that the Hong Kong government have torn down many historic sites for new profit making high rise condos.

This place would be more interesting if you actually know a bit of history behind it. I watched a documentary about this place a few months ago and then learned about this park from a friend, so I visited early on a Tuesday morning. There's quite a few buses that takes you right to the outside of the park. I think the walls surrounding the part are actual remnants of the original fort foundation. The park was beautiful and it's hard to believe that you can find such a nice place within the busy streets of Hong Kong.

There are some exhibition halls that explains some of the history. I think you can also join tours during certain times of the day. I ended up following a grade school group and eavesdropping into their tour.

The park is free to visit and opens daily.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wing004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Walled City Park”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I felt ver unsafe and as it is a bad area with bad people I was scared. Also I saw many homeless people and it just wasn't pleasent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pure Serenity!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was interested to visit this Park due to its history and beautiful Chinese inspired landscaping and buildings. I was not disappointed! This was truly a highlight of my trip to HK.

This park is not directly in the middle the city - a bit out (roughly a 20min train ride from Tsim Sha Tsui with a bit of walking involved - nothing too strenuous though). It is one of the quietest places in Hong Kong! My family and I strolled around the grounds for at least two hours. There are different sections to visit (such as bonsai gardens, Chinese zodiac garden, ponds, waterfalls, old ruins of what was the walled city and stunning Chinese huts/buildings) so there is plenty of variety!

Entry to the Park is free - which is a bonus! It is such a well kept and unique park. I didn't come across any other park like it in HK. It is worth making the time to come and visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Qing dynasty style park seeped in history, good nearby shopping”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This park, although newly constructed, is designed in a traditional Chinese Qing dynasty style, with lakes and pagodas, statues, walls and pavilions. It is an oasis of calm and fung shui balance in an otherwise overcrowded city. In itself, being a free and open area of traditional style beauty, is enough for me to recommend you pay it a visit.

However, the real reason why this park, unlike for example the also beautiful Nan Lian Park, is different, is its history, which is revealed to visitors unfamilar to the area through a visitor centre, a restored building, and a few relics. Kowloon walled city was an area home to over 30,000 people in an area of 1/100th of a square mile. Popularly seen or recreated in many films, it was an area infamous for triads, gambling, drugs and prostitution, and not really a place where one would normally want to visit, leave alone live. It was demolished by order of the HK and UK government in the early 1990's but it is still fascinating to read and see about it now, which you can do in the visitor centre.

Right next to this park is the urban are known as Kowloon City, which is a very typical middle class HK residential and shopping area. It is virtually untouched by tourists, and where you can eat and drink like a local, visit the daily wet market, and shop at bargain prices without the pressures of crowds or even having to haggle.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank benbenben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kowloon Walled City Park also viewed

 

Been to Kowloon Walled City Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing